Wadexu 1st Gear January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 Hi, newbee here, just wondering if I need to use the high beam light when traveling at night in SG. place such as TPE, lentor ave... I did not use this after collecting the new car. however, sometime I feel the oncoming light is so strong, it make me can't see clearly. Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Libox88 Neutral Newbie January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 No lah, unless the roads are extremely dark and got lots of curves. By the way, are u from PRC ?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 Use lor, as long as dont irriate other road users can already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chemz Clutched January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 i don't think there's a problem with your car or the street lightings. do u happen to suffer from astigmatism? i think that's what's causing the excess glare that you're seeing now. singapore road lights esp on the major roads are brightly lit enough that even turning on the main headlamps is pretty insignificant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 high beaming won;'t help reduce glare from oncoming traffic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 still need main beam. sometimes i see joker using just their position lights.. very hard to see from behind in SG, lights are only to be seen. on NSH, u will need it both to be seen and to see with Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 sometime I feel the oncoming light is so strong, it make me can't see clearly. and use high beam will solve the problem? i dun tink so right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chemz Clutched January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 yup agreed, our main headlamps basically serve to inform surrounding vehicles/pedestrians. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 Why do you need to use high beam unless it's those ulu ulu no street lamps roads? The road are pretty well lighted up mah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 Unless you're travelling along Jln Mempurong or other ulu areas without street lamps, u don't really need the highbeam. Besides, u'll affect other road users just as you felt blinded yourself when oncoming traffic uses the highbeam Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wadexu 1st Gear January 25, 2008 Author Share January 25, 2008 Yes. I am suffering from astigmatism. but I suppose the glass have corrected it. Am I right? Then I know main headlamps is good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wadexu 1st Gear January 25, 2008 Author Share January 25, 2008 That's what my wife exactly did. She totally forget it as the TPE is so bright. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
T_orange Neutral Newbie January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 If you use high beam light, you may blind the oncoming traffic. I only use high beam in dark places or places with very poor lighting. In m'sia I heard, many drivers drive with high beam, cos' street lighting is near absent in some parts. In Singapore, you high beam, people may get offended. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 even then when u meet oncoming car, still must switch off high beam.. that's the usual practice in MY, basic road courtesy in fact Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 Why do you need to use high beam unless it's those ulu ulu no street lamps roads? That's why your avatar is super-lowbeam If highbeam oncoming traffic is sure Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adawang 1st Gear January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 Why do you need to use high beam unless it's those ulu ulu no street lamps roads? The road are pretty well lighted up mah... yes, agree , high beam only on roads without street lamps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 (edited) Even travelling in dark ulu places with street lamp, should off high beam once you know the incoming vehicles noticed you in order not to blind them.. lorry or big bus.. in case they collide head on.. *uppz* We should hardly need to switch on high beam here as it is so bright.. unless in a series of sharp bend.. (remember to off the high beam when opp can see alrdy).. flash warning at traffic junctions.. flash hoggers.. sala kuku.. SP no power.. Edited January 25, 2008 by Togas Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 Maybe the driber wear shades at nite ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...