Beng2 5th Gear February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 Just to highlight my experience at ICA building carpark. I fetched someone to collect her passport. Parked my car in a lot at the public carpark and waited in car - windows down and engine stopped. Auntie passed by (they super on), and asked me to display parking coupon. I was reading newspaper inside. I am not arguing that she was wrong, because technically she was correct. However, when I do the same in HDB carpark lots, no warden has asked me to display coupon. Why the different practice? Anyone has the same experience? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 (edited) That public car park is a hotspot during office hours Very very difficult to find parking lots ... Maybe that's why ... Edited February 13, 2008 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 I kena this situation many times liao. The warden practically stand there see me tear the tabs and display it. He will inspect it before he walk off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 Thats good!! I hope they imposed it on all carparks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 See how packed the car park is .... if there is alot of people waiting for lots ... probably they'll tell you that ... but if there are alot of lots around .... then they'll probably leave you alone. How would you feel if you are going there and cannot find a lot but you see somebody waiting in a parking lot? So for a very packed car park .... I will tear coupon and wait in the lot or shift my car out and wait in non parking lot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zuoom 1st Gear February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 a valid coupon is required for a parked car in a lot, no? for the different practice, it's a open one eye, close one eye thing. yes, she's correct. there's a way to avoid all this. ERPised that carpark. many complains has been put forth by readers in ST on that carpark. some mentioned that tear one coupon liao, go collect passport... but kana delayed there. some back, found out that coupon not enough and kana summon this sort of thing. but read the reply by ICA that the carpark will not be ERPised. something about cost n it being a temp carpark lot. z. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 Yeah, that piece of land where the carpark sits on now is on leased one. They have other plans for that area. So ERP parking is out for now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 They will not ERP that ICA carpark. Its just too profitable to just fine you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Will_I_Am 2nd Gear February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 You have a point there too. Half hour can only charge 50 cents .. but summon minimum $6. Makes sense now . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rtth84 1st Gear February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 yeah carpark is a waste of space. revenue from rental for office or retial much more profitable. see raffles city B1 carpark become retail space liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
N00b 4th Gear February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 actually since u r there waiting y the need to take up a parking lot...when there are other pple who need the lot to park. not to flame u or wat...but i have come across on many occassions where there are people like u, sitting in the car tat is in the lot, obviously is just waiting for some reason, and will not b leaving the car, with many people like me going round the car park trying to find a lot to park...worse if it urgent Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl1500k Clutched February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 (edited) park inside the lot ofcourse have to put coupon lah somemore is a hotspot carpark. Next time wait outside parking lot which is fully park so no need to put coupon. Edited February 13, 2008 by Jl1500k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 (edited) You can try pretending u are busy searching for/tearing coupons. That time, I tried this method, they ignore me after a while. Once they are gone, you can continue read newspaper. But if they still stick around to monitor, then no choice. Put one coupon & go for walk/drink since u already put coupon. No point sit in car and waste the coupon, rite? Also, you can prevent other drivers from saying u are selfish. Edited February 13, 2008 by Redboy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 I kena this situation many times liao. The warden practically stand there see me tear the tabs and display it. He will inspect it before he walk off. if i'm waiting for less than 20min, i will not tear coupon. instead, i will drive off and circle the carpark to humour the warden. even if u idle for full 15min, still more worth than to tear the coupon. better to find some other spot to wait. far far from the warden. still can wait abt 10 min at least and switch off engine until the warden comes by again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 Just to highlight my experience at ICA building carpark. I fetched someone to collect her passport. Parked my car in a lot at the public carpark and waited in car - windows down and engine stopped. Auntie passed by (they super on), and asked me to display parking coupon. I was reading newspaper inside. I am not arguing that she was wrong, because technically she was correct. However, when I do the same in HDB carpark lots, no warden has asked me to display coupon. Why the different practice? Anyone has the same experience? u shld parked at the other carpark opp the canal. it is accessible via a bridge. easier to find a lot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_tee 2nd Gear February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 (edited) my sis ever asked the HDB warden whether she want my sis to vacate the lot or display coupon, she was waiting in the car when one went pass the warden reply was as along as someone is there, its ok not to display coupon this is for HDB side, but for URA i duno, considering during peak hours URA lots are very " hot" anyways, i think all these rules are a joke, i witness for myself in marine parade central, a taxi wif on call sign turned on wif driver inside at the small roundabout beside NTUC supermarket, its a designated pick up n drop off area,but the taxi is not blocking anyone the cisco guy on white scoot came n ask him to go, the driver replied, hes picking up a on-call passenger, the cisco guy jus reply, go or i will summon. n given sgporeans complain mentality, i hope the driver wont be penalise for arriving "late" later on when he do pickup his passenger. it dosent make any sense, we cant wait by the roadside, we cant wait in parking lot den where r we suppose to wait ? display coupon while waiting ? can the erp carpark give 30mins grace? bro i suggest u write in officially n enlighten everyone here, i know they are making a living, so do we and we are not stopping them, but we need to know our rights. besides its not uncommon these cisco guys actin like they are "TP" many years back, someone wrote to LTA to clarify about motorbikes having sticker number plate, LTA reply was tat, as long as the specs are met its ok whether its sticker or metal. however there are still times riders get stopped by ROV uncle for having sticker number plate, that piece of reply actually saved alot of asses when they fished out the paper n show to uncle ROV on the spot, uncle rov cant do anything. Edited February 13, 2008 by Ah_tee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zippaboy 4th Gear February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 (edited) where can i get a copy of the letter? just in case they practise double standards. Edited February 13, 2008 by Zippaboy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_tee 2nd Gear February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 Our Ref: LTA/CSV/F20.032.000/3384/1 Date: 12-JUL-2004 Tel: 1800-2255 582 (1800-CALL LTA) Fax: 6553 5329 Dear Mr XXX, NUMBER PLATE REGULATIONS & MATERIAL USED FEEDBACK NUMBER: 153370 Thank you for your enquiries of 30-JUN-2004. 2. We wish to inform you that the technical requirements for motorcycle licence plates used in Singapore can be found in Rule 15 and Fourth Schedule of the Road Traffic (Motor Vehicles, Registration and Licensing) Rules. 3. In summary, these rules specify that licence plates should comply with either of the following descriptions (colour code): a) Letters and figures are white, silver or light grey on a non-reflective black background for both front and rear; or b) Letter and figures are black on a white reflex-reflecting background for the front, and on a yellow reflex-reflecting background for the rear. 4. The front licence plates for motorcycle must also meet the following dimension specifications: (a) The letters and figures are 35 mm high, 25 mm wide and 5 mm broad; (b) The space between adjoining letters and between adjoining figures shall be 5 mm; © The space between the letters and figures shall be 10 mm; (d) A margin between the nearest part of any letter or figure and the top or bottom of the number plate shall be 5 mm; (e) A margin between the nearest part of any letter or figure and the sides of the licence plate shall be 10 mm. 5. The rear licence plates for motorcycle must also meet the following dimension specifications: (a) The letters and figures are 50 mm high, 30 mm wide and 5 mm broad; (b) The space between adjoining letters and between adjoining figures shall be 10 mm; © The space between the letters and figures shall be 20 mm; (d) A margin between the nearest part of any letter or figure and the top, bottom and sides of the licence plate shall be 10 mm. (e) For licence plate that consists of 2 rows of figures and letters, the space the 2 rows shall be 10 mm. 6. No other figures or letters, design advertisement or ornamentation shall be placed near the licence plate in such a manner as to render it more difficult to read or distinguish the registration number of the motorcycle when in motion. 7. Many licence plates used in Singapore are attached to plastic licence plates holders that contain wording and brand names. We have no objection to the fixing of licence plates with such holders if it meet the above requirements. In addition, the wordings on such holders shall not contain obscenities or profanities and shall not be derogatory seditious. 8. As for your enquiry on the sticker type licence plate for the front, we have no objection to it so long as the above requirements are met. We hope we have addressed your enquiries satisfactorily, thank you. Yours sincerely, (SIGNED IN LOTUS NOTES) GOH SEONG HONG for MANAGER VEHICLE ENGINEERING DEPARTMENT VEHICLE & TRANSIT LICENSING DIVISION LAND TRANSPORT AUTHORITY ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...