Sgnick 1st Gear February 26, 2008 Share February 26, 2008 About time they wake up! Collect so much tax from us and sleeping for 14 years! Inflation up a lot, salary up a little bit, cap stays same for 14 years, govt wants to force us to migrate or die? MP urges raising of income cap for subsidised HDB flats Posted: 25 February 2008 1739 hrs Special Report ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched February 26, 2008 Share February 26, 2008 (edited) I think cap should split... Example: S$8k - 3rm or above >S$8 ~10k - 4rm or above >S$10 ~12k - 5rm or above Edited February 26, 2008 by Ncss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear February 26, 2008 Author Share February 26, 2008 That's a really good suggestion, I hope they change it soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear February 26, 2008 Share February 26, 2008 I also think its abt time they drop the word 'subsidised' and replace with 'discounted'. It is very irritating everytime to see the phrase 'subsidised public housing'. It is alr an open fact that HDB flats sold direct by HDB is NOT subsidised and is merely just a discounted price compared to the resale mkt and they have ownself admitted it. When the media discuss all issues relating to buying flats direct from hdb, they shld refrain from using the word 'subsidised' which is completely misleading. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear February 26, 2008 Author Share February 26, 2008 (edited) They do give grants, so grants is a form of subsidy no? Anyway my engrish very bad, i don't know the difference between subsidy and discount, ultimately i only care about the numbers. When i buy flat i only ask one qns, "How much?" Edited February 26, 2008 by Sgnick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear February 26, 2008 Share February 26, 2008 IMHO....There should not be any cap at all.... We are all sillyten of Sillypore... We should be able to choose which type of housing we like, regardless of income... Rich cannot live in HDB?? If I am down to earth type and prefer HDB oso cannot... Funny cap... Although there are reasons so that the "Rich" will not compete with the so call not so rich for HDB but all of us are sillyporean leh..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lv3338 Clutched February 26, 2008 Share February 26, 2008 Looking at the first hand 5 - room selling at > 500K, 4 Room for 300K-400K , do you think it is subidised. My colleague just took his 5 room yesterday at > 500k @ Kim Keat, I asked him , in future how much you expect to sell in the resale market as 2nd hand ? I used to remember at down town e.g Bukit Purmei , about 15 years back was only... 85K for 4 room and 40K for 3 room flat.... I really wonder why this term "subsidised" still here..... it's seems a dinosaur now.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged February 26, 2008 Share February 26, 2008 why is it always when our dear Mah guy takes over a ministry, it always screws up somehow?? the word 'subsidized' is very misleading now..... HDB is no longer a 'housing plan for the masses' i was so dismayed and disgusted by the latest balloting for mature estates... the prices are OBVIOUSLY not subsidized........ and they are making young families to owe HDB for life Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear February 26, 2008 Share February 26, 2008 If nobody make noise, wonder how long they will react Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear February 26, 2008 Share February 26, 2008 subsidised and discounted still the same... still expensive... If HDB just sell to us base on the tender from builder wif certain mark-up for their admin then it is fair to us...and not together with the land value... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched February 26, 2008 Share February 26, 2008 Can... re-sale no cap what. You can buy any HDB you like... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear February 26, 2008 Share February 26, 2008 hahahaha he screw up wherever he goes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear February 26, 2008 Share February 26, 2008 Grants is a form of subsidy which means you can get a subsidy if you want to buy a hdb flat but this does not equate to 'subsidised public housing' becos the flats itself is sold at prices not anywhere close to subsidised prices. Obtaining a subsidy and buying a subsidised flat is two different matter altogether. And furthermore, pls take note that you can only choose either one. Get grant and buy resale or buy direct but no grant. You can't take both grant and buy direct. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear February 26, 2008 Share February 26, 2008 No, by right if they want to use the term 'subsidised public housing' the flats have to be sold cheap. If they cannot sell at this kind of prices, then pls refrain from using the word 'subsidised' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear February 26, 2008 Author Share February 26, 2008 Very true, rich or poor also must go NS and serve the country, so y put such restrictions on rich Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched February 26, 2008 Share February 26, 2008 If the rich flood in to buy all "subsidised HDB". Then the lower income ppl how...? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear February 26, 2008 Share February 26, 2008 but we are talking about 1st time buyers... And the privilege of the "discount" for 1st time buyer... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear February 26, 2008 Share February 26, 2008 they should just remove the value of the land and sell us at the tender price which is fair to everyone.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...