Applicants with a criminal record

Tatsit

Hello everybody, i juz got my degree but I have a criminal record. My offence only required me to pay a fine, no jail term.

But i think I speak for all ex offenders here, seeking help from any HR personel of any Big Company or anyone who knows for that matter to clear my doubts whether they really do a reference check with the police department.

All my job offers are rejected when they know i got criminal offence. Sian got degree oso no use. I simply cant get a job. Shld I tick NOPE on whether I was convicted b4 on the application form?? Thanks in advance for those who can help.

Depending on the serious of ur offence I think the records might be rendered spent after a period of time think is 5 yrs . . . however that is if ur offence and sentence falls within the category . . . once is rendered spent think outsiders will not be able to find out as is considered gone liao but of coz the law enforcement agencies will still have the records to be retrieved if u commit any offence in future . . . u can check with SPF via their website by sending an email enquiry. Gd luck.

My records cant be spent cos the requirement for fine term is below $3k but mine is $5k... Sad everything is 2 late.. [:(]

think they will advise u to declare truthfully as if company find out can still terminate ur contract as u have not been truthful . . . but of coz on the other side of the coin . . . if u do so some company might not even consider ur application . . . so u are kind of stuck . . . think when they first implemented this records spent thingy the media got interview many ppl and from wat i can remember in general still say better to be truthful . . .

some don't even check but at least yr honest about it

you've paid the fine, and paid the price... i think this criminal record should not even be considered a Record in the first place :(

welcome to singapore

I suggest you start off applying for a small company first where they don't even care to get you to sign a declaration. And once it's past that x years where it becomes "rendered" or "spent" then you try again with bigger companies. This way, you don't flout the laws for not declaring?

Can do?

Suggest that you do not reveal anything in your cover letter to increase your chances of being granted an interview. However at the interview begining, declare to them and ask if they are interested to carry on. You only loose time sending the letter.

When was your last conviction?

Under the "yellow ribbon" programme, your record should be "spent" (erased) by now.

To answer your question, yes, most HRD will run a check with the CRO to screen all potential candidates as a matter of HR policy.

Once your conviction is spent, you can go ahead and tick "No" to any prior criminal conviction without any penalty. To check the status of your criminal record, you can run a check with the CRO at Cantonment Police Complex.

Best luck [flowerface]

everybody wanna work in big firms... why not choose somewhere smaller.

btw, if is only a fine, u may wanna ask the AG chamber if this is can don't declare since u were not jailed. also ask when the record will b erased.

warouz... fools seldom differs.

u also toylet cleaner meh? how come u know record also can b cleaned. i used dettol and papa lemon, wat u used?

Whatever it is...just keep your pussy away from my farm [:p] My chicken need a happy mood to lay eggs...your pussy will scare the sh*t out of them [sweatdrop] Then it's dettol job again [laugh]

any police officers or HR personnel here who can help??

It is sad but true

this society of ours is very unforgiving

this is the way we have been educated

It is always better to tell the truth although painful than to lie about your status

the consequences is worse for you to lie

in the first place, you are trying your best to put the past behind so put it behind and move forward

the road you take will be hard but NOT unbearable

think of those worse of than you

each day create a small task but dont be ambitious

such as applying for x number of jobs

go to an interview with a smile and confident and dont have an inferiority complex

you may be more capable than the next applicant

remember just like personality must be separated from ability to work

perserve and you will be rewarded

dont worry about the future, the future have not arrived

worry about today on what you are going to do and do it well

[:)]