Melaka Hotels and Resorts

Kelpie

if they can open a car and start the car within min, i believed they can removed steering wheel lock within secs right??

Hi Kelpie, really intersted in your GPS tracker can you tell me what brand and if it works well in MY? I am going to Melaka end May and hope to be well prepared.

Knifepoint encounters are quite common in Taman Sentosa / Holiday Plaza area. Simply surrender and give them what they want.

Attacks are as you say rare though and usually business connected or if you resist their robbery.

Possible but not so easy to remove wheel lock, it only occurs in ulu places at night, but usually they will just target an easier car.

Edited by Testa_ross4

if they can open a car and start the car within min, i believed they can removed steering wheel lock within secs right??

1. 1stly, how do they break-in? usual matter is to break the glass or use a hook skillfully to unlock, Both will activate the sensors as well as the alarms. If you have anti-thief film on top of your solar film, sure take more than a minute. Somemore better get a stronger hammer. Anyway, by doing so, you would have been notified by the GTS tracker or a GSM based steering lock.

2. Within secs? you thought all car thief are world class. If you have four locks in the car, how long will he take? he will be nervous the moment he saw four locks in the car and probably give up and run away liao. There are 2 alarms in the car, and he will be driving like a police car with sirens.

3. Having said that, these locks and devices are just deterent and offer a better way to retrieve back your car.

4. If want to steal, probably pick an easier target, why waste time?

Regards,

hahah nt bad... can use as a self defence weapon if need be... hahah [laugh]

That's exactly what I have in mind. Particularly when you're faced with a helmeted scourge-of-the-earth drug addict who have no qualms about slicing you open with his parang. [mad]

Edited by Siewss

is the baseball lock good. would like to get one of those if i'm goin to genting.

Depends on what you intend to use it for. I think it's probably better off used as a baseball bat or a weapon of self defence than a steering lock. Still a good visual deterrent. I am currently using a double-ended U-shaped steering lock, which looks better as a steering lock but cannot double up for anything else [laugh]

is the baseball lock good. would like to get one of those if i'm goin to genting.

A proper steering wheel lock should have 4 hooks at each sides. A baseball lock, which is usually cheaper, can be easily gotten rid off by sawing one of the joint. If must get a baseball type lock (secure only at one joint only) get those that come with alarm and a GSM module.

Regards,

Don't think I've seen a 4 hook type steering wheel lock. Can't visualise it also. Can I find the same at Autobacs?

Please see this pic:

Steering_Wheel_Lock.jpg

At least something like 90100 is preferred.

Regards,

I have the 90002, which I got form autobac from a sale, at $9.90.... Only good for visual deterrent. Want to use as weapon also can..

Bro, one enough already. Once you put either one, very unlikely they will steal your car in your absence. You should worry more about knife point and taking your keys and immobilizer card.

1. Knife point ambush/attack probably rarely happened and largely depend where you park your car. If it does happen, usually, it is link to something else. Of all attacks that we saw in the newspaper, the victims are 99% businessmen and have some dealings there. The remaining unlucky ones are those that venture into ulu places and act like yaya papaya.

2. The closest encounter I had was when in Colmar Tropica. My GPS tracker alerted me via SMS of a "contact" to my car door when I was watching TV programme. I rushed down and peeped through a pillar next to my car and saw one suspect trying to open my car door, I immediately activate the alarm and he quickly ran away. I reported this to the floor manager and he said sorry and relocate us to a room where the car is just next to my room door. So, if they want to steal, should be mostly the time you park your car for a longer period of time and these people have patience to wait.

3. I kena false alarms a few times, when some inconsiderate drivers push their doors too hard onto my door and thats when I came rushing down and if found them there will scold these people. Sometimes, I just feel like giving their doors a Tae kwon do kick and then park else where.

Regards,

The Colmar Tropica encounter was a really close one. What was the suspect using to open your car door? Master key, hook? Was he after something that you left in your car or he wanted the car? What time did the incident happen?

I'm also surprised with the manager's response. I didn't think he should expects the guests to keep 24/7 watch on their car. The least he should do is to plant a security guard within the basement carpark throughout the night. I just can't help but think it could very well be one of their staff. [:|]

I have the 90002, which I got form autobac from a sale, at $9.90.... Only good for visual deterrent. Want to use as weapon also can..

At least still better than a 90110s alone, practically useless, only a deterent. If want to save, should use 90110s plus 90100 together.

Regards,

The Colmar Tropica encounter was a really close one. What was the suspect using to open your car door? Master key, hook? Was he after something that you left in your car or he wanted the car? What time did the incident happen?

I'm also surprised with the manager's response. I didn't think he should expects the guests to keep 24/7 watch on their car. The least he should do is to plant a security guard within the basement carpark throughout the night. I just can't help but think it could very well be one of their staff.

1. That time wasn't peak period, so the car park was basically deserted. It was like 11plus in the late evening. I suspected that he was trying to use a hook but probably trigged the tracker sensor by accident. You see so many locks in there and yet still got people want to try their lucks. I have a clean and uncluttered dashboard and I don't leave valuables in the car.

2. Talking about the manager started to make me boil. They don't treat the incident seriously at all, kept telling me they have security guards prowling the place and they are not responsbible for any stolen vehicles if happened. After some noises, one ang mo brought me to another room, where my car can be parked next to my room's door. The only problem is the car is also near a rubbish chute, funny design.

Regards,

Mine secures one end to the pedal, but I think 90100 does look pretty robust as a steering lock and should minimise steering motion when lock into place.

I find the manager's response suspect [pirate] - why bother explaining they have security guards prowling when it's obviously not working. Actually I've seen the security guards making their carpark rounds late into the night when I went down to retrieve something from the car, but most times I see them loafing/chit-chatting in the hut near the circular fountain. Seems obvious the intruder timed it well, and I verily believe that's not the 1st occurence a car got broken into in their carpark. You don't think it's internal job - a case of loot sharing?

I've seen much better security measures than this. But I guess nothing beats taking care of your car yourself.

I suppose that's your last time there.

Mine secures one end to the pedal, but I think 90100 does look pretty robust as a steering lock and should minimise steering motion when lock into place.

The rationale of having four hooks is to prevent thief from cutting the steering wheel easily. If you secure using baseball type, it only secure to one end, which can be saw off easily, they don't even have to touch your lock.

Regards,

i think the bat is good to use as weapon in case there's any robber. cause we cant carry baton so carry the bat lock

I find the manager's response suspect - why bother explaining they have security guards prowling when it's obviously not working. Actually I've seen the security guards making their carpark rounds late into the night when I went down to retrieve something from the car, but most times I see them loafing/chit-chatting in the hut near the circular fountain. Seems obvious the intruder timed it well, and I verily believe that's not the 1st occurence a car got broken into in their carpark. You don't think it's internal job - a case of loot sharing?

I've seen much better security measures than this. But I guess nothing beats taking care of your car yourself.

I suppose that's your last time there.

1. Nope, it will not deter me from going there, knowing that my security measures at least work for me and I now know which room to ask for, the next time. I was hoping that the new castle would be up and operational soon to pay the place another visit [;)].

2. Apart from the TC fiasco, the MY is still a wonderful place to get away and for road trips [thumbsup].

Regards,

i think the bat is good to use as weapon in case there's any robber. cause we cant carry baton so carry the bat lock

You just given an idea to start a new topic, Thanks.

Regards,