Meecar Clutched January 20, 2008 Share January 20, 2008 Just returned from Thailand Bangkok Stayed at the Amari watergate Hotel Had a great time there Cant believe that food is so cheap people are so gracious skytrain people really wait for everyone to get out of teh train before moving into the train at the station I am going back there a few more time to see if it could be my retirement home Chiang Mai may be the other place but any opinions from experts out there thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged January 20, 2008 Share January 20, 2008 chicks/hunks also better than SG right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alan22 Neutral Newbie January 20, 2008 Share January 20, 2008 not surprising, although thailand is not as advance as singapore, alot still prefer the country. i myself only been to phuket once and i fall in love with tat place immediately. im still wondering, such wear down, dirty, kampong style but i still love it. Their night life is especially happening, and traffic extremely dangerous but still safer compare to singapore hahahaa their driver is more friendly compared to our local Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 20, 2008 Share January 20, 2008 Try going there during the hottest months, see can tahan or not. Chiang Mai and Riang are cooler part and my favourite among the Thai cities. In my life, one of teh most unforgetable girls that I've fond memory with happened to be a Thai Chinese. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear January 20, 2008 Share January 20, 2008 Try Vietnam, prefer it over BKK. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear January 20, 2008 Share January 20, 2008 i only went once. food is good and cheap but weather can be quite warm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched January 20, 2008 Author Share January 20, 2008 yah you were right there was this young girl standing infront of me buying the cinema tickets I was looking at her handbag (betty boo series) she turned around and gave me a wink I dont know what to do I just smile and said hello later saw her with her apparent boy friend My wife tells me I am still highly available we had a great time watching National Treasure we had this double seat and cost us each only 80 baht which is about SGD$4 Chatuchak was not that hot but it is so ordinary and i heard that things are getting more expensive because Asians ( HK and SPorean) go there and bargain very little so now price are more expensive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched January 20, 2008 Author Share January 20, 2008 we went to vietnam once and it was super hot we went to this viet con hide out that need to crawl into tunnels boy was it worse than our BMT poor fellows I think thais are generally more friendly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear January 20, 2008 Share January 20, 2008 haha, the Cu Chi tunnels. Geh kiang chose the 50m section and came out feeling as if I just completed my IPPT 2.4km. The bamboo traps are One thing though, went to one of the discos near the notre dame cathedral and was surprised it closes at 12mn, seems like a ruling there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear January 20, 2008 Share January 20, 2008 Yo bro..... Hate to burst your bubble but she is just being friendly lah..... If you stay in the Bkk long enough, you will know this is their "modus operandi". And for anyone out there thinking of getting a thai girlfriend, think really hard. This is how friendly they are when they are with their bf, imagine what they get up to behind their backs??? Of course not all of them are like but you really need to be discerning. And be very careful of jealous bf..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Suhong Neutral Newbie January 20, 2008 Share January 20, 2008 u like there so much... my guide is gay loh, leave mi a bad impression of that place Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear January 20, 2008 Share January 20, 2008 Ya.... I visited the CuChi tunnels too.... The booby traps are really freaky... But wat is more freaky is to see the gleam in the Vietnamese guide's (he was an ex-Vietcon) eyes when they explain how the trap works... And I had some westerners in my group so I suspect the guide was extra dramatic for their sake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zirco Neutral Newbie January 20, 2008 Share January 20, 2008 chicks/hunks also better than SG right? chicks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fondue Neutral Newbie January 20, 2008 Share January 20, 2008 I like BKK too We stayed at Marriott Spa & Resort which is south of the city along the river, and the best part is the hotel provide free ferry service to skytrain station every 15 mins from 630am to midnite On the 15 mins ferry ride, saw quite a few condos along the river with commnading views of the river and city, ND more new ones are being built. When I've enough money, I might buy a unit in one of these condos for my retirement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear January 20, 2008 Share January 20, 2008 (edited) Pretty amazed the CuChi people dug the entire tunnel with nothing more than a small changkol and they lived inside. Was on a free and easy tour and stayed @ New Word which is 5mins away from the market. Never seen so many motorbikes in my life and horns seem to be more effective than brakes over there, crossing the road is another challenge. Thinking of visiting Hue and Hanoi end of this year. Edited January 20, 2008 by Garlic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dynaway 1st Gear January 20, 2008 Share January 20, 2008 haha..i think u can forget abt it... from wat i know, foreigners are not allowed to buy houses in Thailand... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear January 20, 2008 Share January 20, 2008 Ya.... I think the viets are very proud of their tunnels..... Did they show you how they recycle un-exploded bombs dropped by the Americans to make bullets?? The thought of it is damm scary coz the poor dude got to saw thru the shell man!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear January 20, 2008 Share January 20, 2008 Landed property cannot.... But Condos and aprtments are ok...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...