Spider Neutral Newbie January 23, 2008 Share January 23, 2008 (edited) Hi all, fed-up with my china-made DVD touch screen player.....and also i got no idea why it can not tune to class 95 !!! (always jump from 94.9 to 95.1) what is the cheapest alternative for a banded DVD touch-screen ? my audio shop offer me S$450 trade-in of current HU with JVC 800 at S$1250 (b4 trade-in).....he said that's the cheapest ? i still need to folk out another S$800....:( is there any other better cheaper alt ? eg. Kenwood etc ? or if i buy oversea cheaper ? (friend is going US)...... Basically i just need a better 2-din screen that can hook-up to my existing reverse cam, roof-monitor, i-pod....... thanks ! Edited January 23, 2008 by Spider ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinworkx Clutched January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 (edited) Your radio problem could be some setting on the player. It might have been made for the US market which do not have even number radio frequencies. All the HU in the US only have odd numbers...so your player might be on a US setting or it was meant for US only. So getting your friend to buy fro the US will put you back to square one on the radio problem :) In any case, China players weren't made to be your primary HU... If you are using a 2DIN player then no choice but to buy a better one like JVC,Pioneer,Alpine,Kenwood etc..all are over $1k. China made players are cheap...I recent;y just ordered one from China at $400+ so trade in at $450 is already a very good price... Some points to note though.... China made players can play all formats and some even play Divx,Avi etc...and has TV Tuner built in... Branded players do not have all these capabilities...they just play CDs and DVDs So if you are the kind that burns Avis to watch in the car, then those branded players are out of the question.. For myself, my primary player is my Pioneer P80...my China DVD is connected via Aux to the P80 and is on only when i need it to be.... I chose a China player (my 2nd set already) because it plays everything, has a TV tuner and has USB support for external HDD so i dun have to burn anything to a DVD :) It has all the features branded players don't and at 1/3 of the price...only problem is don't expect it to be a primary player as it doesn't have much EQ or tuning capabilities.. So you need to weigh you options and what you use the player for mostly...and if it's better to get a new DVD or just get a good HU and aux into it... Edited January 24, 2008 by Spinworkx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 dats a great idea..but how did u squeeze a 2din & a 1 din in ur car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spider Neutral Newbie January 24, 2008 Author Share January 24, 2008 hey...in that case will demand the audio shop to fix my freq set ! btw, what china brand u got ? i really can not tahan the GUI, may be change to a better china make w/o top up...sound is ok as i have transfer a tweeter and component.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carfreakz Clutched January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 bro, there r quite a no of cheaper DVD HU in e market..... personally....i do not hv...but my bro have been tis lilliput for the past 3yrs...n recently upgraded 2 a newer lilliput.....he is quite happy wif his HU.... e only setback is e HU does nt support ipod..... my bro told mi he went SLT, n e HU is only 650....... frm wat i noe there is another brand AVIX....not bad oso..but no sure whether is made in china or taiwan..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spinworkx Clutched January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 I didn't :) Both are 1DIN.. MY China player got no brand one...i bought direct OEM from the Manufacturer... Although they have a 2DIN version with built in GPS that works in Singapore...unfortunately it's 2DIN, if not i confirm get that one liao...i can only use 1DIN... I considered Liliput but they dun have 1DIN and not TV tuner and can't play Avi files.. Avix i saw but never tested.. ANyways, most of these players are over $600 Diret from china is only $400+ and alot more features....i dun use it as my primary player and don't use it often anyways, so no need to be soooo good for me la :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Powercolt Neutral Newbie January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Noted that this AVIX brand has been selling quite cheap. With optional warranty some more... From this yahoo auction site: http://sg.auctions.yahoo.com/sg/i:AVIX%20A...creen:250495738 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carfreakz Clutched January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 support ipod leh.....but made in????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Powercolt Neutral Newbie January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 (edited) Nowadays even Alpine, Pioneer and JVC sets are coming from China to lower costs. I wouldnt expect at this price its coming from US or Japan. Should be Taiwan or China. Anyway most Singaporeans keep their cars for only max 5 years. Edited January 24, 2008 by Powercolt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgetzzzzzzzzz Neutral Newbie January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Quote Hi all,fed-up with my china-made DVD touch screen player.....and also i got no idea why it can not tune to class 95 !!! (always jump from 94.9 to 95.1) what is the cheapest alternative for a banded DVD touch-screen ? my audio shop offer me S$450 trade-in of current HU with JVC 800 at S$1250 (b4 trade-in).....he said that's the cheapest ? i still need to folk out another S$800....:( is there any other better cheaper alt ? eg. Kenwood etc ? or if i buy oversea cheaper ? (friend is going US)...... Basically i just need a better 2-din screen that can hook-up to my existing reverse cam, roof-monitor, i-pod....... thanks ! Sony A1 top-up 700 Sony W1 top-up 900 Price with absorb GST. COD TERMS. Unit with 1year warranty local set. Retail Unit price at least $1500. Please Check Sony website for future details. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Janet_jay Neutral Newbie January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Brother Gad., brand new? where to meet up and have a look? am really interested. thanks buddy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ias2007 Neutral Newbie January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 is there a unit that has all in one GPS/DVD and can display image from reverse camera Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spider Neutral Newbie January 24, 2008 Author Share January 24, 2008 have...the avix one lor.... my china brand also can...but GUI suck big time.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spider Neutral Newbie January 24, 2008 Author Share January 24, 2008 top up mean u accept trade in ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leecc73 Neutral Newbie January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Recently fit up my Kenwood 2din at JB for 1k SIN. no bad. At brother. fixed up woffer also for 170 SIN Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Janet_jay Neutral Newbie January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 bro reply leh. urgent to get one before newyear. earn money still so slow. how to buy from you . >???? how much is that all in one HU ?? bro out there help up Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carfreakz Clutched January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 did a quick check with a fren who happens to use Axiv....he say is frm taiwan.... not bad....worth e $.....but of coz sound quality cant compare wif high-end brands like Alpine & pioneer........... if not a fussy listener...Axiv and brand like lilliput is worth e buy.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgetzzzzzzzzz Neutral Newbie January 25, 2008 Share January 25, 2008 sorry for waiting. Parsi panjang terrence. 348J. 5pmto10pm willl be fine for viewing. sms me before coming 97922263. i also have new stocks like side-indicator led 6blubs and racing side-step for rsz. interested friend can come aswell. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...