MayBank:Disappointment

Turbonetics

i wish to share with you my encounter with Maybank on the use of Cash Deposit Machine(CDM).

please bear with me for my long composition and give me your advises,thanks.thumbsup.gif

i withdrew $3000 from UOB to be banked in to Maybank on 12/01/08(Saturday) at around 3pm.

some of the $50 notes were new notes and i had guessed the CDM might not be able to accept it and i was really right.i had to crampled up those rejected notes and in total i did 5 transactions at the CDM.

the last transaction of 2 pcs of $50 notes were not deposited and the CDM went out of service(my $100 is stuck inside) and i received a receipt showing **Transcaction Suspected**.Immediately i used the phone beside the CDM to make call to the Customer Service Officer(CSO).and it took about 10-15mins before someone picked up my call.i told him about what had happened and he asked me to leave first and he will send someone down to check and he will get back to me after 2-3 working days.

on the following Monaday(14/01/08) i went down to the same CDM again to deposit more cash but it was still out of service.the next day,i went down again to update my passbook and realised that there was a $100 deposited and yet again withdrew dated on 15/01/08(Tuesday).I called the CSO on wednesday to ask why was the money deposited and withdrew again.he told me that they double checked and there wasn't excess money inside.he told me to give them some time to do further investigation.i was very patience and had confident that they will be able to retrieve back my $100.in between,i had a few times of conversation with the CSO and most of the replies were negative to me.

until yesterday 04/02/08,i received a call from another CSO telling me that they confirmed do not have excess money in the CDM.iam starting to lose hope this time.i asked her who is going to answered for my $100?i told her my money is lost in your premises.she kept telling me no excess money(seems like trying to push the blame back to me).seems like Maybank only covers their own backside and don't care where my money goes to?she told me that they checked with engineer and confirmed that once the machine is out of service,the "door" will not open until someone went for servicing.she told me that on that particular day(12/01/08) cisco officer went down to checked on the CDM at around 5pm plus(remember on monday it was still not working?it might not be done by me,but the possibilites is still there).

after 15-20mins of conversation,i asked her if iam able to view the record and CCTV and she said she has to check.she asked me back:"if the record does not shows excess,will i stop pursuing this matter?"WTF?furious.gif

$100 is not a big sum afterall,but iam really disappointed with such service from a bank.

do you still dare to use Maybank service?do you still dare to use CDM again?unimpressed.gif

below are my transaction receipts.

post-15-1202178922_thumb.jpg

post-15-1202178923_thumb.jpg

post-15-1202178924_thumb.jpg

post-15-1202178925_thumb.jpg

Edited by Turbonetics

its maybank ley... my has done it during CLOB... so its pretty normal isz?? ask for the cso's manager or something... if not go to the bank and bang table...

Back then .... there is once that I withdraw $90 from a DBS/POSB ATM ....

Guess what ... out came ... $82 (1 x $50, 3 x $10, 1 x $2) .... I called them ... and they just gave me back the difference.

Talk to someone of much higher authority...... threaten to go to the press..... talking to those CSOs will get you nowhere.... [rolleyes] If necessary, pop down to the nearest brach & lodge a complaint .....

yo man, i had experienced with maybank CDMs before when i used them to pay for CC bills. sometimes they reject notes. try a few times, still reject. but mine was small amounts.

for yours, perhaps it would be better to deposit thru the counters.

i always had reservations about these CDMs. now i pay all my bills thru AXS-nets machines. save me the trouble to take out cash and bank it in again.

i suggest you go in person and talk to the officers in charged since you had the receipts with you. and ask to view the CCTV footage. maybe now is CNY period and they will try to push it after the CNY. very weird terms as "transaction suspected". maybe ask them what does it mean and what happens to the cash in this case.

good luck on your pursue with them and let us know of the outcome.

The name says it all liao mah.... MAY-Bank. So your $$$ maybe or maybe not banked in [laugh]

Or perhaps the $100 kena shredded [sweatdrop]

Jokes aside..... could the $100 be rejected between the time u left the premise and the next guy comes along?

Hopefully, u get your $$$ back

Maybe you should have banged on the machine, till some security personnel from the bank comes down...... at least you'd have witnesses and hopefully they open up the machine on the spot. [:p]

just curious, have you faxed in the receipts to them?

the CSO asked me to fax over the recepit that shows "Transaction Suspected" and i did faxed over.

the girl CSO said the recepit shows $0 means no money was inside.furious.gif

i feel that she is indirectly trying to say i already took away the money.

on saturday at 3pm,the counter was closed.

i deposit many times using UOB CDM,i do get rejected notes especially if those notes are new ones or notes that are folded.

but never ever got money stucked inside before.

i also use AXS to make payments of my bills and i always keep the receipts as a record.

i don't know if the CCTV will be helpful or not as it was behind and i think the angle cannot see if other people had taken the money or not.but iam still waiting for them to reply me if iam able to view the footage.

yes,most probably it will be after CNY liao.anyway,iam prepared to forgo this $100 but iam not satisfied that iam not being given an answer as to where my money goes to.confused.gif

May bank or May not bank in.laugh.gif

so i kena May not bank in.laugh.gif

i raised out this possibility to the girl CSO who called me yesterday,and she is firm with her answer that the engineer confirmed that it will not opened up after out of service.

then i said could it be the cisco officer who came for servicing took it(in my heart i was joking),she became annoyed and asked me not to anyhow say as their job is their rice bowl.would they lose their job because of $100?i was thinking in my heart anything could be possible.

and i replied to her "then you mean i took back the money?"and she kept quiet.furious.gif

i did not take back the money.

the record shows no excess money in the CDM.

so the money can disappear by itself?hur.gif

Edited by Turbonetics

Just wondering that if no $$$ is put in the machine, why is there an entry of $100 deposited? Why is it $100 and not any other value?

These machines are smart enough to tell if you put ZERO dollars inside. $$$ handling machines goes off-line when the $$$ don't tally. As the bulk of the machine is mechanical, it is very likely that the $$$ is physically stuck somewhere.

i don't really get what you mean.

after my 4th transaction,i had left with 2 pcs of $50 notes.

on my 5th(last) transaction,i put the 2 pcs of notes inside.

suddenly the screen shows "out of service" and there came my last receipt which says "Transaction Suspected"

yah..give them jialat jialat... [thumbsdown]

most importantly, did you take down the officer name??

den later they cannot deny they never make such comment... [:/]

Simply, in order for your passbook to show the $100 transaction, the machine has to mechanically count 2pcs of $50 or 10pcs of $10.

The cash deposit slot would need to be closed before counting can occur. After it closes, remained closed and the machine goes "out of service" and locks up, the responsibilities is with the bank - no argument needed.

The CSO can says all he/she wants... you're not there when the open the machine for service, anything can happen. If argue too long, just ask them to explain how the $100 comes about.

BTW, which brand is the cash deposit machine?

Edited by Kklee