Sub and Mono Block To Recommend

Gdspd08

Hi all, I would like to ask a few questions. Hope can help. BTW, my genre of song is either audiophile or Chinese slow pop song like those from Jolin Tsai, Cai Chun Jia, Jay Chou and etc. My current setup is only 10' Twister sub which I transfer to my new car and the accoustic doesn't seem to fit in that well as compare to my previos Lancer. I did a few tuning and seem ok. Just like to upgrade to 12' DVC sub with good midbass easily blended in.

1. How come some say sub running at 4ohm sound better than 2ohm?

2. Since my current 2 ch Twister amp is running at 300W RMS bridge at 2ohm, I dun think my amp can drive RF P3 sub, unless I get RF P2. Is that so?

3. I'm considering a few sub. RF P312D2 or RF P312D4, Soundstream XPro-12 or JBL (need to do research). IDMax and SW300 seem like too ex for me. Any other good choice that affordable?

4. Any good and not so expensive mono block that I can change so that I can have more choice of sub? Currently thinking of Soundstream LW 1.800. Any other better choice?

5. To choose a proper sub, wat config I need to take note? Efficiency frequency?

My config

1. Pioneer PR80.

2. Audison LRX 4.1

3. Front Focal 165KF

4. Rear Helix Dark Blue 6.2

5. Twister TW 275 Pro (2x300W 600W Max, 2 ohm 2 x 150W)

6. Twister 10' DVC sub.

hihi

come,

for question 1,

in theory, @ 4 ohm, there is higher damping factor ( control of the sub). but this one in reality, u need to listen to see what u like lor..

2) ditch ur twister amp( my opinion). get something that has cleaner and better power. P3 is 500 rms. P2 is easier to power, but then again, i still say get another amp to power the sub.

3) P2 sub is the safest. affordable, competition proven and easy to drive

4) look for 2nd hand amps, there are good deals out there!

5)to choose proper sub, listen to reviews and listening for urself is the best. no amt of figures can compare to your " feeling".. heheh

Yo Sturtle bro, how r u ?

Yup yup..just change my ride. Better accoustic in the car but the sub seem not match. Not like my previous ride leh.

Happy New Year to u bro. I'm overseas now. Heheh...

If you listen to Trance or Techno type of song, then ported enclosure is good. If you listen to Jazz or pop or audiophile type of music, sealed box is better as the bass is more tighter, not so diffuse as ported enclosure.

Pee... Twoooooooo mai tu liao ... muha ha ha ... your ear drums confirm gone liao, use Pee 20 also same one ... CNY eve dun eat diiner come here ask this qtn... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

must suan a bit here !!!

mice

Aiyo... I have eaten my re-union dinner last nite lah. You told me to go ask around mah. So I post in here loh. Must learn more mah.

BTW Happy New Year to you and your family.

Got got..Got recv. Me oversea and auto roam cannot work..sian 1/2.

BTW, most prob I will settle for P2 or P3 (with amp change to at least 800w Monoblock) in the later stage.

if u planning to do an amp chg + sub chg, then i would suggest , do a review, find out wats the end point that u wan, the build to that spec. need not do all at one go... maybe can start off with the ampo chg, as that WOULD certainly benefit your current sub too.

2 cents of cheese

mice

Yes yes...I will do that. Moreover, my wife's brother (brother in law) just bought a GLX Lancer and maybe I can pass him my sub and amp if I change. Like that will not be wasted.

I will let you audit if got time. Whenever I play Zhang Shao Han second track, I will sure hear boo boo sound from behind. Pass the CD and mp3 to my frenz and play in his car. No such problem. I turn off TA, EQ switch to flat and try all slope and crossover also have this issue. My wife also hear it and ask me is my sub spoilt. Guess my sub cannot play low bass. Will Rockford sub spoilt the SPL? I mean the bass more harsh? I did audit P3 before and the bass is quite strong at the low side.

3 cents of cheese..

Edited by Gdspd08