Kelpie 2nd Gear February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 Hi guys, 1. Recently, we have been talking about people buying expensive performance cars that have been fitted with CNG to enjoy rebate. As known, the saving from the rebate is quite significant given the high price tags of these cars. 2. Do you think this is a loop hole for people to buy expensive performance cars at cheaper price? Note that it is not compulsory to use CNG though fitted with one. You can always switch between CNG and Petrol on the fly too. If one still uses petrol despite fitting with a CNG, won't this defeats its original purpose? 3. Is there a way to distinguish a car that has been fitted with CNG? One can always easily remove the CNG tank after installation. Can TP or LTA tell whether a car's CNG has been removed from the exterior? Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 It doesn't matter. such one off rebate can easily be countered by an increase in ERP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear February 24, 2008 Author Share February 24, 2008 IMHO, it does matter if it is an expensive performance car at the point of registration. For ERP it will be faced by all car owners, whether fitted with CNG or not. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Petergo Neutral Newbie February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 dun need to do anything...juz dun top up the CNG n used 100% super high RON petrol, no one can stop 'em... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 You green eye is showing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auron 2nd Gear February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 actually i think for those ppl that can afford expensive performance cars, the saving are just peanuts to them. and i think they really do want to do a part to the environment and will actually use the CNG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schneider79 Clutched February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 You really think so? 40% of OMV leh... you do the math. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 actually u raised a very valid point.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 (edited) Bro, u just pecah lobang for people lah. Now LTA scholar has to work overtime to figure out how to curb this abuse. You no good lah. I think they probably will eventually put a cap into the rebate, remember when OPC first implemented? Smart and rich people bought OPC and drive like normal, still more worth it. Having said that, the PARF value of the car also lower, which impact the resale. So, unless u go work out a table to compare them .. Edited February 24, 2008 by Rm2s Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear February 24, 2008 Author Share February 24, 2008 Quote You green eye is showing 1. I'm just stating fact. I suppose I will also go the CNG route but until cylinders are lighter and cheaper and there are no shortage of CNG refill stattion then will consider. 2. For now, JB petrol is still cheaper and no loss of power. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear February 24, 2008 Author Share February 24, 2008 Quote Bro, u just pecah lobang for people lah. Now LTA scholar has to work overtime to figure out how to curb this abuse. You no good lah. I think they probably will eventually put a cap into the rebate, remember when OPC first implemented? Smart and rich people bought OPC and drive like normal, still more worth it. 1. I mean, we have to be fair to all car owners. Remember there was this guy that posted a topic seeking help on how to appeal for an offence by driving OPC during day time? quoting that he was being unlucky of being caught! You see, you pay less for OPC then of course you have less opportunity to drive like a normal car. 2. Perhaps, they should come out with a colored number plate to distinguish those that fitted with CNG for ease of on-road inspection. If not, there is no way to catch offenders. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 is LPPL actually... give u 40% off but at the end of day, parf is 35% of the OMV instead of 55%... not much saving anyway.... for those who can afford such car... the saving is too insignificant.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huggable Clutched February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 That's how the rich gets richer. There is no rule governing the conversion, hence one can install the smallest allowable tank, but never use CNG throughout the entire COE lifespan. Reminds me of this weekend plate LS400 driver that tears the OPC coupon everyday. Still cheaper than registering a full-time car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 Only true to a certain extent imo. You can take the rebate now and save now but your PARF will also be reduced. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 eh only $17k rebate. tear everyday still bo hua. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanlee 1st Gear February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 i agreed with you... making sure every dollars counts... on a few occassions, i heard negative comments on why those who can afford luxury cars and yet registered their car as OPC and having CNG. obviously, the commentors are still on the journey to being rich... cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daniu85 Clutched February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 wah OPC + CNG registered car? like tt super cheap right can be done ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie February 24, 2008 Share February 24, 2008 Yes, it is a loophole. However savings are more substantial for high end luxury and performance cars. For those who bought bifuel cars but only use petrol, their cars are lugging around cylinders that weigh almost like a person in the boot everywhere they go. They sacrifice some of the boot space as well. So if they can live with this consequences, why not right? Of course, they pay slightly less for the bifuel ride but the CNG system cannot transfer to another person. So when they sell/scrap the car in short term, they may not recoup the cost of the CNG conversion. They can maybe transfer to their new ride. Right now, the CNG trend is there so probably buyers are concerned with the buying price but few years down the road when it is time to change ride, we should be able to see how the market responds to 2nd hand retrofitted CNG cars. If many countries build up CNG infrastructure, export value may be good, nonetheless, the opposite can happen as well. This is my general perception, never went to do the actual sums. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...