Icekitten Clutched February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 Yeah I know such drivers are everywhere. Road hogging is bad enough already. What I can't stand most is when they still try to justify their actions. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 Quote It's normal lah sis........ when u passed some, they even looked like they are cruising at a slow pace on lane 1. And they looked at u like "Hey, what's wrong? I'm travelling at the speed limit wat" For me, I rather sick and tired of waiting for them to filter. If got enuff space, just filter to the 2nd lane and overtake him from there, then cut back to lane 1. Yeah I usually don't bother to wait for the driver to give way, instead will zig zag in and out of lanes to get ahead like I did earlier in the night while rushing home. But I made the mistake of thinking that there were few cars and it would be easy for the Merc to give way and thus flashed him instead. Rather than I filter 2 lanes left to Lane 3, overtake the 3 cars then filter back across 2 lanes to get in front of the Merc. To whoever says that tailgating isn't necessary and simply flashing will notify others to give way, please eat your words. I will never flash again if I want ppl to give way. Maybe next time I will just try leaving my high beam on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dynaway 1st Gear February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 i got better suggestion.... next time store some half dozen of eggs in ur car... whenever u try to filter out n tat idiot refuses to speed up or slow down n give way, jus dump one egg onto the windscreen.... sure to slow him down n u can filter out.. muahahhaa. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 Quote that utter BS. your mentality is exactly the same as the guy in the Impreza. road-hogging is when you are driving at an unreasonable slow speed in the right lane or taking up more than one lane. as the name implies, it means the driver is obstructing the flow of traffic. as the threadstarter already said, he was traveling at 100km/h, which is technically speeding already. AND the centre lane was slow. anyway, kudos to the threadstarted for keeping cool and letting him pass. Maybe the driver had some family emergency? If the situation happen to me, i will just filter left if possible and let him pass and go back to right lane. I drive very fast on the road but if there is an even faster car, i will try my best to let him pass, be it i am 200kph or 300kph. So dun act as if you own the road and start scolding people. Road Hoggers ought to get their license revoked. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
H2or Neutral Newbie February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 Quote 2nd tat.bottom line is when ppl behind u is faster,juz give way n e issue is resolved.why road hog when ppl may b in emergency Another 'ppl may be in emergency crap' story. So many emergency ah? Maybe he is crapping in his pants and have to go home change and his female passenger is staring at him cos si beh smelly. People like you who loves hogging shouldn't be on the road anyway. Should retake your licence or go take MRT pls. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liuhao Neutral Newbie February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 sometimes you are not really road hogging but the car behind just stays so close to you and even swinging left and right as if you block his way... today evening on pie to changi at kallang exit. i was in middle lane at 90km/h. all cars in middle lane were going at same speed and i keep about one to two cars distance from front car. then there was a van recklessly filtered from left lane to my lane and tailgating me so damn closely. i dont know his agenda but clearly he was not happy with me dont know why. there was really no way i could continue to drive with him so close behind. so after a while i found a chance when left lane was clear in front. i cut into most left lane, open my vtec and speeding up and smoked him far far away. after a while i saw he suddenly cut into left lane too, speeding up and coming to me. i slowed down to 90km/h, when he approaching me, i open my vtec and smoked him again far away. hehe...think i gave him some kinda understanding because after that he didnt bother anymore. slowed to to 70km/h and drive on most left lane. never seem him again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liuhao Neutral Newbie February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 (edited) Edited February 6, 2008 by Liuhao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 Sometimes these drivers are not playing with us. When he saw that the lane that u cut into is able to travel faster, he will follow suit. To us, he maybe playing with us. To him, if this lane can allow him to go faster, why not rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Katou Neutral Newbie February 7, 2008 Share February 7, 2008 They must have forgotten about "keep left unless overtaking". Since other is faster den him and that doesn't make him overtaking other on lane 2 while he's delaying the time the car behind him. Just would jus have such mindset. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Katou Neutral Newbie February 7, 2008 Share February 7, 2008 Peak hour, everyone just got to follow behind the SOB that driving like he's on vacation if any. Else overtake from lane 2 or 3 if possible. If you're not happy in giving way, just keep to lane 2 and let lane 1 free for other speedster that wan to die early or so. Just dun hog that lane and die die refusing to give way. I'm one of the person that would tailgate anyone that hogging the lane while the other lane is pack and no choice of overtaking you from lane 2 or 3. But in the event if one try to stop me from overtaking by accelerating, just dun let me drive in front of you (And if the road condition is free and easy). NOPE! i won't jam brake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Katou Neutral Newbie February 7, 2008 Share February 7, 2008 (edited) "Keep left unless overtaking"! Basic theory. If you're overtaking my nanny at 100kph slowly doesn't mean you're overtaking becos you're slowing the traffic behind you! If you can't afford to be FINE and kena DEMERIT points, DUN STAY ON LANE1! Even best, if you TREASURE YOUR LIFE, get out from lane 1! I've been always overtaking lane 1 and lane 2 car from lane 3 not once but insane countless time due to the fact of ppl like you had such mentality. Period. Edited February 7, 2008 by Katou Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched February 8, 2008 Share February 8, 2008 Quote Sometimes these drivers are not playing with us. When he saw that the lane that u cut into is able to travel faster, he will follow suit. To us, he maybe playing with us. To him, if this lane can allow him to go faster, why not rite? Sometimes I do that too. I see a car zipping in and out of gaps in the traffic and will just follow behind to take advantage of the same gaps. Some of these drivers can be quite sensitive and will think that I'm trying to play with them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cruzader Neutral Newbie March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 Signal left and let him pass ASAP lo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cruzader Neutral Newbie March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 Hmmm.. everyone wants to take right lane nowadays. Sometimes i think left lane is faster. Even van and lorry also use right lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie March 4, 2008 Share March 4, 2008 Singapore drivers are generally impatient. Want to go faster than the car infront? Fly over loh! I am fine with people overtaking at 100 while I approch from behind at 120 or so. As long as they filter back to centre lane after overtaking to let me pass, I am ok. We all share the road. Let us not act as if we own the road. Driving fast does not mean you own the road or lane. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...