Difference between idling & timing??

Freakman

What's the difference between these 2??

i notice that my car 'idling' will drop after certain period, and have to tune up the idling point a bit inorder to maintain the same rpm, else it will be too low and it will vibrate too much...and also once the rpm drop below 1K, the fan vibration sound will be heard(mostly at night when headlight is on)...

i am driving an old swife, with 3 piston engine. i know it will vibrate but sometime the idling needle will drop to near dead and suddenly jump back again... this is especially so when traffic jam.

for info: engine mounting changed, throttle body not in good condition (as told by mechanic), spark plug new, aircon compressor changed, hmmm what else?? cant remember also.

Any good ideas??

My old marchie also lidat, got used to it liao. Just tap the accelerator if it really vibrate until very jialat. Engine retune is able to this problem but it will come back after a short while.

buy a carb cleaner n spray clean ur throttle body....

other possiblities include worn shaft/lobe in the distributor, can cause iradict idling.

idling is talking abt the engine rev at idle mode(non-load & non-working)

timing is talking abt the ignition firing degree... either advance or retard, adjusted via turning the distributor housing. u will need a timing gun to get a precise timing adjustment.

no need leh.. i saw my mech only use spanner adjusting somewhere near the engine compartment there and can feel the 'breathing' of the engine sound more stable leh...

as for my throttle body..i get it clean up frequently leh...

now got somemore problem, my idling can drop to near 0 (dead) but able to bounch back to normal rpm 1.1K, this is esp when in stopping at traffic light...

check ur vaccum hoses..... if harden, replace them, ur Idle control for Aircon may be leaking or out of tune

ur mech is probably adjusting the idling screw...

ok thanks bro...

ya my mech did always adjust the idle nuts....

i will get him to check the rest of the item..