Nirxe Clutched February 16, 2008 Share February 16, 2008 The phenomenal growth of Malaysia under the leadership of its fourth prime minister Datuk Seri Dr Mahathir Mohamad has brought about a patriotic sense of achievement amongst its people. The Government has led the way to show that Malaysians can excel in whatever they put their minds to, and this, in no small way, has produced a society that tries to outdo itself (sometimes at ridiculous levels, if truth be told) in the endeavours it pursues Embodying this spirit is the slogan "Malaysia Boleh!" which loosely translated means "Malaysia Can Do It!" How this slogan came to be the "battle cry" of a nation is rather sketchy but the general belief is that it was the slogan used by a health beverage in its marketing campaign in the 80s. It caught on and soon cries of Malaysia Boleh! were heard, first only at sporting events like the Commonwealth Games and Thomas Cup Finals, then later everywhere else as it was embraced wholeheartedly by the people as a means to push themselves to endure and accept challenge, to set targets, to excel. The "Malaysia Boleh!" spirit has since produced many achievers and achievements, and has been a cornerstone of the success story that is the new Malaysia. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sickscientist Clutched February 16, 2008 Share February 16, 2008 And now the caption is used for the wrong resons.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear February 16, 2008 Share February 16, 2008 Cannot understand TS's reasoning for starting a tread like this .... trying to help the Malaysian election? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear February 16, 2008 Share February 16, 2008 (edited) Bolehland Boleh Edited February 16, 2008 by Familymanz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nirxe Clutched February 16, 2008 Author Share February 16, 2008 (edited) My intention was purely for informational purposes and just to reinforce the lingo that "Laughter is the medicine". I'm sure some fellow forumers might be unaware of its meaning as this term is used quite frequently within our forum. Loosen up a little and may peace be with you! Edited February 16, 2008 by Nirxe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ecaf Neutral Newbie February 16, 2008 Share February 16, 2008 ...but the general belief is that it was the slogan used by a health beverage in its marketing campaign in the 80s. i believe the health beverage was Milo? i vaguely remember their ads had a 'battle cry' of "dengan milo anda boleh", or "with milo you can" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Julian Clutched February 16, 2008 Share February 16, 2008 Singapore slogan is better. Huat Ah!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dynaway 1st Gear February 17, 2008 Share February 17, 2008 should be.... PAY AH!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dipstick Neutral Newbie February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 The phenomenal growth of Malaysia under the leadership of its fourth prime minister Datuk Seri Dr Mahathir Mohamad has brought about a patriotic sense of achievement amongst its people. The Government has led the way to show that Malaysians can excel in whatever they put their minds to, and this, in no small way, has produced a society that tries to outdo itself (sometimes at ridiculous levels, if truth be told) in the endeavours it pursues Embodying this spirit is the slogan "Malaysia Boleh!" which loosely translated means "Malaysia Can Do It!" How this slogan came to be the "battle cry" of a nation is rather sketchy but the general belief is that it was the slogan used by a health beverage in its marketing campaign in the 80s. It caught on and soon cries of Malaysia Boleh! were heard, first only at sporting events like the Commonwealth Games and Thomas Cup Finals, then later everywhere else as it was embraced wholeheartedly by the people as a means to push themselves to endure and accept challenge, to set targets, to excel. The "Malaysia Boleh!" spirit has since produced many achievers and achievements, and has been a cornerstone of the success story that is the new Malaysia. With a racist constitution and corruption almost a way of life, MY boleh? More like MY Boliao.......... LKY was right........ a Malaysian Malaysia would have resulted in a far more progressive and developed MY today. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 Malaysia boleh....(pls scroll down)... ... ... . . . . . . . .. . ....boleh chakap balu.....(continue to scroll further)... . . . . Itu Malaysia poletesen suma bodoh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 cfm u hate their polis bery much..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 Their polis darn PMS-y. Few months ago, I entered JB (After dunno how many donkey years). Can't find the white card. Blur blur go approach the polis stationed at the immigration. ----------------------- Me: (Putting on a friendly smile) Good morning, may I know where I can get a white card? Polis: Hello! Do I look like an immigration officer? My job is to arrest you, not to guide you. ----------------------- WTF... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 he's ah beng ma... of cruz hate polis de... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dipstick Neutral Newbie February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 The MYsians seem to have a deep-seated resentment of SGP because we have been more successful than they in every sense of the word. Our success shows up their inadequacies and incompetence and hence they are not taking it well. Ours is meritocacy-based and have worked much better than their race-based policies (under the guise of NEP). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 Lets keep it this way. For, if they becomes smarter, we will suffer.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 (edited) That's the way of live for their polis force. Knowing that election is near, use water cannon & tear gas to dispurse just 300 Indians....... What happen to their riot squad ????? Edited February 18, 2008 by Picnic06 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dipstick Neutral Newbie February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 (edited) The cracks and tears are becoming obvious in the MY system of governance. The Indians can't stand it anymore and have taken it upon themselves to doing something about it but it may be too late. A whole generation have grown up under repeated NEP extensions and now take it as their rights and does not view it as a concession made by the minorities. Recent rhetorics by their politicians (e.g. threatening to use parangs to defend their rights) have only served to add fuel to the highly-charged submerged racial tension in MY. Foreign investors are wary of investing in MY and the IDR. IMO, the IDR in Johore is unlikely to succeed and may become just another dead white elephant (another "multi-media corridor" that MY tried to set up but failed). Edited February 18, 2008 by Dipstick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lustful_69 Neutral Newbie February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 In a way, he's right! If you think that's rude, try wandering into the immigration restricted area and see how our goons treat us.... You'll probably get shouted like a common criminal like they owned the farking place.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...