Boyboy 1st Gear January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 Sponsor their University education - Yes.Give them a car - No. I am assuming my child is in his late teens. The public transport system is quite convenient and car might not be considered as necessity here. Simply put, I don't want them to be spoilt. hmm.. if ur kid secure a scholarship (local of course, if overseas then car is no longer a topic of discussion) then how? sponsoring uni education + living expenses is more ex than sponsoring a car (and just the car only) IMHO... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoop Neutral Newbie January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 was very fortunate to drive while i was in school.. father was given company car if not wait long long. there were pro and cons.. cons - I became the family and GF driver. Petrol bill per was at least $400 per month. My mum and dad was smiling lor. Their expenditure was reduced. This taught $$ hard to earn. Pros - Freedom !!!!! Very grateful to my parents. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 Hi all, This poll is inspired by the NTU CTR thread... Would you buy a car for your kid who's still in school, pay for their road tax, insurance, petrol and everything? I rather buy another for myself and let him use the car but upon approval. knowing what car u drive, i dun mind being ur son and getting to drive ur car sometimes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 No, I will not. Despite MCFers saying it's the driver, not the car etc... I agree to some extent. The main reason is I will want him for her to go thru the hard route so that he or she will appreciate what they have more. During schling, there is no income (not counting allowances), unless he got a side biz which can sustain his lifestyle, then I would consider. Else, it's not good as the first footing started on a liability, which a car is always. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 Buy them new car? No. I will pass them my old car if they need to drive to school due to distance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged January 22, 2008 Author Share January 22, 2008 You are very fortunate indeed I remember there was one ocassion where I met my employees outside for makan session. After lunch, they ask me where I parked my car cos they wanna hitch a ride. After I told them I'm walking to the bus-stop to take a bus; I could see the expressions in their eyes They must be thinking I damn ngiow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoop Neutral Newbie January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 now I "Karless" work in town.. too expensive to liao.. now practise car sharing. Of cos Big Boss no car how can.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 by time i got son and he can drive, my present car scrap liao lar... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 school too far, wake up earlier and take bus/mrt. if not, choose a nearer school.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 Hi all, This poll is inspired by the NTU CTR thread... Would you buy a car for your kid who's still in school, pay for their road tax, insurance, petrol and everything? Nope, they will have to earn it themselves. It is only then, that they will value it. I paid mine from my own pocket, for the 4 bikes I owned, and the 4 cars I had. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfc 5th Gear January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 I probably belong to the old conservative school so voted nope. Somehow I feel this might lead to more... Now buy car, next "lend" money to marry, buy house, reno, honeymoon, raise their kids... I cherish the value of being self-supporting that being a father can impart to them (beside money). Give them the tools (education) and they should use it wisely to acquire their accomplishments (material or otherwise) in life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 The problem is both uni are located in West, i hope they can build one in the East in near future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 No bloody way man... Sekali my kid mai tak chek and go everywhere less the intended place (school) how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 then stay hostel lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akula Turbocharged January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 U need a god-son? heheheh... Uncle, I only mid 30s, son only 5 months old....... Got SYT as god daughter I dun mind...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 Hi all, This poll is inspired by the NTU CTR thread... Would you buy a car for your kid who's still in school, pay for their road tax, insurance, petrol and everything? Never. She will have to learn to earn her own keep. She need to get use to BMW. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged January 22, 2008 Author Share January 22, 2008 Nebermind...I can always have a SY-Godfather Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged January 22, 2008 Author Share January 22, 2008 As a moderator, u must "moderate" your kids too ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...