What are the real differences??? bet Song Dao Cai Cai Zi & Song Hui Jiao???

Elixir

[:/] as in between Jap cars and korean cars? Why am I always discouraged by majority from buying korean cars? Do you face this dilemma as well? As a new bird, can I trust the 'hear-say' of pple who keep tell me that korean cars have no reliability at all because it's so cheap (one even use the word 'dirt-cheap'? how do u define reliability? after 5 years gots lots of problems????

1)cheaper - of course, always cheaper but why har??? because no airbags or fewer pple wants to buy because lousier so must 'attract' pple to buy?

2) Fuel consumption - info gathered here, seems to be the worst, pple keep saying consume like water. can the difference of 5-10k really justify this factor of korean cars drinking more fuel as in can spend the diff to buy fuel??

3) Not reliable - cannot compare to Jap cars. Cannot afford ex jap cars should go for Nissan sunny at least or even suzuki or daihatsu cos' Jap cars are always better. Is that really true??? or is it just like fashion and electronics whereby we are already paying a premium for well-known brands whereby brandname is already built by dumping $$$$ on marketing and advertising???? Samsung and LG might be cheaper than Sony and Panasonic but are the former necessary more inferior??

How to make stand? [confused][confused][confused]

[:)][:)][:)]

korean are always cheaper, but parts are more expensive and that is a fact too. consumption is indeed higher too for certain models.

but if you were to ask me, i will say you make a stand based on your on likings and budget. if you really prefer a car that people do not like but you love and you are paying for it, why then should you care abt it? most impt thing is you are happy.

Most of those comments have their truths, but it is also up to you to judge what you want and need.

Some of the people like to put down Korean or some lower end Continental cars, saying they break down easily after 3 years....Ha....but these same people also change their japanese car after 3 years......so what's the logic of paying more for something that you never get to enjoy it?

Some like to go back to dwell on historical faults of certain marques of car and say this car breaks down easily. Then you need to judge how biased is this person....One fella can say during the 80s, this brand of car breaks down frequently so he is not buying this car now.....Haha....what good is dwelling on a 15year old history of a particular brand of car?

Some old fogey can say he hate the door of continental cars being heavy. I don't know how people judge quality, but to me, a solid heavy chair, table or door or wardrobe, gives me more feel of quality than a light chair, table or door or wardrobe.

1)Its true Jap cars are more reliable and also more expensive than korean cars. But bottomline is how much difference are the prices you talking about, how much difference is the omv and hence scrap value....Also note that although between a jap car and a korean car, the difference in price might only be say $5K, the absolute difference will be much greater taking into consideration the compounding effect of interest.......Of course jap car will have higher resale value.....then another factor will need to be considered - ie your holding period of the car

2)True, Korean engines still lags behind jap engines.....But if you quantify the additional fuel cost you will spend on korean cars, it might not necessarily mean a lot of difference to you......here you will need to consider your travel pattern

3)Reliability - yes they will lose out.....but again when will the breakdowns start to put you off? Like I say, if you plan to change car every 3 years, then what's the problem with getting a korean car? and anyway, hyundai may not have a fantastic reputation in the early 90s.....but so far i have hear anything that bad about them in the 2000s......so sometimes you have to take what you hear from some people with a pinch of salt

Branding is a marketing tool, sometimes it makes sense of its price, sometimes it doesn't. Its up to you to decipher which brand at which price is most suitable for you.

I have been through that dilema before... Choosing between a Toyota Corolla (Jap) VS Hyundai Sonata (Korean) cars.... Trust me, its not easy to choose between them.... My previous car is a G7 Toyota Corolla which was driven to scrap (10 years old liao) for me, but it does also have it's fair share of problems... Typically for older cars, esp after 5 years old any car, whether it's Jap, Conti, Korean, UFO, etc...

1) Cheaper - Humm, well i would say it all depends on the company's pricing strategy... All new products to the market will have to be priced competivitly in order to break into the already mature, saturated market like Toyota, Mit, Mercedes, etc.... For example, Sunny may not be that inferior to Corolla, but in order to attract customers to even consider the car... considering the current price-sensitive market.

2) Fuel consumption - Very unfortunably speaking, korean car are generally more thirsty than their jap counterpart basically due 2 key points, which is older engine design (no VTTI, no VTEC stuff) and solid shell (not like tin can corolla)... Which basically results in the thristness... Well, my Sonata is giving me avg 10km/l.. which is rather normal for 2 litre car... as compared to cerfiro, camry which is $15k to $25k more expensive... I dunt drive that much, so I dunt belive that the fuel consumption difference would be in the range of $15k difference....

3) Not reliable - Ask what one of the bro has mentioned, cannot use last decade's comments in current decade is right.... People improved, so do their products... Anyway, hyundai started off using Mit engine technology... In one of the recent consumer report, toyota got the first with honda/hyundai joint second for reliability.... So what does that mean? Other jap model like mazda, mit is not even in the top 3....

Hi Old birds here,

Thanks for all the golden advice. You all seems to get A1 for English is it? Very fluent leh....... especially the use of technical terms. Actually, I'm sort looking for some encouragement here and seems like I found some. It all boils down to $$$$$ for me you see so korean cars make sense for me at the age of 27 and dun earn that much, don't have the 'liao (4)' yet to buy more expensive car yet. I'm just glad that I can own something of 4 wheels, get what I mean.

Wintersonata,

My uncle is driving a sonata too and he is pretty satisfied with it. I consulted him as well on my decision to buy korean car now instead of waiting for 2-3 years more to save up and maybe become more affluent.

I missed my latest COE bid again and I have decided not to wait anymore SO I'm going for Getz instead. Main reasons being also that road tax is cheaper and insurance is cheaper too compared to 1.6 Matrix. Plus, save on fuel too so overall, I guess why not Getz? Going down to Komoco to settle it. Impatient pple like, timing the COE is a hell of a torture........last but not least, my parents actually prefer Getz when we brought them to the showroom last time...so why not?????