Andy_1703 Neutral Newbie February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 Hello Everyone I'm intending to hold a surprise birthday party for my gf who will be turning 21 soon. Would appreciate if anyone could give me some recommendations on where should i hold it. My budget is about 1k and would be inviting 40-50 guests. Do not really like the idea of holding it in a condo function room although it is cheaper. SUGGESTIONS NEEDED! Thanks!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 My towkay celebrated his ah gal's 21th birthday at a function room at the NTU Alumi located near the Bouna Vista MRT But cost wise think should be more than a K Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 my wife cousin did it in cineleisure 6th flr private preview room.... how much we dont know... aiya do at HDB void deck can liao lah... if not macdonald or KFC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akula Turbocharged February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 Held my boy's 1st month at Sheraton late last year in one of their function rooms.... 35pax at around $1800. Think hotel function room might be out of your budget. perhaps can try a hotel buffet restaurant- at abt $25 per pax comes up to around $1k odd. They most prob will condone off an area for you..... Else another suggestion will be booked a chalet/bungalow eg Aloha changi etc and hire a caterer....total costs shld be within $1k, PLUS can stay over.......A VERY BIG PLUS! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 rich man's son... pardon me, but it's really a waste holding such party for a 21st bday... i passed this 3yrs ago and during tat time i juz get knocked down by a few bottles of chivas with some of my close friends... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 aiyo.... u dunno lah.... maybe the gf is rich man's dotter mah... so muz imprezz... for all you know, maybe can get lucky that night so u lost your virgin on that day? by your close firend? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Petergo Neutral Newbie February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 ...Do not really like the idea of holding it in a condo function room although it is cheaper.... after watching last night police n thief show izit??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 some of the bigger KTV chains (refering to clean one hor ) have really big rooms. some are so big there's even a small stage in the room. can try those. u can even declare your love for your gf with mic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 I think Partyworld got this type of rooms... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 Hello Everyone I'm intending to hold a surprise birthday party for my gf who will be turning 21 soon. Would appreciate if anyone could give me some recommendations on where should i hold it. My budget is about 1k and would be inviting 40-50 guests. Do not really like the idea of holding it in a condo function room although it is cheaper. SUGGESTIONS NEEDED! Thanks!! Wah ... your gf is lucky .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 (edited) Hello Everyone I'm intending to hold a surprise birthday party for my gf who will be turning 21 soon. Would appreciate if anyone could give me some recommendations on where should i hold it. My budget is about 1k and would be inviting 40-50 guests. Do not really like the idea of holding it in a condo function room although it is cheaper. SUGGESTIONS NEEDED! Thanks!! eh, I think Community center might be a cheaper venue coz with a budget of 1k for 40-50pax, you do not have much left after food and drinks and cakes and flowers. or book a chalet and make everyone bring their food. or is your 1K just for venue? Wanted to know your requirement before making suggestion, otherwise, you feel more pressured trying to up your budget to meet the suggestion. Maybe you can try Rochester park or Dempsey road area to see any restaurant can do hi-tea for you which will definitely be cheaper as they usually don't open from 3-5 Edited February 20, 2008 by Sony Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_1703 Neutral Newbie February 20, 2008 Author Share February 20, 2008 Not rich man's son la..i also passed tt age 3 years back..just that you know 21st bday seem like an impt event for a girl..personally i feel it's a waste of cash too..but what to do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_1703 Neutral Newbie February 20, 2008 Author Share February 20, 2008 Nope..lol..it's just like i stay in a hdb but of cos i can trouble my frens who stays in a condo to book a function room for me but it just seem weird going to someone's place to celebrate my gf's bday.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_1703 Neutral Newbie February 20, 2008 Author Share February 20, 2008 hmm..1k for venue and food possible?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 For food, if you are looking at simple buffet, it can range from $5 per pax for hi tea stuff to $15+ for simple lunch or dinner. multiply that to your 40-50 guest, how much do you think you have left to book your venue? Condo function room might not even be possible with 50pax..it's going to be cramp, hot and difficult for people to sit and eat nicely. Throw a BBQ at some beach might be a better choice or don't invite so many people. take the 1k, book a 5star hotel room (off peak rate), together with dinner at a nice restaurant and breakfast in bed. BTW, you can either share the room with her if the 2 of you are so steady or you just pay and go home and surf MCF. let her enjoy it herself. she's definitely going to remember that someone spent 1k for her to spend her 21st BD alone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scwee Clutched February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 (edited) Hello Everyone I'm intending to hold a surprise birthday party for my gf who will be turning 21 soon. Would appreciate if anyone could give me some recommendations on where should i hold it. My budget is about 1k and would be inviting 40-50 guests. Do not really like the idea of holding it in a condo function room although it is cheaper. SUGGESTIONS NEEDED! Thanks!! condo function room only $10 not enough!!?? u may book the karaoke room as well another $10 games room will b free Edited February 20, 2008 by Scwee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear February 20, 2008 Share February 20, 2008 (edited) community club lor.. anyway, ur budget cannot go beri far. how to settle buffet? $20 cannot cover mountain cover sea. aside fr indoor event, think of a chalet. all outdoor activities. booking ard $100-200 can settle. mebbe will b better for u ya? Edited February 20, 2008 by Apollo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lingling 1st Gear March 1, 2008 Share March 1, 2008 can try NTU alumni club hse a buona vista... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...