Help Needed! Where to buy frozen fish?

Sirbrian

Hi bros and sis...PLS HELP!,

My mum just told me that she caught an episode of Heartland Getawaya on Ch5 few days ago, and it showed a shop owned by an ang mo PR who imports frozen fishes especially those of cods and salmons. To bad my mum as always can't remember the exact address bu just told me it is in Woodlands.

As my the other hald has just finished a major operation and "needs" to eat fishes daily. I was hoping to stock up for the CNY.

Hope you all can help, where is this shop all about? Or do you have any other recommendations.

Bro frozen cods and other fishes soles etc can be found at cold storage..

BUT!

For wound healing dont take all these fish...

Go market and get the snake heads... or u can go fish for some..

those are great for healing wounds..

and cheaper...

is it snakehead?

Yes. Other name is Toman.

TOMAN has bad eating qualities..and that's not snake head ..it's GIANT Snake head

for the regular/ common Snake Head it's called HARUAN the Channa striatus and used for post ops...

THIS IS HARUAN

cws14.jpg

THIS IS TOMAN

giant_snakehead_5.jpg

the ts needs to tell us what kind of fish exactly he is looking for, cos i don t think you can find fresh salmon in this region.

snakeheads the best......

next can go for groupa, red snappers, promfets....

no need salmon and cod fishes...

anyway, FYI, cod fishes are cheapo fishes in their original countries.... down there, local ppl take and throw them away.....

they bring cod fishes to asian countries and market them as premium fishes.... [pirate][pirate]

eat good local fishes are good enough for yr wife........

but fresh fish also can't keep too long. Can eat them within a day or 2.

the frozen fishes meat are also pretty fresh as them are extremely quick frozen immediately after cut either on board the ship or factorcy where there are exported. This is what I was told by my friend who used to work in a oil rig out in the open sea. They always receive their "fresh" fish frozen.

Anyway where is this shop in pasir ris?

Bro, sorry for the late reply, this shop closed down in my absence.

But, my place here got 1 that sell live fish, 181 trading at sungei kadut area. the uncle sells live tioman (snake head), grouper (breed) and others.

personally, if yr missus don't hv sensitive nose and taste buds, ok to get breed fish instead of wild. but since she has ops for cancer, might i suggest u stock up fresh fish.

since u r buying in bulk, go to jurong fishery port, get it from there but hv to trouble yr mother-in-law as they don't scale the fish. that is why they are cheaper than getting from market.

btw, bukit gombak there got 1 market where the fishes are generally cheaper. my fren staying at jurong west extension actually goes all the way there to get her fishes. it is kinda of a community secret amongst their race. she pichar her lobang 1 time when we were complaining abt where to get cheap n fresh fish in the west.

Edited by Qpik

So I'm suppose to get Haruan aka Channa striatus?

I went to Giant Tampines Yesterday and don't see them leh...dunno if Sheng Siong has them?

I actually wanted to stock up lots of frozen cods and salmon and other fishes that are good for my missus to recuperate from her surgery.

I can buy in bulk leh as fridge not big enough.

You mentioned that Tioman is also call snake head.

But another bro her also mentioned the regulare snake head call Haruan aka Channa Striatus too. And infact Channa Striatus is the fish use in the Fish Essence bottles.

So is Channa Striatus = Snake Head = Shang Yu?

Edited by Sirbrian

eh sry ah.. i dono the scientific name for tioman. i just know how to eat n love to fish them. they can put up a good fight.

brudder where u stay ah? my ah jie patronised this stall in outram park, the fishes there fresh and reasonably-priced even for Norway Salmon. u want i can ask her to get the contact.