Toh Yi Drive Sighting

Curahee

I saw an old lady open the rubbish chute door of the HDB flat one by one and go inside to pick those rubbish and put into bag, most probably pick empty can and other useful items to sell. My first time saw such thing and its very sad as we r starting to look like 3rd world country tat ppl seek survival at rubbish dump. I also feel its dangerous if one fine day, one fella dump rubbish into their chute from upper storey and may hit her head. [bigcry] Anyone live in Toh Yi Drive to confirm what i saw?

Dear martian... where have u been... it's happening everywhere in HDBs... old ah ermz go scavenging around rubbish chute/ dumps... recently got Malaysian Van drive in to kio la sup also....That is life my friend ...if u kor lian her ...take her in and feed her .. if not ... what more can u do?

I have seen a couple of times particularly at those older estates whereby there are quite a number of old folks one .... [gossip][gossip][gossip]

I think the gap between the rich & the poor are widening ... [gossip][gossip][gossip]

The rich are si bey rich ones while the poor are the si bey poor ones ... [gossip][gossip][gossip]

What do you mean you are seeing this for the 'first time'?

You must be an : Elite and/or live an very sheltered life all along....there are many of such ppl all over the place...as a mtter of fact, nowadays there are more ppl illegally hawking their wares all over the place besides picking up cans/newspaper/cardboards...persumbly becos times now are hard indeed for many ppl.

The MIWs are not admitting it...but more ppl are falling into debts and cost of living are indeed biting hard into their livelihood.

Why don't you voltunteer your time and serivce in some CDCs and you will indeed 'see' the other side of life you so missed! [;)]

we are 3rd-world country wad.. what made u think any better of our country?

we do know how to put on a good show though. must admit that the airport and the ECP look damn good. [:p]

all one needs is to check out some HDB estates to know the true colours [shakehead]

then again, i'm sure some pple will come in to say that poverty cannot be eradicated so stop complaining [laugh]

I not elite la, really i nv see before ppl open rubbish chute door to pick thing, only see cleaner open only to clear rubbish and clean the chute. But i see many time ppl go those rubbish bin to pick. I live in jurong east old estate also nv see such thing happen before. My first time.

so what did you do?

I usually help out at those old estates at TPY and Bukit Merah to give freebie to old ppl there for an organization. Yestersay juz give out CNY hampers and freebie to them for de jiao organization. This one unable to help as i drive pass and cannot believe what i saw as i nv really see before ppl open rubbish chute door and go inside digging and pick rubbish.

Hi, I can confirm what you saw is true. I saw this old lady before, but not sure if we are refering to the same old lady. She looks very very old to me, maybe around near 80y.o. I see liao, very sad. Me and my wife even got out of our car and help her with her cart. So much for no one will be left behind.

This place is tough lah...only that some poor ppl do have their pride too, you know!...so that when they do it not many ppl get to see it.

Some will pick up from left over in hawker centres to have a meal..others will find wares they find in rubbish chute hoping to sell...many can be found at the Sungei Road flea market....last time mostly elderly now all age group also have.

But then again, some ppl still say more than $2 million a year not enough..need a pay increase! [:/]

well the last time i saw something like that i just pass her some money and ask her not to work for the day lor....

then tried to find her during CNY to pass her angbao but can't find her....

i think if its opening rubbish chute door..... i also never see b4....

but Im damn poor.... bigcry.gifbigcry.gif

i open rubbish cute before but tat's becos smoke was coming up the stack and into my flat. some idiot throw something to lite up...

this happens everywhere, even in japan, US, anywhere.

this type of r/s is like mata n chiart... no chiart where got mata.

if no poor, how to justify 2% gst. somemore got 3% to go till we hit 10%.

better worry abt urself... these few days barber price also increase, hawker food price also increase. buay tahan.

the good news for those who r poor is tat they get the chance to enjoy subsidies lor. those 5354 one sure si jialat jialat.