Turbonetics 2nd Gear January 18, 2008 Share January 18, 2008 (edited) can anyone explain to me why is it when we change engine oil example a semi-synthetic oil,it is suppose to last 5000km but mechanics or engine oil decal will say either 5000km or 3 months from the date of changing? i thought engine oil will get dirty when the engine is working. so if for the 3 months,my mileage is only 2000km and the engine oil is still very thin and clear should i change it?or rather will you change it? Edited January 18, 2008 by Turbonetics ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear January 18, 2008 Share January 18, 2008 oil has broken down after 3 months of exposure?? machiam like milk, once open, must finish or throw away before expiry... anyway, i think your title is spelled wrongly. Should be rationale... not ration.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear January 18, 2008 Share January 18, 2008 It is also recommended that synthetic oil change is needed every 10000km or 6 mths. Usually, I take 9 mths to reach 10000km. So will my oil turn "Chao Sng" by the 9th month? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear January 18, 2008 Share January 18, 2008 it should be the mileage. so if u don't drive, then every 3 mths still have to change oil? In the USA, Quick oil change shop's recommended intervals have been 3,000 miles or every 3 months. Well, wait for 5000km then http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Engine_oil Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear January 18, 2008 Share January 18, 2008 i guess most will wait for the recommended mileage rather than time which isnt accurate in my opinion. i dun think it will chao sng lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear January 18, 2008 Author Share January 18, 2008 thanks for the pointer. is it true on what you said as oil breaks down after certain time? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear January 18, 2008 Share January 18, 2008 hee... i don't know leh... have u tried to smell it? anyway... i googled this When should Engine Oil be changed? According to American Petroleum Institute (API) Publication #1507, page 13, engine oil should be changed before additive depletion and oil contamination can begin to affect engine performance and life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear January 18, 2008 Share January 18, 2008 just a guess on my part.... any experts care to explain to TS on this issue? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ray7456 3rd Gear January 18, 2008 Share January 18, 2008 But what abt new cars that is under warranty by agent. Then if follow mileage will end up sending the car in much later (eg. 1,000km or 1 mths whichever comes first). I have tis problem. Anyone can advise. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged January 18, 2008 Share January 18, 2008 it should be the mileage. so if u don't drive, then every 3 mths still have to change oil? In the USA, Quick oil change shop's recommended intervals have been 3,000 miles or every 3 months. Well, wait for 5000km then http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Engine_oil bro, what if i do not intend to drive my car for 1yr. i understand fm my AD that i jus need to disconnect the battery cable. do not even need to go for servicing. by will my engine oil "stagnant" during this 1 yr hiatus?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear January 18, 2008 Share January 18, 2008 Maybe this might help? According to Castrol, there is a time period to next oil change is becos water can accumulate in the engine internals and cause corrosion even though your mileage is still within the safe range http://www.castrol.com/castrol/faq.do?cate...ntentId=6500056 What sorts of intervals are recommended for changing engine oil? The standard criteria for changing engine oil are distance and time. Generally, 3-5,000km or 6 months (whichever is first) is the interval normally used in Japan. Although the actual trend for oil change intervals as specified by the manufacturers is trending towards 10-15,000km plus (or once a year), to really keep an engine consistently working in prime condition people often replace their oil at shorter intervals. Furthermore, for vehicles that have higher power output, turbo cars and diesel cars, or those on severe drive cycles, short change cycles are recommended depending upon conditions of use. It may seem strange, but using your car for short trips only (such as a quick 10 minute or so visit to the local supermarket) means that the engine oil does not heat sufficiently and water and fuel can accumulate in the engine, leading to a build-up of sludge and rust, and causing wear. So, in actual fact, the belief that the car has not covered much distance and therefore changing the oil isn't necessary is misled. The true condition of the engine oil in a car is difficult to assess and careful regular maintenance is important to maintain peak performance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear January 18, 2008 Share January 18, 2008 get our in-hse oil expert...where r u, yoo-hoo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear January 18, 2008 Author Share January 18, 2008 thank you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear January 18, 2008 Share January 18, 2008 no prob... i was curious on why it is so as well. cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Klchua 1st Gear January 18, 2008 Share January 18, 2008 any idea why jap make car need to change oil at 10000km for fully syn, but some europe car need to change only at 20000km??? e.g OPEL(heard from the SE when i visit their showroom) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfrtuscani Neutral Newbie January 18, 2008 Share January 18, 2008 can anyone explain to me why is it when we change engine oil example a semi-synthetic oil,it is suppose to last 5000km but mechanics or engine oil decal will say either 5000km or 3 months from the date of changing? i thought engine oil will get dirty when the engine is working. so if for the 3 months,my mileage is only 2000km and the engine oil is still very thin and clear should i change it?or rather will you change it? wah piang...i every month clock 3000 km or more.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched January 18, 2008 Share January 18, 2008 can anyone explain to me why is it when we change engine oil example a semi-synthetic oil,it is suppose to last 5000km but mechanics or engine oil decal will say either 5000km or 3 months from the date of changing? i thought engine oil will get dirty when the engine is working. so if for the 3 months,my mileage is only 2000km and the engine oil is still very thin and clear should i change it?or rather will you change it? I not a pro in oils. But i believe you can hold on for a while until u reach 5000km then change oil. Dun hold on for too long though because like milk like that, once u open the cap liao, it is only good for few days. What about those OPC drivers? I got friends who drive OPC use fully syn oil but they half a year also haven clock 10000km... sibei low usage, so they say max about 1 year, they will still change out the oil although the mileage haven reach yet. 1 year change 1 time oil cheap ah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 18, 2008 Share January 18, 2008 thanks for the pointer. is it true on what you said as oil breaks down after certain time? What ppl tell u is just a benchmark for u to gauge. Just like in the user manual the so call recommendation, the recommended mileage and it does not mean die die must follow. U know? Recommendation? Ppl often misunderstood the meaning. Ask yourself this question lah. What is the purpose of the engine oil? To lubricate and to cool the engine moving parts? So the best person to ask is actually yourself. How often do u drive? What routes u like to take? Your driving behaviour etc etc. Another thing is HEAT. U know that under prolong exposure to heat, whatever under the hood the rate of breaking down or wear will increase. U judge or decide for yourself. Mechanic of course will be more than happy if u wanna change oil often. If u dun drive your car like a racing car everyday, just stick to what is recommended. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...