Gdspd08 2nd Gear February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 Hi all, I would like to ask a few questions. Hope can help. BTW, my genre of song is either audiophile or Chinese slow pop song like those from Jolin Tsai, Cai Chun Jia, Jay Chou and etc. My current setup is only 10' Twister sub which I transfer to my new car and the accoustic doesn't seem to fit in that well as compare to my previos Lancer. I did a few tuning and seem ok. Just like to upgrade to 12' DVC sub with good midbass easily blended in. 1. How come some say sub running at 4ohm sound better than 2ohm? 2. Since my current 2 ch Twister amp is running at 300W RMS bridge at 2ohm, I dun think my amp can drive RF P3 sub, unless I get RF P2. Is that so? 3. I'm considering a few sub. RF P312D2 or RF P312D4, Soundstream XPro-12 or JBL (need to do research). IDMax and SW300 seem like too ex for me. Any other good choice that affordable? 4. Any good and not so expensive mono block that I can change so that I can have more choice of sub? Currently thinking of Soundstream LW 1.800. Any other better choice? 5. To choose a proper sub, wat config I need to take note? Efficiency frequency? My config 1. Pioneer PR80. 2. Audison LRX 4.1 3. Front Focal 165KF 4. Rear Helix Dark Blue 6.2 5. Twister TW 275 Pro (2x300W 600W Max, 2 ohm 2 x 150W) 6. Twister 10' DVC sub. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 How are you bro? Just changed your ride? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 hihi come, for question 1, in theory, @ 4 ohm, there is higher damping factor ( control of the sub). but this one in reality, u need to listen to see what u like lor.. 2) ditch ur twister amp( my opinion). get something that has cleaner and better power. P3 is 500 rms. P2 is easier to power, but then again, i still say get another amp to power the sub. 3) P2 sub is the safest. affordable, competition proven and easy to drive 4) look for 2nd hand amps, there are good deals out there! 5)to choose proper sub, listen to reviews and listening for urself is the best. no amt of figures can compare to your " feeling".. heheh Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gdspd08 2nd Gear February 6, 2008 Author Share February 6, 2008 Yo Sturtle bro, how r u ? Yup yup..just change my ride. Better accoustic in the car but the sub seem not match. Not like my previous ride leh. Happy New Year to u bro. I'm overseas now. Heheh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 i hv a 12" P2 ported enclosure, driven by a scosche monoblock. how to achieve solid bass pls? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gdspd08 2nd Gear February 6, 2008 Author Share February 6, 2008 If you listen to Trance or Techno type of song, then ported enclosure is good. If you listen to Jazz or pop or audiophile type of music, sealed box is better as the bass is more tighter, not so diffuse as ported enclosure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 icic... i will experiment by covering the port. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 go sealed. most off the rack ported boxes sux. have fun.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 Pee... Twoooooooo mai tu liao ... muha ha ha ... your ear drums confirm gone liao, use Pee 20 also same one ... CNY eve dun eat diiner come here ask this qtn... must suan a bit here !!! mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 Hi Bro... How about sub@8ohms? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gdspd08 2nd Gear February 6, 2008 Author Share February 6, 2008 Aiyo... I have eaten my re-union dinner last nite lah. You told me to go ask around mah. So I post in here loh. Must learn more mah. BTW Happy New Year to you and your family. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 if u have the power @ 8 ohms, by all means man.. heheh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 cheers to u too ... Got recv. my Ass-M-Ass bo ? mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear February 7, 2008 Share February 7, 2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gdspd08 2nd Gear February 7, 2008 Author Share February 7, 2008 Got got..Got recv. Me oversea and auto roam cannot work..sian 1/2. BTW, most prob I will settle for P2 or P3 (with amp change to at least 800w Monoblock) in the later stage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gdspd08 2nd Gear February 7, 2008 Author Share February 7, 2008 To add in, I think I will get the DB Drive mono block to run P3 in the later stage. Wat do u think? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear February 7, 2008 Share February 7, 2008 if u planning to do an amp chg + sub chg, then i would suggest , do a review, find out wats the end point that u wan, the build to that spec. need not do all at one go... maybe can start off with the ampo chg, as that WOULD certainly benefit your current sub too. 2 cents of cheese mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gdspd08 2nd Gear February 7, 2008 Author Share February 7, 2008 (edited) Yes yes...I will do that. Moreover, my wife's brother (brother in law) just bought a GLX Lancer and maybe I can pass him my sub and amp if I change. Like that will not be wasted. I will let you audit if got time. Whenever I play Zhang Shao Han second track, I will sure hear boo boo sound from behind. Pass the CD and mp3 to my frenz and play in his car. No such problem. I turn off TA, EQ switch to flat and try all slope and crossover also have this issue. My wife also hear it and ask me is my sub spoilt. Guess my sub cannot play low bass. Will Rockford sub spoilt the SPL? I mean the bass more harsh? I did audit P3 before and the bass is quite strong at the low side. 3 cents of cheese.. Edited February 7, 2008 by Gdspd08 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...