Highwaycode Neutral Newbie January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 Wed, Jan 30, 2008 The Straits Times 2 poly students killed in horrific car crash Two others were injured when their car plunged into a ditch and hit tree along Old Upper Thomson Road. Two polytechnic students died when the car they were in plunged into a ditched and hit a tree along Old Upper Thomson Road late on Tuesday night. They were the rear passengers, identified as Mr David Li, 18, and Mr Mervin Teo, 19. The driver and his front passenger, aged 19 and 20, were injured and they had to be extricated from the wrecked Mitsubishi Lancer by rescuers. They were taken to Singapore General Hospital. The four were believed to be students of Nanyang Polytechnic. The horrific crash happened at 11.45 pm as the car was travelling along Old Upper Thomson Road towards the Seletar Expressway. It is not known if the two rear passengers who died were wearing seat belts. Anyone with information on the accident can call the traffic police at 1800-547-1818. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 Wah scary. How they drive unrtil like that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 (edited) The Lancer looks in a very bad shape My condolences to the 2 whom had Edited January 30, 2008 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 old upper thomson road? is it the devil's bend? to be frank there nothing much so long u dun over-confident wif ur abilities. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 must have turtled .... *sigh* ...... its becoming so common nowadays tt I just dun feel "sad" after reading or hearing ......... ahhhh, the perils of cheap car ownership ...... & over-sized egos .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 Also the parents spoil the kids tragic outcome, buy car for them to drive and enjoy life but ended up being killed by the car the parent bought for them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vince69 Neutral Newbie January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 yah lor, that's my first thought as well... cause it says leading to SLE, and also the ditch part, sounds like they driving inside, which is where devil bend is... unless reporter make mistake and is refering to upper thomason road instead and the ditch is actually a drain or something) I drove through that road (a bit insane) before (around midnight), have to highbeams all the way... cause very foggy and very dark (certain part, street lights covered by trees) too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakuii 1st Gear January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 Take note that the driver did not die, only the rear passengers died. 19 yrs old drive car for what? They should be learning to use public transport instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncp91 1st Gear January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 Want to play, please go to race track. Trees are unforgiving. I wonder what excuse the driver will come up with, first to be driving on that road, and then crashing the car (which suggests that he was speeding and/or lost control). He will have to live with the fact two lives were lost in his hands. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maersk1 1st Gear January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 bro...can see this is a young driver with less driving experience, I bet he might be speeding and lost control of his car during sharp cornering, over confident i guess...oh man, we had lost another two innocence lifes.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 oh no..the eerie place. who was the feller who got the 2nd sighting of teksi ahpek racing with him? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chaihot5 Neutral Newbie January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 True to that, i think the Government should up the age limit of person getting license. Nowadays kids are so pamper with stuff they tend to get complacent with things. Not like kids in the 80's who treasure things with their life... Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 That stretch if I am not wrong is 70 speed limit. Sometimes see TP there also. Long straight road, minimal traffic early morning/late night. always very tempted to go faster than speed limit but I always take my foot off accelerator at the end, even if road is empty. Wonder if the driver was speeding? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Herong Neutral Newbie January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 wah, i think he must have thought that was a race track and his lancer was a evo, somemore taking 3 passengers, inresponsible driver. i usually don't take the old upper thomson road, errie, at night also the road visibility is not there due to fog and etc, take the main road better, wider Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 Hiazzzz.......what an unnecessary lost of lives. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 never tried driving there. only went by tat road as a passenger in a old sch ford van. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freakman Neutral Newbie January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 oh no... not again!!! how many case already??!!!??!! someone got to do something to stop this trend from growing man... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 (edited) but it depends really ...... I was fortunate enough to have my own car when I just passed. My parents bought me a tiny Fiat Uno tt struggles to reach 120 .... and I'm still in one piece !! he he he. nowadays, just pass easily drive 1.6L or even 2.0L car ....... ANd its auto, just step & go .... no chance to learn about engine brake or to explore what your car can or cannot do .... I think its really different generation lah. Last time I got car oredi feel " sart sart". now everyone got car, so must compete with turbo, BHP, BBK ( even got family car drivers installing BBK), whose spoiler bigger etc etc). its pure EGO i tink, they all think they are KING or the roads ...... only realised their mistake they find out no vehicle can "win" the road Edited January 30, 2008 by Othello ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...