Kelpie 2nd Gear January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 (edited) 1. I find having a Trunk Spoiler creates good down force when driving at high or top speed. To me, it is of good practical usage. 2. However, I'm not certain whether by choosing a Deck Lid Spoiler would equate to a "good enough choice" and serve practical purpose. Looking at this option is because don't wanna make the next car looks too "loud". Trunk Spoiler: Deck Lid Spoiler: Please advise me. Thank you. Regards, Edited January 19, 2008 by Kelpie ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diehardsu Clutched January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 Buy the basic model then dun look loud.I think most of us juz want to dress up the car,how much purpose can spoiler serve on SG road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 19, 2008 Author Share January 19, 2008 Buy the basic model then dun look loud.I think most of us juz want to dress up the car,how much purpose can spoiler serve on SG road. I don't think spoiler exists only for "dress up" purpose. I want all the help in high or top speed stability say around 200Km/h, so looking at a rear spoiler to create down force since I frequent the North. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentium 1st Gear January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 I think you need a huge spoiler like a porche one. These smaller little ones doesn't make any difference, just for cosmestic reason only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 (edited) Since U frequently travel at high speed of 200km/h range then get the trunk spoiler that U mention to serve the purpose lor. Like one of my fren always say, wan to play then go all the way. Think here and there will make u more confused. Edited January 19, 2008 by Rollagt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 19, 2008 Author Share January 19, 2008 I think you need a huge spoiler like a porche one. These smaller little ones doesn't make any difference, just for cosmestic reason only. The present one is road proven at 190Km/h with a Trunk spoiler. The incoming one is also not that fast as a Porsche so I don't need big spoiler or a coffee table like the gull wing spoiler. I need something that is just right..perhaps, Trunk spoiler is really what I need. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 19, 2008 Author Share January 19, 2008 Since U frequently travel at high speed of 200km/h range then get the trunk spoiler that U mention to serve the purpose lor. Like one of my fren always say, wan to play then go all the way. Think here and there will make u more confused. You are probably right, perhaps I'm looking at some assurances to get it done on the incoming car. That is it, a trunk spoiler for me. Thanks all. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolad 5th Gear January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 Not true, BMW M3 spoiler is just a tiny strip across the trunk... but creates 1 of the most downforce.... For effective downforce... only can get OEM ones, or reputable tuner house... and they must also state its for which model... Honda would be Modulo or Mugen (both hav wind tunnel facilities) Replicas are no no... mix and match also no go... coz a few milimetres difference in dimensions can turn downforce to lift ... a car when stock is already aerodynamically tested... if going to put bodykit... make sure its also in harmony with the existing body...most often than not... most pple running on budget ends up with an aerodynamically unsound car, it "looks" only fierce but certainly not fast or stable, and have increase FC... spend money to lose more money... Originals are expensive but not without its reasons... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 (edited) Anyone with real life experience that those FAT trunk spoilers are really useful at higner speeds? I was under the impression that its not useful at all. (based on my limited aerodynamics understanding. The small trunk lip, maybe more useful. Those thin and wide metal/carbon trunk wings,usually installed higher to catch the air flow from the roof edge, those are useful, no doubt. But those fat ones? They are so fat and near to the trunk(1-2inches above the trunk), really useful meh? Adds to air resistance, rather than downforce! Looking at those air flow simulation, the trunk area are usually turbulent flow, there is not much linear air to act on the trunk spoiler to give much downforce. Edited January 19, 2008 by Leepee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heathgtti Neutral Newbie January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 the speed required b4 thwe downforce from the spoilers makes a difference is too high for the average Sg roads, its mostly cosmetic in my opinion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 Properly designed GT Wings by Mugen, Varis and J'S Racing are wind tunnel and track provened for downforce. These wings offer a dfferent function from small spoilers, which serve to diffuse the air flow and not so much downforce. You don't need 200km/hr for GT Wing to have an effect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 both design unlikely to help stablize ur ride at high speed. the lip at best is reduce turbulence and form vortices at edge. the ducktail spoiler at best is coanda effect to lift the boundary layer upwards but towards the end, the turbulence at leeward side sud b high. depends on the angle of attack for spoiler. this one almost parallel, is not likely to force air down significantly. a parallel spoiler a downthrust spoiler gt wing still better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 19, 2008 Author Share January 19, 2008 Properly designed GT Wings by Mugen, Varis and J'S Racing are wind tunnel and track provened for downforce. These wings offer a dfferent function from small spoilers, which serve to diffuse the air flow and not so much downforce. You don't need 200km/hr for GT Wing to have an effect. I remembered your favourable comment on GT Wing. I don't think GT Wing is for me, as I'm not an avid racer and its design is just too loud for my comfort. So GT wing is used to diffuse the air while spoilers are for downforce? Thanks. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 Generally yes, based on properly designed wings, of course. There was a video (Bestmotoring?) that compared the track time without spoiler, with default spoiler, and with GT Wing on the same car and driver. With the downforce, the GT Wing lap was the fastest, followed by the spoiler, and then without. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 It makes no difference. Cos both are cosmetic cannot create any down force....at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 19, 2008 Author Share January 19, 2008 Generally yes, based on properly designed wings, of course. There was a video (Bestmotoring?) that compared the track time without spoiler, with default spoiler, and with GT Wing on the same car and driver. With the downforce, the GT Wing lap was the fastest, followed by the spoiler, and then without. I see, Thanks for the info..I will stick to the Trunk spoiler. Trying to see whether I can ship in the American version of Trunk Spoiler. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged January 19, 2008 Share January 19, 2008 think so much..go and get GT-wing lah.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 20, 2008 Author Share January 20, 2008 think so much..go and get GT-wing lah.. Not suitable for my image leh plus wife will me. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...