Wait inside car at URA lot, must still tear parking coupon?

Beng2

Yes.

And then if I have left over time on the coupon, I will pass it to a deserving motorist.

Some farkers here have the farked up concept that must put coupon only if you walk away from the car.

SMLJ concept is that?

The correct position is that want to park (ie occupy the lot), then just display coupon. Sit inside, whether talking handphone buying share whatever LJ thing, reading newspaper or PCC, all have nothing to do with excusing you from putting the coupon.

Want to chut pattern say I do like that but HDB don't catch me, is like telling TP, yesterday, day before, 10 days before I speeding this road, why only today then catch me?

a valid coupon is required for a parked car in a lot, no?

for the different practice, it's a open one eye, close one eye thing.

yes, she's correct.

there's a way to avoid all this. ERPised that carpark.

many complains has been put forth by readers in ST on that carpark. some mentioned that tear one coupon liao, go collect passport... but kana delayed there. some back, found out that coupon not enough and kana summon this sort of thing.

but read the reply by ICA that the carpark will not be ERPised. something about cost n it being a temp carpark lot.

z.

Think reply came from URA and not ICA as that piece of land / car park does not come under the purview of ICA.

definitely one of the few.. [laugh]

i think waiting in the lot is somewhat inconsiderate if there are people waiting. BUT if there are ample lots, it's perfectly ethical to wait WITHOUT bothering to tear coupon. [flowerface]

If you occupy parking lot, you should tear parking coupon. That carpark is very crowded one. Please be considerate to other motorists who need the lot more than you do. If you tear coupon and wait inside car, at least look more reasonable (even though it kinda of look stupid - if tear coupon already, I rather wait somewhere else, lim kopi etc). If occupy lot, read newspaper, you are depriving others of the lot.

actually since u r there waiting y the need to take up a parking lot...when there are other pple who need the lot to park. not to flame u or wat...but i have come across on many occassions where there are people like u, sitting in the car tat is in the lot, obviously is just waiting for some reason, and will not b leaving the car, with many people like me going round the car park trying to find a lot to park...worse if it urgent [dizzy]

Good point there. In fact, most of the time I practise that, although I can argue that if I could wait for my lot, others who come after me should do the same and not ask me to leave the lot just because I want to wait in the car! My reasons for not doing that at ICA:

i) waiting in non-lot causes congestion and inconvenience to others (although one may argue that 'choping" a lot also does that [laugh]

ii) waiting in non-lot entails lots of shifting the car around (to allow cars parked in the lots blocked by me to exit). Further shifting is required to allow other cars to park in the newly vacant lot. How troublesome is that?

iii)And most impotantly, I don't know how long my friend will take to collect her passport (100+ persons in front of her!), so may need to leave the car anytime to take a piss or crap. Can't just anyhow leave the car in non-lot, or expect other drivers to give me priority to occupy the next available lot just because I want to pangsai/piss

[reply

You are a cheapskate who can't even bear to tear a coupon whilst you occupy a space AND deprive others of that space on the basis that you are still in the car. Reading newspaper in the car has nothing to do with occupying the parking lot. You can go and PCC inside, who cares? As long as you put coupon, the warden is happy.

Your line of argument regarding the different practices in the ICA car park and in HDB car parks is lame. It is like asking the TP or parking warden: why you catch me no catch other people?

If next time the HDB parking warden decides not to catch you, are you going to shout at him and say: Oi! ICA parking warden catch me, why you no catch me? Yeah, right.

Cheapskate. Want to occupy the lot, just put coupon and shaddup. Don't pretend to ask question why HDB warden never catch you.[/reply]

Bro, pls read my previous post [laugh]

In fact, in my first post I already admitted that she was right to do so. No need to be so worked up. Watch that BP.

I kena this situation many times liao.

The warden practically stand there see me tear the tabs and display it. He will inspect it before he walk off. [dead][dead][dead]

if i'm waiting for less than 20min, i will not tear coupon. instead, i will drive off and circle the carpark to humour the warden.

even if u idle for full 15min, still more worth than to tear the coupon. better to find some other spot to wait. far far from the warden. still can wait abt 10 min at least and switch off engine until the warden comes by again [flowerface]

A 50cents coupon for 30mins with engine off Vs 15mins with engine idling...

I wonder which will cost more [sly]

Actually other than the car park beside ICA building, there is a mulit-storey one at the HDB flats located opp on the other side of the road think is called Jelicoe or French Road. . . the car park is usually quite empty during day time and after parking, you just need to walk out to the main rd use the underpass outside the MRT station and u will be at ICA building in less than 3 mins. However, many drivers prefer to wait out for an empty lot at the carpark beside ICA building and some end up with engine on for 15 - 30 mins just for a lot with no shelter . . . maybe next time any bros going to ICA can consider parking opp at the multistory one . . .

Yup, I always park there when I need to go to ICA. Can eat a bit time here n there also as its not that frequently patrolled. But I caught police car went up there n have nap in their car. [laugh]

I also wait in car for ERP to go off at the carpark at SGH n Tanjong Pagar Railway station there. The auntie never bother everyone at all. Once times up, can see the queue of cars leaving the car park. [laugh] Usually ard 10am and 7pm weekday. [laugh]

no offence

but i am VERY IMPRESS, i think prolly your on the very high income group in the working society.

in my own humble opinion, waiting in a lot with or without any coupon does not make any difference,

because in theory, the driver can walk away without displaying any coupons after parking. so the note to debate should rather be " do u park in a lot while waitin for someone" rather than "do u display a parking coupon in a lot while waitin for someone"

say now, a driver decides to wait for someone, he parks his car in a lot, but walk to the void deck beside to read paper, bet horse,buy shares, pcc, make baby, the car is sitting there depriving others of using it, it makes no difference with waiting in the car.

i understand ur frustration, i ever search for 1.5hr for a lot in vivocity basement b4, while i can tell u, in b1 and b2 alone, easily got 10cars with occupants inside, den u wait n wait, finally they decide to wave their hand n tell u the lot is not available [hur]

but then ultimately, the rule of the thumb still apply, first come first served, unless u own vivo and u got ur own reserved lot.

but when u go into Vivo I think you already paying the entry fee / parking fee rite (pls correct me if I am wrong as I only been there 2-3 times) thus if you choose to wait in the car while parked at the lot, it is still not that bad since u 'paid' for it. But in a HDB / URA carpark, if u choose to wait at the lot without coupon while many cars are trying to find an empty one, think it is not that proper. Unless the car-park quite empty lah . . . anyway my interpretation is once u park ur car in the lot, u need to pay / tear coupon regardless of whether u leave the car or is inside the car waiting . . . of coz the wardens might close one eye if car park is not packed. For myself I would also just wait without coupon if my wait is short and the car park not full . . . however for the car-park at ICA, think the demand for lots in the daytime is often high and the collection of passport can take from few mins to maybe 1/2 hr or more depending on the Q. Thus if one need to take 1/2 hr to collect, that mean the driver wait in the car park at the lot for 1/2 hr or more . . . think not fair to others rite? Just my views. [laugh]

for small to medium engine size, i should think idling is less.

i seem to remember one set of figures (but i think it's for big cc)= half liter for half hour.

actually, it's interesting to do a calculation and see...