Latka 1st Gear July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 On 2/7/2008 at 5:24 AM, Ysc3 said: 1 yr contract - comms of half month rent ?? fwah !! last yr i sign 1 yr contract with my tenant... but the agent collected half month frm me and half month from my tenant !! Last year no law against double representation. This year have. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 Either u take a risk with the tenant...taking monthly rent without a contract for 3 months. Then resign again after 3 months...that should break the renewal condition for the agent definition. Just pray your agent is not pursue the matter. Sometimes I find the agent argument quite far fetch in their quest to get the perpetual commission form homeowners. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryosuke 1st Gear July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 you / the tenant are the agent's customer and the ones paying them, you can renew the lease to the tenant without notifying the agent, also don't bother about the clause in the papers, it's written as such to scare you/tenant into paying extra $ for them so they can keep earning bit of $ from UN-suspecting victims. at the end of day, if the agent really got so much $ and time to take you/tenant to court, you can just say "i am not leasing to the 'tenant', he's your friend and you don't charge him a single cents for staying at your place but must co-ordinate with your tenant lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ciera Neutral Newbie July 26, 2011 Share July 26, 2011 On 7/25/2011 at 3:37 PM, Ryosuke said: at the end of day, if the agent really got so much $ and time to take you/tenant to court, you can just say "i am not leasing to the 'tenant', he's your friend and you don't charge him a single cents for staying at your place but must co-ordinate with your tenant lah. It is possible to do that, also very few agents really take it to court unless it really involves a lot of cash. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 26, 2011 Share July 26, 2011 On 2/6/2008 at 3:37 AM, Mcf1 said: Appreciate some kind soul here could advice me regarding renewing the lease? My current tenant's lease due soon and they intent to renew the lease, but they do not want to involve any agent, the problem is I checked back the clause and it stated that any renew of lease will have to pay another commission to the same agent again. what should I do now? Thanks yeah the agents are sly, they always insert such clause in without your knowing. to me, if tenant/landlord renew lease is not a result of their work, why should they share in it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie July 26, 2011 Share July 26, 2011 On 2/6/2008 at 6:54 AM, Nohnemwan said: Appreciate some kind soul here could advice me regarding renewing the lease? My current tenant's lease due soon and they intent to renew the lease, but they do not want to involve any agent, the problem is I checked back the clause and it stated that any renew of lease will have to pay another commission to the same agent again. what should I do now? Thanks Why you think in straight line only? Check the lease - made between you and the existing tenant, yes? Let the lease expire. Get ready another lease (which incidentally looks exactly like the old one except without the agent's name). Execute the new lease between you (or your wife, if the property is in both names) and the tenant's wife, son, dog, goldfish whatever. doesnt work that way. at the end of the old lease the tenant has to physically move out so agent can sign off and return deposits. even if they waited a few weeks then moved back in the agent legally would be owed the fee as they made the original introduction Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hardworker17 Neutral Newbie July 31, 2011 Share July 31, 2011 What's the best lease that you got so far? _________________________________________________________________________ Car leasing is the cheaper way to get a car without long term commitment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged July 31, 2011 Share July 31, 2011 On 2/7/2008 at 7:05 AM, Ultramega said: 1/2 month each from landlord and tenant that is correct. dun worry you didnt kanna chop. Right, the law has not taken place from CEA in 08, so it's fair for agent to collect half your LL and half from Tenant Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged July 31, 2011 Share July 31, 2011 There is no way as Landlord and tenant to cohort together for not paying renewal comms, it was from the 1st agent that she introduced tenant to Landlord 's apart, legally she will /can find out later and issue a ' letter of demand ', and both of U ( LL ) got to foot plus extra legal cost for jumping the line. A lesson to all Landlords/Tenant, don't save on penny and pounds foolish, thinking in this industry everyone can 'siam', spoiling the market is bad, going round and do funny thing is dirty and trying others scheme is totally uncalled for ( others MCF ) That's why agents undercut one another to procure a deal and all complain to gahmen that agents are the bad hats Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged July 31, 2011 Share July 31, 2011 On 7/25/2011 at 2:58 PM, SimonTan said: Either u take a risk with the tenant...taking monthly rent without a contract for 3 months. Then resign again after 3 months...that should break the renewal condition for the agent definition. Just pray your agent is not pursue the matter. Sometimes I find the agent argument quite far fetch in their quest to get the perpetual commission form homeowners. SURE KENNA CAUGHT WANT !! agent can check your Iras account and report the landlord from evading tax Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear July 31, 2011 Share July 31, 2011 Folks... this was a 3yr ago thread ... Lease probably had renewed AND expired again already ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...