Spherex 1st Gear January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 Hi, Just wondering is there some unwritten rules where: - A quick flash of highbeam means "yes, i see you, and i am giving way to you, please go ahead." - A long flash is means "fu** you. do you know how to drive?" - If the driver is on the opposite lane, a long highbeam is means "traffic police/road block ahead, don't speed!!" (more commonly used in malaysia) My driving teacher long ago never tell me about above unwritten rules.. it's what i deduced after years of driving... so just wondering whether what i deduced is true :) Comments please! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zcold 2nd Gear January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 (edited) A quick flash of highbeam means "yes, i see you, and i am giving way to you, please go ahead." [/color] to me is hello i'm here please note my prsence... - If the driver is on the opposite lane, a long highbeam is means "traffic police/road block ahead, don't speed!!" (more commonly used in malaysia) wait long long in SG .... Edited January 28, 2008 by Zcold Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahliew Neutral Newbie January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 encountered flashes from opp side of the road in SG before. 1st one came from lancer, was wondering what happened, then abit furthur down a taxi flashed too. began to be wary... then right on top of the bridge furthur down was TP with speed cam. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimhow Neutral Newbie January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 i thk if here is europe then wat u say is true. but singaporean becoming more ang mo also mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 - A quick flash of highbeam means "yes, i see you, and i am giving way to you, please go ahead." Not in Singapore lah. - A long flash is means "fu** you. do you know how to drive?" Probably. Maybe worse curse. - If the driver is on the opposite lane, a long highbeam is means "traffic police/road block ahead, don't speed!!" (more commonly used in malaysia) Practice here too...sometimes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imamiah Clutched January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 (edited) i got practice e long high beam from opposite lan in sg leh. quite common mah. Edited January 28, 2008 by Imamiah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holysniper Neutral Newbie January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 how about multiply highbeam flashes.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Circuit Clutched January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 (edited) - A quick flash of highbeam means "yes, i see you, and i am giving way to you, please go ahead." for mi means I'm here and passing fast, dun come in! - A long flash is means "fu** you. do you know how to drive?" to certain extend yesh, and traffic junction is i coming fast... u cross ...u go heaven, or we stuck at there for half hr or so for traffic police to clear accident veh - If the driver is on the opposite lane, a long highbeam is means "traffic police/road block ahead, don't speed!!" (more commonly used in malaysia) v seldom, but i done that quite a few times holysniper: tat means pls keep left, give way (nice way), else pls get out of my way! dun hog the bloody lane Edited January 29, 2008 by Circuit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 There's no verbal meaning. It is a silent vent of frustration only... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyg Clutched January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 Than you will see the driver "Pi Kah Pi Chiu" when you pass by him... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angdao Neutral Newbie January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 Yesterday there was a porche behind me. Cant really make out whether she is flashing me or the road is bumpy. I was on first lane and im not hogging coz she was quite a distance behind and the first lane was actually kinda packed anyway. Can be quite confusing if the road is bumpy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zcold 2nd Gear January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 ooh... i didnt knw... wells thats preety nice practice.... but there might me a tendancy for the car in front to tink 'wtf flash me for wad' ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleWolve Clutched January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 Quote Hi, Just wondering is there some unwritten rules where: - A quick flash of highbeam means "yes, i see you, and i am giving way to you, please go ahead." - A long flash is means "fu** you. do you know how to drive?" - If the driver is on the opposite lane, a long highbeam is means "traffic police/road block ahead, don't speed!!" (more commonly used in malaysia) My driving teacher long ago never tell me about above unwritten rules.. it's what i deduced after years of driving... so just wondering whether what i deduced is true :) Comments please! Same theory as long fart and short fart ... all are fart and ppl who go and smell these two farts are fart heads Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Novestel 1st Gear January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 Quote A quick flash of highbeam means "yes, i see you, and i am giving way to you, please go ahead." to me is hello i'm here please note my prsence... - If the driver is on the opposite lane, a long highbeam is means "traffic police/road block ahead, don't speed!!" (more commonly used in malaysia) wait long long in SG .... might be isolate case. There was one time when I was traveling along the YISHUN LINK towards YISHUN at the SEMBAWANG ROAD junction, one lorry had a not long/short flash in the opposite. I remember reading about this signal that TP might be in front and slow down. Then up front around 600 meters away, two TP at the road side. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Novestel 1st Gear January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 (edited) Quote how about multiply highbeam flashes.. I used to do this when I am traveling on 1st lane at fast speed and the car in front is road hogging. Now I changed, I don't do that anymore. Too many ROAD HOGGER, cannot terminate them all. Edited January 29, 2008 by Novestel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleWolve Clutched January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 heng not gang initiation... if u flashed back the lorry will U-turn and kill you... Pruut Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleWolve Clutched January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 (edited) wah by flashing u actually terminate them... si mi flash??? GAMMA RAY HIGH BEAM? Power sia ..can ionize the car in front ... where to install .... Johor Jaya? Edited January 29, 2008 by UncleWolve Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Novestel 1st Gear January 29, 2008 Share January 29, 2008 No lah, actually flash a few times and that fellow will siam to the centre lane. My car is very very stock. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...