Zaska 1st Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 Helping my friend to post .. After some shopping and left 2 choices, but he cant decide which to take .. Honda Stream (75k) and Mazda 5 (82k). Any comments are welcome ... Actually it all depends on how much your fren is willing to fork out and how long is he going to drive the car.I have test drove both (new Mazda 5 on 24 feb) and I prefer Mazda 5. Mazda 5 has lots of features. ie sensors, sunroof, auto sliding door, storage space, 2nd row A/C, 5AT. Only problem is the cost, lower resale, no DVD player and pertol consumption, which is y I'm still deciding. No DVD player is bcos sales person said warranty void if change n I'm not sure if it is possible to install any aftermarket HU for this new model. Stream is a very basic MPV with pretty standard feature. The sunroof model wif bodykits fm AD is way too overprice in my opinion. My problem wif Stream is that my left knee tends to hit/rest against the center console which makes me feel restrictive, rear boot space a bit too small and its not so easy getting into the 3 row. So conclusion: if price of $82k and no DVD player is no problem, go for Mazda 5. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 There are 2.0 Stream RN6 OTR....butt very rare Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 Haha, you have almost the same thought as me on both MPV I test drove Mazda 5 on 23rd Feb For Mazda 5, I am not concern about the DVD player. If you want, maybe you just need to check any audio in to the HU provided, so that you can install a DVD player at the 2nd row with a roof LCD. My main concern about Mazda 5 is the higher price tag and yet lower OMV. And I think Mazda car resale value is lower than Honda in general. My problem wif Stream is that my left knee tends to hit/rest against the center console which makes me feel restrictive This one I also have the same feeling, that is why I am hesitate to go for Stream now. Anyway, the listed price is $84488, how come you guys saying it is $82k? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 Stream. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simply_lex Neutral Newbie February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 yes, that was Stream MOVA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Killingtimes Neutral Newbie February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 maybe they have special discount Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 i started seeing Stream taxis on the road last week. its black and yellow top... CNG converted. wonder how much more desirable the Stream is now that its become a taxi. we now have these cars as taxis, VW Touran, Skoda Superb, Honda Airwave, Hyundai Azera, Sonata, Toyota Camry, Fiat Croma, Merc E class, .... what else next? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 How know where the lobang come from Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 A168 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 if any model become taxi and you do not want to buy, soon you will not get any choice at all Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ehonda Neutral Newbie February 28, 2008 Author Share February 28, 2008 Helping my friend to post .. After some shopping and left 2 choices, but he cant decide which to take .. Honda Stream (75k) and Mazda 5 (82k). Any comments are welcome ... Maybe like the below. 01. Runnung cost 02. Handling 03. Passenger and storage 03. Resale 04. Consumption 05. another others comment Have your friend test drove both of them? Mazda 5 facelift just launch. 01. Runnung cost - should be similar 02. Handling - Mazda 5 is not too bad with the re-tune suspension 03. Passenger and storage - Mazda 5 should win 03. Resale - Stream confirm better 04. Consumption - Similar 05. another others comment Plus point for Mazda 5: 1) Electric sliding door on both side (Control by driver or remote control) 2) 2nd row aircon 3) Arm rest for 1st and 2nd row Plus point for Honda: 1) Good Honda engine 2) Same OMV as Mazda 5, and yet cheaper. 3) Better resale value in term of body.[/reply] tks for all the reply .. in fact my friend did test drive both car ... havnt talk to him yet ... by the way the price he got bot are from AD ... but not sure is there any price changes .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 got 7 seater version ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zaska 1st Gear February 29, 2008 Share February 29, 2008 Haha, you have almost the same thought as me on both MPV I test drove Mazda 5 on 23rd Feb For Mazda 5, I am not concern about the DVD player. If you want, maybe you just need to check any audio in to the HU provided, so that you can install a DVD player at the 2nd row with a roof LCD. My main concern about Mazda 5 is the higher price tag and yet lower OMV. And I think Mazda car resale value is lower than Honda in general. My problem wif Stream is that my left knee tends to hit/rest against the center console which makes me feel restrictive This one I also have the same feeling, that is why I am hesitate to go for Stream now. Anyway, the listed price is $84488, how come you guys saying it is $82k? The price n OMV issue is another factor holding me back but i am trying to psycho myself by having the thoughts, "Buy cheap, sell Cheap" n it is the most feature pack MPV around. Actually i was quoted $84k by the sales wif further discount if i can make a decision to book. Was told they have a roadshow this sat @ suntec. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear February 29, 2008 Share February 29, 2008 Bro, I agree with you totally except for point 4 ... u wan to compare u must compare stream AD versus mazda5 AD from sgcarmart. mazda 5 2litre is @ $72,788 stream 1.8litre is @ $77,000 i will take mazda 5 anytime. 1) cheaper 4+k cheaper for a high cc model 2) powered sliding door (thats what MPV should be about) 3) SPACIOUS 4) good after sales service (tested and proven) 5) Innovative folding seats. read up the website 6) MOST IMPORTANTLY, its not ubiquitous. I really hate common looking cars. u save 4+k, if u take loan, this 4+k will compound to even more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged February 29, 2008 Share February 29, 2008 eh i went to tan chong, Borneo, c&c, mazda and komocco before Tan Chong and Komocco THE WORST mazda is really the best. they treat me like a king. greet me sir, tell me to understand this and that. i'm impressed. i own a mazda 3 sp only. not as if i own a cx7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear February 29, 2008 Share February 29, 2008 Normally for new launch by MM, it's safer to get it one year later or more. It's not uncommon for them to drop price swiftly. Pioneer buyers are normally screwed with the much higher price. Mazda 5 is a better MPV. But I guess the overall cost of owning it is higher due to higher mark up by MM. Similar OMv but Mazda 5 more expensive by at least $7k. Also, Stream should have a better resale value despite cheaper to buy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear February 29, 2008 Share February 29, 2008 Bro, maybe u more yan tao lah ... But I just cannot tahan the long waiting time ... luckily got customer lounge .. free biscuits, kopi, milo plus occasional lady owners ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...