Meecar Clutched February 22, 2008 Share February 22, 2008 owning A CAR is expensive in sillypore and it suck one dry no pleasure in driving in sillypore too many traffic lines maximum speed 90km/h +/- 10km/h to many ERP ... beep beep beep salary does not commeasurate with car price 80% of people buying car may be staying in HDB ... so car doors have plenty of lobang anymore reasons oh just our of curiosity why these civil servants and ministers cannot be driving or be driven in a wish or proton salah since it from the tax payers money they often have tp escort so how to get accident (if excuse is given that big conti car are safer) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged February 22, 2008 Share February 22, 2008 might as well put them in the back of a lorri since got tp escort sure no buang chia one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear February 22, 2008 Share February 22, 2008 then u see a well-zhnged lorry super luxury with sofa and bar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged February 22, 2008 Share February 22, 2008 Literally, up-lorry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged February 22, 2008 Share February 22, 2008 and a jacuzi also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bentwy Neutral Newbie February 22, 2008 Share February 22, 2008 when did all civil servants have cars paid from tax payer's money? ministers go around with tp escort??? since when? if you're saying all civil servants pay is from tax payer's money. then a banker's money from who? dwarves? elves? god? sometimes. you seem utterly ill-informed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear February 22, 2008 Share February 22, 2008 i give you the most compelling reason. employability dimishes at 45, even if you find a job after 45 chances are you most probably have to take a big pay cut, and that when commitments are at an all time high, eg housing loan, car loan, kids in secondary/poly/uni. retirement age at 67 and moving upwards. how are we going to plug the gap of these 20 plus years. surely you can't ask a senior manager to do a job transition and wash toilet right. assuming cost of annual car ownership is 18 000 (and i am only talking about normal jap cars). this works out to almost 400k in 20 years, add compounded interest on savings - easily 500k to 700k. assuming one can do without a car, this 700k can be used to either feed yourself sparingly for the next 20 plus years or more optimistically allows you to enter into a business that is lower risk with reasonably modest returns say around 5k-7k. talk easy do is hard, i need a car for my work so trying to minimise ownership costs and if possible do without it despite the fact that i am a car enthusiast. another positive way to look at it is to reach for the stars and learn how to make at least 30 k per month, that way a humble jap car will be literally peanuts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched February 22, 2008 Author Share February 22, 2008 i thought you would be using your good common sense obviously when i wrote about civil servants without needing to type so much it is understood top management Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear February 22, 2008 Share February 22, 2008 let me play the devil's advocate by offering you the most compelling reason why you should buy a car in Sinkapore Bcos I (i.e. ME the car owner) would rather pay good money to own a life blood sucking machine at world class prices for the simple fact that I do not wish nor want to reach the Office and/or Customer's location, SMELLING like a PIG whom had not bathed for 3 months!!! Neither do I intend to squeeze and smell fellow Pigs in a straight line moving tin can called SMERT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged February 22, 2008 Share February 22, 2008 (edited) 1. all civil servants in theory draw salary from gahmen. gahmen is funded by taxation. not all tax come from citizens, some from companies and other business costs the gahmen levies. 2. comparing banks to the gahmen is like comparing apples and oranges. but since you did so, bankers earn money by taking the deposits and loaning them for high interest. go read fractional reserve banking. there are other things that they do such as the subprime stuff but not limited to that. similarly gahmen take cpf money to "invest". i guess that is what you were thinking. i think your comment is very confusing as the example you gave shows a flawed thought. oh yes, ministars are given car or car allowance. some changes recently i think. all top mindef chiefs given cars. stat board ceos given car allowance.. enough to change car every year i hear. Edited February 22, 2008 by Nolicense Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched February 22, 2008 Author Share February 22, 2008 i am so damn dissapointed I love pigs in all forms Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched February 22, 2008 Author Share February 22, 2008 thank you for your very clear answer i will be doing the reading as suggested Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched February 22, 2008 Author Share February 22, 2008 Quote when did all civil servants have cars paid from tax payer's money? ministers go around with tp escort??? since when? if you're saying all civil servants pay is from tax payer's money. then a banker's money from who? dwarves? elves? god? sometimes. you seem utterly ill-informed. strange someone other than me thinks you are sometimes. you seem utterly ill-informed i really hate to dissapoint you but I am ALWAYS ill-informed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear February 22, 2008 Share February 22, 2008 Quote owning A CAR is expensive in sillypore and it suck one dryno pleasure in driving in sillypore too many traffic lines maximum speed 90km/h +/- 10km/h to many ERP ... beep beep beep salary does not commeasurate with car price 80% of people buying car may be staying in HDB ... so car doors have plenty of lobang anymore reasons oh just our of curiosity why these civil servants and ministers cannot be driving or be driven in a wish or proton salah since it from the tax payers money they often have tp escort so how to get accident (if excuse is given that big conti car are safer) Hi, you already asked some of these questions in various occasions in one way or the other in the past leh. I think I will still be driving, just a question of whether big car or small car, drive more or drive less or when I'm too old to drive. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie February 22, 2008 Share February 22, 2008 Regardless of whatever reasons you come up with, people will still buy cars...for their own reasons... For me, whatever reason you can come up with, its because I can afford it...until the day i can no longer afford to buy/own a car, then I won't buy lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear February 22, 2008 Share February 22, 2008 No matter what reasons, sporean will still wanna own one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear February 22, 2008 Share February 22, 2008 Quote i am so damn dissapointed I love pigs in all forms no offense to the animal kind jus trying to emphasize that i sweat a lot but my work requires me to retain a prestine image therefore, only a luxurious (fast is a bonus) car is my option to keeping cool and comfortable ... up to a certain extent... irregardless of cost Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear February 22, 2008 Share February 22, 2008 if you r one of the million dollar dream team, u will also be given a car ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...