Is It Worth Upgrading From P80RS To P80RSII ?

Gdspd08

Hi, new replacement model is coming out soon for P80RS. Is it worth the upgrading from P80RS to P80RSII?

http://www.pioneer.com.sg/storefront/broch...8CE_Preview.pdf

Thread

http://www.sgsoundsystem.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8795

From what I see, the new PR80RS II spec seem to be the same as the previous model except that it can feed in USB thumbdrive and got Bluetooth stuff. Heard that these are optional items and need to purchase separately.

Edited by Gdspd08

Hi Bro,

IMHO, no point doing that upgrade coz it's exactly the same P80 except for USB thumbdrive and bluetooth that you need to buy external control unit as shown below. This is their P80RSII specs:

2008_DEH-P80RSII.jpg

Hi Bro,

If you are seriously thinking of upgrading your P80 but not going for high end Alpine F#1 or Pioneer P90, then the choice is to go for Eclipse CD7100 or the newest CD7200MKII that comes with Bluetooth. These 2 are above $1k+.

Yo bro, USB function I still can accept but as for Bluetooth, I dun really need that. BTW, I dun think I will upgrade my HU first. My first priorty is to up my sub or monoblock first. My sub should be down liao as I keep hearing boo boo sound. Cfm not tuning issue as I had put everything to flat mode. Still boo boo sound. My sub bass seem like unable to match my new car accoustic when it is still ok last month. Well, when I return to S'pore, I will see how. Maybe off my sub permanently as my Focal mid can easily beat my sub. Dun wish to get poison so soon also. Heheh

Edited by Gdspd08

Hi Bro,

<<Maybe off my sub permanently as my Focal mid can easily beat my sub.>>

Focal K2P mid-bass lows are nice and punchy.

<

<<Du wish to get poison so soon also. Heheh>>

Who poison who har? hur.gif

After you return, we meet for kopi and talk.

Hi Bro...

I m trading in my DEH-P6750MP for a DEH-P80 (Is there alot of different P80 cos mine is a sliver interface one)...is the difference huge?

I was offered an Audio Step Amp too...nvr heard, at least not as often as Audison, Genesis etc. But it is Italy made.

As i looking at sound clarity...not sure the above is worth the moola?

Hi Bro,

<>

It depends on what huge diff you are expecting. A well tuned P80 with proper matching drivers will make some difference for sure.

<>

You mean Steg? it's Italian made. There are many bros using this Amp these days but low key so it's not as famous as those you mentioned. I am using that.

<>

You did not mention what prices for what models.. so no idea if that's worth it or not.

If you attend our regular weekly Wed ICE meetups, you will be able to hear many bros having this P80 setups for you to audit.

Thanks...the amp cost abt $800 plus. It was recommended becos i m really a noob in ICE. Just can't tahan playing my fave Jackie Chung Live & Gipsy King on some lousy syst.

P80 $700 plus

Steg $800 plus

Current speakers OZ Matrix (may upgrade if end results is not ideal. For now still alright.)

No Subs...cos no space in new car.

Hi Bro,

<

P80 $700 plus

Steg $800 plus >>

Your Steg is 4-channel so you can run 2-way active?. No point running passive with just 2-ch amp.

Edited by Bobcatsysop

Err...gd question bro. I didn't take note of it as i will only get my car in April. For now just settle what i want to get and also ask the shop to swop my old HU and speakers back.

I prefer turbo kick man...hehe

I dumped my current woofer in the storeroom cos cannot take it when it is rolling all over my boot.

ya.. running active now. but

now i got louder bass but need to change the open pod box to no pod. + tweeter holders.