Leepee 1st Gear February 11, 2008 Share February 11, 2008 With all the talks of self-import and super high profit margin of cars. I was wondering WHY there is no one in Singapore setting up this business format. "For $20,000 transform your old car into new car. Do it at the 9th year and you can renew your COE and drive your car for another 10 years." I heard of importing in half cut cars into Singapore. Just imagine if you bring in a totally brand new half-cut car into Singapore for $15k(OMV value). There no no ARF to pay or COE to pay, just the import charges. I know LTA allows a car to change exery single parts of the car except the car body. One can replace the car engine, suspension, interio, seats, rubber gaskets, ECU, wheels bearings, windows, doors, carpets, locks, etc. You technically get a new car (same model) with new parts at a cheaper price. Provided you don't mind driving a outdated model! Feasible? Or am I dreaming too much. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcff_1980 Neutral Newbie February 11, 2008 Share February 11, 2008 using half-cut to redo COE cars are already very common in sgp liao. u wanbao la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear February 11, 2008 Share February 11, 2008 Just imagine if you bring in a totally brand new half-cut car into Singapore for $15k(OMV value). There no no ARF to pay or COE to pay, just the import charges. So, which car manufacturer is still making the exact same car that you bought 9 years ago for you to buy that exact same model and cut it in half straight away to import as a half cut? Have you given any thought to that? "For $20,000 transform your old car into new car. Do it at the 9th year and you can renew your COE and drive your car for another 10 years." In other words, you have budgeted $15k for the half-cut, and the balance of $5k for the COE, and what else? What COE extension is only $5k? Freight charges how much? Pay some Bangla $25 to cut the car in half? You technically get a new car (same model) with new parts at a cheaper price. Provided you don't mind driving a outdated model! So how are the parts going to move from the half cut onto your old car? You got access to free labour? Feasible? Or am I dreaming too much. No lah. You are not dreaming too much. You are dreaming way too farking much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear February 11, 2008 Share February 11, 2008 So, which car manufacturer is still making the exact same car that you bought 9 years ago for you to buy that exact same model and cut it in half straight away to import as a half cut? Have you given any thought to that? PROTON Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chocobelle Neutral Newbie February 11, 2008 Share February 11, 2008 no wonder can potong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged February 11, 2008 Share February 11, 2008 hahahahahahah tats ultra funny~!!!! one word. short and sweet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear February 11, 2008 Share February 11, 2008 wah stalker u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear February 11, 2008 Share February 11, 2008 过讲过讲,恭喜发财 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear February 11, 2008 Share February 11, 2008 If anyone would be so stupid to buy a Proton (yes a Proton) and then cut it in half to transfer over the parts onto his existing Proton, then let him be. In such a case it would be so much easier to buy an unregistered Proton, drive across to Malaysia in the old car, change the chassis number and engine number on the new Proton to that of the old Proton, transfer the number plate and drive back. This is being done anyway on older collector cars which are discovered to be in better condition than the Singapore specimens. No need to go to the extent of slicing up a perfectly good new car to import it as a half cut. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear February 11, 2008 Share February 11, 2008 not sure if u want to drive it till 20 yrs or not...potong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear February 11, 2008 Share February 11, 2008 u r asking which car manufacturer mah, so i think only PROTON lor.... dun be so defensive lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear February 11, 2008 Share February 11, 2008 Defensive meh? I talk like Ah Long cannot meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged February 11, 2008 Share February 11, 2008 Yup! This been done alot of times for example mercedes e-class W124 model. Alot of them drove sg registered car up north and came back with a better specimen! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Martinsylim Neutral Newbie February 11, 2008 Share February 11, 2008 So, which car manufacturer is still making the exact same car that you bought 9 years ago for you to buy that exact same model and cut it in half straight away to import as a half cut? Have you given any thought to that? PROTON New 'Lotus' engine! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear February 11, 2008 Share February 11, 2008 salah... is new 'Campro' engine tuned by Lotus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Martinsylim Neutral Newbie February 11, 2008 Share February 11, 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear February 11, 2008 Share February 11, 2008 (edited) Maybe as u said it's legally possible, just that there's no business case for it. Coz most old cars have high OMV, so all deregistered already. And then there's the labour charge to swap everything to consider. And end of day, u still only own an old model car, no new technology or design in your car. Edited February 11, 2008 by Falc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imamiah Clutched February 13, 2008 Share February 13, 2008 interesting concept... but what is the use of a new old-car? the model is old, the look is old, the technology is old... people just like brand new 'in' stuff. think this solves your question ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...