Achtung7 Neutral Newbie February 16, 2008 Share February 16, 2008 This is the first time that I'm starting a new post and very unfortunately, it has to be in this section... sigh... and it's bit long too... do bear with it.. I was at Old Airport Road Food Centre. I parked my car on the right of a handicapped lot. I positioned my car such that it was at the left edge, i.e. car is just inches away from the handicapped lot, leaveing lots of room on my right. The lot on the right is empty at that point in time. As i was tearing my coupon, a silver Honda Stream (SGU6xxxZ) drove head in into the empty lot on my right. It was right on the line when i turn my head to check. The driver, which is an old lady probably in her fifties, then reversed and shifted her car such that it is centred in her lot. I opened my door, stepped out of my car and as I was about to leave, she spoked to me thru her opened window.. Old Lady: Don't worry lah, I won't scratched your car one! Me: (smiling)I'm just look at the amount of space i have to open my door. (Mine's a three door hatch, so the door is long and need more space to open) Old Lady: Oh... but you are a very good parker, you left so much space on this side! Me: (smiling) it's ok, i always do that to give other more space so that it's easier to park. Then I smiled at her again and walked off. As I walked away, I could hear her slamming her door. And there is an old man sitting inside the car, about her age if not slightly older. I turned back and saw that her face wasn't that pleasant at all. I went to order my food and felt that something just wasn't right, so i went back to my car. There were no scratches then and the old man was still sitting in the car. I note down her car license plate number just in case something were to happen. I finished my meal about 20 minutes later. Her car was gone and another car was in it's place. That Old lady left a 15 cm dent on my door. That part of my door is curved (convex), so she must have used quite a bit of force to cause a dent that long. I just couldn't believe it that an old lady, probably with substantial education as she speaks proper English, can do such a mean thing. It's not that i have done anything wrong to her, but she can do such an act. Finally, I have her license plate no, any bros here can tell me how i can trace her address? I just want to show her that she can't just intentionally dent someone's car and then just drive away. I'm not seeking compensation from her as I know that she will definitely deny it, but i just want to show here that i can track her down so that in the future, she will think twice about denting other cars, ever again. Any bros here can help? Thanks in advance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged February 17, 2008 Share February 17, 2008 Sorry to hear about the problem. I'm sure I would have felt every bit as sian as you if it happened to my ride. If the lady was the driver, the old man would be the passenger and it would be the passenger door, if any, that would have caused the dent right? The problem is you didn't witness the event. Even if you did, it would have been your word against hers, unless scientific evidence was introduced. Did you check if it was possibly the car that was parked in its place, whether it was possibly that 2nd car that caused the dent? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung7 Neutral Newbie February 17, 2008 Author Share February 17, 2008 Well, it was parked head in and i reversed parked... so it's the driver side that caused the dent.. the next car that was parked there could not have caused the damage as the door opening angle did not match.. Furthermore.. the dent was a long one, not the usual short dings that you get from unintentional acts... this is an intentional one.. I'm sure she will deny, but i just want her to know that she can't dent someone's car and think that she can drive off without being tracked down.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear February 17, 2008 Share February 17, 2008 (edited) Wah lao ehh, this kind of people also have. Brudder, very sorry for you. If accidental, heart pain, but if done on purpose then the MF ought to be punished or warned. Tracking the address based on car plate no. won't be easy, unless TP can help. Edited February 17, 2008 by Vroomtattat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged February 17, 2008 Share February 17, 2008 Sorry to read about what happened to your car. Actually, such things are 'common' especially at the ground-level open carpark surrounding the food center...cos a lot of 'old' folks like to park there (maybe less walking, etc.). Old folk tends to have lesser control over how wide the car door open. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2wwong Neutral Newbie February 17, 2008 Share February 17, 2008 if you got enough $ to spare, anything is possible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear February 17, 2008 Share February 17, 2008 join the club. Someone left a dent in my bumper. Must have reserved blindly. hit n run . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emils 2nd Gear February 17, 2008 Share February 17, 2008 Good luck in your 'quest'. Sorry that I do not know of any way to track down the car owner except maybe to stalk out the hawker centre for the next few weeks... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged February 17, 2008 Share February 17, 2008 I am slightly luckier, I had no dents on my car but half of my licence plate was gone after returning from my meal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear February 17, 2008 Share February 17, 2008 Old folks?? You mean the old man at the back of the car was Jack Lalane? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithhiap 1st Gear February 17, 2008 Share February 17, 2008 (edited) brother, get over it, i understands how u feel and everyone in MCF understands how u. feel. it is a daily experience, and u cant avoid it. even though u parked further apart, which i always do, the f arker will park by "ken gan na du lous" and based on this kind of army style, usually cross the box/white line. meaning u being kind, but others "who cares...." Of course, u still can do as what u usually do, cause it will helps to minimize the dents, however, what happens already happen, seriously, there is a lot of f arker, cannot park properly. The very jialat type is parallel park. because cannot use army style, so they presume as long as inside the box, they consider they parked properly. If u happen to park at tiong bahru, the market opposite the shopping mall, that side is all parallel park, and i ganna dont know how many points just to get out from the lot. I have one friend very garang, he used his car to push the front car forward, dont use too much strength, he hacked care cause the idiot dont give allowance, so he has to do this way. FYI, in paris is like that one, push and out. i saw with my own eyes before. that why all the vehicle in paris all the bumpers got cracks or dents one. Paris is all parallel park, dont have vertical. Edited February 17, 2008 by Keithhiap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 welcome to the jungle, brother Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pplater 1st Gear February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 u need to chill a little bro, are u often noting down the plate number of those parking beside you? Dents on cars will always happen, its part and parcel I suppose... Often times there is no witness, such as in your case, and u can't even be sure if it was either of the 2 drivers, or a prankster passing by. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 Quote I am slightly luckier, I had no dents on my car but half of my licence plate was gone after returning from my meal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 Only the police (and some other government agencies) can trace vehicle owners based on car plate numbers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 not if they stay in HDB & buy season parking Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 Quote not if they stay in HDB & buy season parking Really? I didn't know that heheh ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear February 18, 2008 Share February 18, 2008 Bro, high chance it might be this old charbor whom had given you this 15cm dent But still you did not have concrete evidence hence it is quite difficult for you to kee with her unless you caught her on the spot Damn these axxholes ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...