Constant light-foot to save FC. Consequences...

Friendstar

I heard bros here said it'll destroy the engine in the long run.

I believe that the definition of light-footedness means accelerating below 3k rpm.

Will it really harm the engine? anyone bros here wanna comment?

I heard bros here said it'll destroy the engine in the long run.

I dun think so. So long as u drive it almost everyday, it'll be fine. Maybe the tip of the fuel injectors get clogged with carbon and get not so good FC.

Is it an urban myth or truth?

Seldom rev engine = accumulate carbon?

Many friends have advised me to VTEKKK every now and then to clear carbon.

Think more or less should be the truth [nod][nod][nod]

After lutting at constant high RPM particularly after cheonging at NS Highway, you'll feel that your ride would be lively as compared before [rolleyes][rolleyes][rolleyes]

That's the problem with ppl. Tell story tell only half, say carbon accumulation but never say where. [laugh]

Usually carbon particles accumulate around the tip of the fuel injectors.

Deposits can also occur on the fuel injectors which impede fuel delivery. Instead of a vaporized mist that ignites readily at ignition, deposits on the injector tip can cause a stream of fuel that dribbles into the combustion chamber in a liquid rather than a vaporized state. Since the liquid will not burn, the raw unburned fuel leaves the engine through the exhaust system . The wasted unburned fuel reduces power, performance and economy.

This applies for both diesel and petrol injectors.

post-1-1201570807.jpg

post-1-1201570808.jpg

in the morning crush to work i'm usually operating below 2k rpm. and that's on a 1.1 liter

but highly advised to "clear carbon" every week or so. i usually clear carbon everyday [sly][sly]

don't need to waste fuel la. just rev to high RPM in 1st and 2nd good enuff liao, without incurring too much risk of TP [pirate]. i say this cos i know some pple clear carbon by dragging on the highway in 4th or 3rd [dizzy]. no point

use fuel injector cleaners lor. e.g. redline [flowerface]

i don't really dig additives though i have a free supply of Uniglide fuel additive tablets. I'm just using them because it costs me nothing and as preventive measure

Is it an urban myth or truth?

Seldom rev engine = accumulate carbon?

Many friends have advised me to VTEKKK every now and then to clear carbon.

Its true. My friend never Vtec his stream and now the vtec need to be replace, although the car still can drive.