Zanter 3rd Gear January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 Ok a recession may be on the horizon. Maybe not this year in SG but perhaps next depending on how steep the US recession. So how prepared are you if you lose your job? Can sell off car (hopefully dont have to top-up) and survive on your savings for how long? Recommended buffer is at least 6 months salary cos that the estimated time to find another job albeit lower pay. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 From the way the newspaper write....seems like big recession is not going to happen. Maybe small small ones that will recover quickly. Newspaper reported that we have to thanks that French guy from SG bank for creating an early alarm, in forcing the US Fed suddenly cut interest rates, and thys saving the WORLD from recession! I only hope to buy cheap cars and house when recession comes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear January 30, 2008 Author Share January 30, 2008 (edited) I think maybe u meant politician huh? . Well ppl must say good things so consumer spending will continue and confidence for businesses will remain, however no denying that the US who are the world biggest consumer are facing tough times. China market as well as emerging stock markets have been hit. Now the question is, "How deep does the rabbit hole go?" I will tend to agree with Vasu Menon here http://www.todayonline.com/articles/234601.asp Menon is a well respected analyst & I remembered him as being the 1st in Sg that predicted a property rebound few years ago. Edited January 30, 2008 by Zanter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparespares Neutral Newbie January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 ke ke ke.....currently debt free.....so shld be no problem bah.... in fact, my family planning always prepared for recession..... hiaz...that's why did not take adv when upturn was here..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 My only buffer is my body. Recession time I stand at Changi Village at night nia. Still ok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear January 30, 2008 Author Share January 30, 2008 People who drive twin turbo blue & white propeller no need to vote. lt's off the scale liew. I shd have put another option for you which is life time no need to work already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Banban Neutral Newbie January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 if recession then my CO no need work and can be full time maid at home.I'm looking forward to that day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 Wah lau....pay money also dunwan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 wait he go mocca ask u check out his twin turbo and matching leather seats. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 side track just wondered how you manage to spend to mcuch in this forum morning --- most afternoon and definitely evenings admire Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 Ok a recession may be on the horizon. Maybe not this year in SG but perhaps next depending on how steep the US recession. So how prepared are you if you lose your job? Can sell off car (hopefully dont have to top-up) and survive on your savings for how long? Recommended buffer is at least 6 months salary cos that the estimated time to find another job albeit lower pay. 3 years of buffer for me.......I very kiasee..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 3 yrs ! That's nt going to be easy ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 many much meh... no leh. i goto other forums as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 (edited) actually if include selling car , probably 4yrs buffer. If I spend less on my cigars and other non-necessities, then at least 5 yrs buffer. told you i kiasee Edited January 30, 2008 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 U are very prudent sia.. GooD ! Will take U as my role model ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 My only buffer is my body. Recession time I stand at Changi Village at night nia. Still ok tok kok, when recession comes, people will cut down on expenses, they will rather pay the same amount of money get a real girl, or at least some ah gua that put in efford to look like a girl not u for sure, u have not shave your hairly legs for years already! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 CB I shaved my balla already. My kar and kar chng also shaved liao. Now shiny shiny goot goot one. Not as if I gonna show you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged January 30, 2008 Share January 30, 2008 Wah lau....pay money also dunwan I only give to you foc my lovely blackie ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...