Boyboy 1st Gear January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 the real issue is why the editor of mypaper did not spot the logical fallacy and NOT publish this letter. it sure makes for interesting read and discussion but doesn't make MyPaper look good at all ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 The follwing is an article taken from "my paper" dated 23/1/08. It just goes to show how stupid this lady is. She practically slapped herself on the face. Read the complain letter, paying special attention to the parts highlighted in red and underlined. [/left] From the complain that she wrote, i can only gather that she is greedy and trying to justify her greed. Imagine asking for The Straits Times for her parents who can't speak English. Basically, she just "buay song" the stewardess for not giving her an extra copy of the paper. In my opinion, this lady is the type of person where, no matter how polite you are, she will still be "buay song". Shocked by behaviour of SQ leading stewardess MY PARENTS and I were on flight SQ865 on Jan 13, from Hong Kong to Singapore. The Leading Stewardess was giving out The Straits Times and I requested a copy. I also asked her politely to pass another set of newspapers to my father, who was seated in another row. To my surprise, she told me loudly to share the newspapers since we are one family and that there were still many other passengers waiting to get a copy. Can you imagine how embarrassing it was for me? How would the other passengers think ¡ª that I was greedy? I was just helping my parents as they were seated elsewhere and could not speak English. She could have said something along the line of "I'm sorry Madam, but can you please share if you don't mind as we are running out of newspapers". I was stunned by her rudeness and could only manage a reply of "Okay". Singapore Airlines is supposed to be well-known for its good service, but why was I given that kind of treatment? Was it because I was seated in the Economy class? Ms Tan Ai Ching Serene Ms A.C. Tan? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleWolve Clutched January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Strange, if her parent could not speak English, why would she requested the stewardess to pass her father The Straits Times which is obviously written in English? HAHAHAHAHA!!!! self pwned! still dare to put her full name... The father want to see cartoon lah.. cannot meh.. or the father oni know how to see STI on his stocks... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Strange, if her parent could not speak English, why would she requested the stewardess to pass her father The Straits Times which is obviously written in English? Her father is a mute ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Most probably. That's what most forum letter writers are doing right? Fail to or miss the chance to make their 'grievances' known on the spot to the direct parties then blast it out in newspaper or online forums. What 'grievances' are you talking about?...was there any grievances to Ms Tan when the stewardess asked her ( maybe a bit louder to emphasised her point ) to share the papers amongst her family memebers?...I don't think so! A reasonable offer has already been extended by the stewardess to her by offering her a copy of the papers. Blasting out on-line without any sort of reasonable cause is pure stupidity...some called this self-pawned . To cut it short...why don't you admit that this woman is just a difficult person to begin with? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleWolve Clutched January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Singaporeans... FREE ONE I TAKE ... DONT CARE IF THERES ANY USE FOR ME...IT'S FREE... also OTHER PPL HAVE I ALSO WANT ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 New paper. Want to generate interest ma. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Knowing how to read does not mean knowing how to speak the language...well. Especially for those PRC students who come here to study, they are good at the written English language but when it comes to speaking....u'll be . ST got a lot of pictures to see also what. It's just that ppl like her in sg are very kiasu and impatient. Want this and want that, very high expectations. Ppl tend to forget they're also served by sgporeans. Ya.. I believed Ms. Tan lao pei can read the ABCs tat form the word.. but dun understand the word itself nia.. My objective view is tat newspaper can be shared among the families.. even those around the same area can borrow if someone is done reading.. people wanto selfish selfprwn for wat? As if they bought it for goodness sake, its complimentary. Not as if its a souvenir can keep so everyone must have one. Its oni newspaper.. once its new its news.. old liao no value.. get an extra copy for wat? use as blanket issit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Togas Neutral Newbie January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 (edited) Singaporeans... FREE ONE I TAKE ... DONT CARE IF THERES ANY USE FOR ME...IT'S FREE... also OTHER PPL HAVE I ALSO WANT ... IF OTHER PPL HAVE I DUN HAVE I GINN UNTIL EYES WANTO DROP OUT! Edited January 24, 2008 by Togas Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 What are you talking about? Did she complain that the stewardess refused to give her father a copy of the newspaper but gave others? She was complaining about the attitude of the stewardess. That she was rude. The grievance is not about sharing the papers. The grievance is the "you still not satisfied ah" attitude that the stewardess gave. I've already stated reasons in my previous posts why I believe the woman wasn't a demanding or unreasonable passenger in her attitude. Pls read the whole story, not just the sentences highlighted in red. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Niteblu Neutral Newbie January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Nope. Objective meaning not biased towards or against any party, just taking into account the facts mentioned of the situation. Coz the lady did specifically say that the stewardess could've used a better tone, and she spelt out the words, which seem like an average polite request, not a demanding one. If the stewardess had not even managed an averagely polite request as phrased then that's really a lack of service. I agree... To be honest though. at the risk of generalising. I've experienced less than genuine service from our SQ girls before. Perhaps it's not the easiest job in the world. it's certainly not the hardest. It sometimes appears, thought not always That there can be a degree of preferential treatment towards Non-Singaporeans. Especially Non-Asians/Caucasians. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 What are you talking about? Did she complain that the stewardess refused to give her father a copy of the newspaper but gave others? She was complaining about the attitude of the stewardess. That she was rude. The grievance is not about sharing the papers. The grievance is the "you still not satisfied ah" attitude that the stewardess gave. I've already stated reasons in my previous posts why I believe the woman wasn't a demanding or unreasonable passenger in her attitude. Pls read the whole story, not just the sentences highlighted in red. having re-read the original post, i still conclude that Ms Tan is simply being a.n.a.l abt the situtation. and somehow i think she's not telling the whole truth... for the the fact that she mentioned her parents cannot speak english but still wanna read the ST???? ok so if they really wanna see pictures, each seat got a magazine right? lots of pretty n COLORFUL pictures leh. n she didn't say the stewardess was RUDE, she just said the sterwardess replied to her LOUDLY asking her to share the paper w her family... she didn't mention the stewardess speaking rudely or using rude words... she was just upset that she got pwned by the stewardess for telling her to share the papers, implying that she was being greedy to ask for an extra copy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Actually this complaint letter is a very common complaint about the poor attitude coming from the service provider. Dunno who twisted it or how come it got twisted into what everyone is discussing about now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 I'll tell you the truth lah...it's NOT so much as the attitude of the stewardess that caused this Ms Tan to be 'bay song'......it's just that the stewardess looked sexier and prettier than her and speaks with superb England tones that put her off! There is also a similiar case of a wealthy tycoon's wife who slapped a stewardess just becos the stewardess seem to provide the tycoon with 'better than usual service' in her view! Women!...they are the greatest enemy amongst themselves! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 I do think it's quite her right to feel upset. Because someone in the frontline of the service industry has no business to be telling a customer/passenger loudly anything. Also, she did spell out what she had expected the stewardess to say at least, which IMO was a pretty basic polite request. In a small enclosed area like a plane cabin, it would obviously be embarrassing to be told off loudly for anything because most passengers would be within earshot. The stewardess could definitely have handled the situation in a better way and this complaint letter wouldn't have been written. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 That....I have to agree to a certain level... Women do check out other women and are probably jealous to a certain point. I do know some women who do silly things just because they are jealous of other women. But men too what! Just that they prefer to be called 'competitive' instead of jealous. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bmz3 Neutral Newbie January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 Actually the woman had the right to ask for another set of ST cos HER PARENT PAY FOR THE AIR TICKET TOO! It might be the 1st time for the parent taking a flight and do not know much so the woman jt helping the parent to get a copy of ST, is tat wrong? The discussion here should be "how the stewardess handle the situation?"! Anyway Singapore Airline charge a lot more than other airline, seem like this kind of situation should not happened. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged January 24, 2008 Share January 24, 2008 (edited) I agree with you on this point after i re-read the letter. I think the SQ "leading" stewardess is having her PMS. Her response was totally uncalled for. It reeked of sarcasm. That is not something you'd expect from SQ, given its service standards. If there were no Chinese papers in the plane, I think it is reasonable for her to request for something to keep her parents occupied. Not being able to speak English does not mean you cannot read an English article with some difficulty. And I do not think her parents will be able to operate the AVOD. My grandpa cannot speak English for nuts but give him the ST, he can make out the general gist of simple news and relate it to me in Mandarin. It may seem self-pwn when she requested for an ST for her non-English speaking parents but when I ignored the red font and re-read the article as a whole, I am inclined to think this is one of those infamous episodes (often retold and retold) where the SQ stewardess likes to give the white man mental blowjobs and step on her Asian counterparts, esp if they happen to be in the cattle section. In this case, I think the writer is a Singaporean while the SQ staff is a sinkaporean. ps:If the stewardess did deliberately "explain" the need to "share", I do not think it was a "misunderstanding" as suggested in SQ Talk. It was a deliberate attempt on the part of the SQ staff to "shame" the passenger . And it was not as if she was asking for 3 copies, 1 for her, 1 for her dad and 1 for her mom. They were sitting in different sections. Edited January 24, 2008 by Sabian ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...