Verve 1st Gear January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 My friend's new car broke down 2 weeks after collection he did not get a replacement vehicle but was promised by the distributor that they will fix the car in 1 day. told him its some electronic issue. - its a korean make. the car must be a hyper lemon and my friend really regreting buying now. is there any recourse for him to ask for a refund. from experience how would you guys handle the situation. any suggestions on whether they can even replace him with another brand new car if refund is not possible. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 guud, normal situation. why u expect the car not to breakdown? after this repair, it sud b ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 I thk it will be very difficult to get a new replacement or refund. The AD will repair it and shld be all right. unless it keep giving problems Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 (edited) Most of the time....the agent will just fixed it under warrenty. No replacement car, especially for a 1 day job....unless it's conti, luxury cars, etc.... But your friend should ask for more if the same problem or car keep breaking down. Edited January 28, 2008 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear January 28, 2008 Author Share January 28, 2008 new car breakdown within 2 weeks is normal ? - your car breakdown every week? !!! of course i expect the car not to break down if its 2 weeks old. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear January 28, 2008 Author Share January 28, 2008 i believe you have heard of the term lemon. my friend is worried that if it breaks dowm so fast, then its gonna be a lemon gone case liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 is normal... within expectation really. just wat most Scientists would call infant mortality where parts died early. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
M1122 Neutral Newbie January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 Ha ha ask for refund or replacement??? This is SG and consumer have no rights. Every now and then you would have read how unhappy owners have to go to court 'cos of defective cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 One breakdown does not qualify to be a 'lemon'. It has to be obviously a lemon before your friend can do something about it....which means lots of breakdown within a reasonable period. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 still too early to classifed as lemon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear January 28, 2008 Author Share January 28, 2008 baaaah really like to see look on faces of customers / bosses / colleagues if i screw up early and blame it on infant mortality. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 well tat bath tub was not drawn by some kachang puteh man... i mean my kachang puteh friend. got scientist draw one. so u dun hv to trust my kachang puteh friend, the toylet janitor or SE or car mech, just trust the scientist lor. not too difficult when u get used to it... failure rate is problem 2-3% mebbe. so he happen to be tat 2-3 % Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boxster 2nd Gear January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 (edited) Haha next time I buy Kar or any electronics appliances I will ask for Demo sets which are cheaper and burn/run in liao Edited January 28, 2008 by Boxster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 depending on what cause the breakdown and if its going to breakdown again often....if problem fix and no more breakdown then I will say it's fine lor....don't happen often...but is not that abnormal.... that's why there this group of people whom say they like to buy cars approx 2 yrs old where usually still have 1 more yr of warranty left...and the previous owner already spend two years sorting out the minor issues...ha ha ha...cheaper also... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taxpayer Neutral Newbie January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 Think should not be a severe problem if it can be fixed within one day. Suggest your friend to "kao pei" the AD if it happens again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ixat 1st Gear January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 Bros, I'm wondering that happens if car is under loan and AD is nice enough to refund car price. But with Rule 78 and whatever penalty, the car price certainly will not cover the full outstanding amount? So technically even if AD willing to refund , it may not be a good idea? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear January 28, 2008 Author Share January 28, 2008 all the electronic stuff fried, i think its the electric circuits fried. this kind of breakdown sure affect other parts, only problem is you need time to discover. when this happened, the car cannot start at all and the fuel gauge although full tank point to e. i think my friend will have alot of sorting out to do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcff_1980 Neutral Newbie January 28, 2008 Share January 28, 2008 get used to it.. korean cars are like that ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...