Chickenfarm Turbocharged January 22, 2008 Author Share January 22, 2008 No bloody way man... Sekali my kid mai tak chek and go everywhere less the intended place (school) how? SSS24 is a classic example ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 People's lau peh or lau bu we lui mah... Even if I really can afford it, I would still want my kids to earn their way as I always believe that this is the way to go... They'll appreciate what they have even more... Making things so easy for them is just spoiling them and turning them into the already rising number of spoilt brats... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 Yes, I will. But can only 1.5L and below car, must not be Cheena made, must install a GPS tracking device in the car.. You don't trust your children har...... until have to install GPS... What if the GPS states that your is now deep inside Upper Seletar Reservoir at 1.00am (morning). Would you rush down to check ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carmaniac Neutral Newbie January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 I chose the second option. I think it is always better to let your children work hard for what they want, else they will become to reliant on you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 u think yr child would be so stupid as to let the gps be installed? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoop Neutral Newbie January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 think the parents will go bonkers... god knows what images are goin thru their minds.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 i will limit all their activties until they said, 'no dad, i dun want a car, so troublesome'.. I like to play mind game .. but i will still buy if they still want.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 Hi all, This poll is inspired by the NTU CTR thread... Would you buy a car for your kid who's still in school, pay for their road tax, insurance, petrol and everything? no license no talk. oh yah. must take proper class 3. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 I voted yes, cos my parents did buy me a car. But I think the decision still depends on your child. If you brought him/her up to be a good responsible person, then having a car might be able to teach them a thing or two about responsibilities and car maintenance under your watchful eye. Of course it will be a NO if your child is reckless and a careless. Then it would be like sending the kid on a death mission. i also voted yes. but make the child fork out 20% of car price for downpayment ( thats wat i did), teach him how and wat to maintain, then after a few times ask him to go settle the car stuff ( ie tyres, servicing, parts, minor accidents)( wat i did too) but also make him pay for petrol(to make him know how not to anyhow rev and drive). my 2 cents, don flame me.. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babysaint Neutral Newbie January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 IMHO.. car yes.. road tax petrol servicing insurance and other ownself pay.. thats wad my daddy did.. 3 mths later i gave him back the car.. now im happy with mrt.. to me.. no point driving to sch.. maybe cuz my sch just beside mrt station(hint) but really.. FC is crap and where am i gonna get 4K at the end of each year? in the end still daddy paying.. so my ans is unless can ownself pay for it no point.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 As a moderator, u must "moderate" your kids too i believe that when things come easy, people might not treasure as much. Things will be worse if I start planning for her future as if I'm running a IT project. Key Milestone, KPI, ROI etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 Mind games as in letting them solve mind boggling puzzles to reveal the final location of the car key? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 Got alot at Boat Quay.... can even become "God-sister" if u want Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 yes.. puzzles.. but i think after i demand so much bo liao stuff for them to buy them a car, they will end up in IMH soon.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Decibel Neutral Newbie January 22, 2008 Share January 22, 2008 If my child loved cars, yes I would get him/her one like my dad did for me. Nothing fancy, and of course they would have to find a way to contribute a little at least. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...