More violent cases but Minister say no hiew

Apollo

Hot News // Wednesday, January 23, 2008 http://www.todayonline.com/articles/233673print.asphttp://www.todayonline.com/txt_send.asp?id=233673http://java script:feedback('233673')http://java script:eventFaceLarger()http://java script:eventFaceSmaller()http://java script:eventOneColumn()http://java script:eventThreeColumn()

Recourse, when hurt is caused

A debate over whether to make offence sizeable

Ansley Ng

[email protected]

THE number of reports of voluntarily causing hurt has gone up from 5,500 in 2005 to 8,288 last year but the authorities say there is no need to make the offence a seizable one where the police can step in to make an arrest without a warrant. .

Doing so would tie down police resources and hamper their services in other areas, said Senior Minister of State for Law and Home Affairs Ho Peng Kee. .

Non-Constituency Member of Parliament Sylvia Lim had asked if the ministry would review the classification of "voluntarily causing hurt" (VCH), as a non-seizable offence, especially if the victim sustained injuries that needed treatment. .

"If I were to scratch Associate Professor Ho's car, it would be vandalism and seizable. But if I punched him in a private capacity and his nose bled, it's not seizable," she told the House. .

There have been more "violent and stranger" incidents, she said, citing the case last month in which an American sailor allegedly attacked a man at a car park in Wheelock Place in an apparent drunken rampage. The victim, a 36-year-old communications manager, needed four stitches to his face. .

"Under the Penal Code currently, you need to be emasculated, to have bone fractures or be out of action for about 20 days before grievous hurt is made out," said Ms Lim, a former police officer. .

"Are we setting so high a tolerance for violence?" she asked. And did the significant spike in reported cases not "suggest that tougher action needs to be taken"? .

Assoc Prof Ho said aggrieved parties do have recourse, since VCH covers a wide range of behaviour and different degrees of hurt. "Cases where hurt is not serious are best resolved without extensive police involvement," he said. .

But if one party wishes to pursue the matter, the police will advise him or her to take out a magistrate's complaint. .

A magistrate may direct the police to further probe the case, which was done in about 10 per cent of the reported VCH cases. .

"In some cases, the victim may suffer injuries which, though falling short of being grievous as defined by the law, may still require hospitalisation," he said. "In such cases, the police may consider initiating action." .

When asked if the police treated VCH offences against public officers, such as bus captains and car park attendants, differently, he said they have every reason to initiate action in such cases, so as not to "undermine (these people's) ability to perform their public service". spacer.gifspacer.gif

http://www.todayonline.com/articles/233673.asp

i fully agree with him.. all these peasants out to cause hurt to each other. nothing involving elites. nothing which mata can make $$. why bother.

if she so adament abt making changes, she sud hv punch him on the spot to prove a point. okay lah.. $1K fine niah niah. we help chip in a bit.

i see how much coins i hv in the pocket first.

but she wrong abt the sailor case lah.. the feller throw his face at the sailor's fist. so nasty of him... he think he is zidane meh, can anyhow use head butt pple's hand. aidoh. must hv hurt the sailor's fist badly.

Edited by Apollo

Touching a MP is 20 years jail term. Despite indicating a channel, I know of specialize departments in governmental offices that specifically handles queries from certain sector of the population, read elites. This is all crapalogy. Thank you 66.6%.

"A magistrate may direct the police to further probe the case, which was done in about 10 per cent of the reported VCH cases"

"may" only.. lancheow la unimpressed.gif

but if punch MP it's confirm right?laugh.gif

I dun think is no hiew.

Assoc Prof Ho said aggrieved parties do have recourse, since VCH covers a wide range of behaviour and different degrees of hurt. "Cases where hurt is not serious are best resolved without extensive police involvement," he said. .

In short means depending on the cause and action. If not serious and not intentional, no need to blow it up. Ppl ofetn dun look at whether such cases are intentional at causing hurt, they just want "revenge".

IMO if really want to seek further compensation can always look for lawyer to settle.

fwah.. monkey see monkey do. strange they happy to arrest pple like CSJ and his sista and a few more others on policitcal reasons.

self contradicting.

Doing so would tie down police resources and hamper their services in other areas, said Senior Minister of State for Law and Home Affairs Ho Peng Kee. .

polis officer really tied down in his job by his seat belt... muahahahahaha

070722_ss_policeofficer.jpg

wave.gifwave.gif

i pity the police officer..

but on the other hand, if i were one, i won't be so damn UNTACTICAL to sleep in my car in public [rolleyes][laugh]

must be NSF la.. ORD mood liaoz [laugh][laugh]