Simply_lex Neutral Newbie January 16, 2008 Share January 16, 2008 how long does LTA takes to issue the letter for new car inspection before registering car number? I have a friend who was in the midst of getting her new car next week, but SE told her their admin was hold back because her car is not inspected yet. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear January 16, 2008 Share January 16, 2008 LTA new to inspect new car meh ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 16, 2008 Share January 16, 2008 For those very new model first time arriving to our shores. To test and see whether they meet the emmission standards and other requirements. Once passed inspection subsequent ones dun have to go thru it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear January 16, 2008 Share January 16, 2008 ya that was my suspicion too ... so TS's friend getting exotic / rare model la? what car ah ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simply_lex Neutral Newbie January 16, 2008 Author Share January 16, 2008 she bought from PI. so does it applies? no la...just a stream. please advise bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simply_lex Neutral Newbie January 16, 2008 Author Share January 16, 2008 think will check with LTA personally tomorrow morning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yellowbird Clutched January 16, 2008 Share January 16, 2008 from what i hear from my SE. mew car that come in must be inspected.... this is what he told me.. cos he say his stocks of AXIO has arrive and now in port awaiting inspection.. Think should be truth as the SE is my friend... Have brought a AXIo from him, now awaiting for COE bidding... so dun think he got a reason to lie to me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear January 16, 2008 Share January 16, 2008 (edited) how long does LTA takes to issue the letter for new car inspection before registering car number? I have a friend who was in the midst of getting her new car next week, but SE told her their admin was hold back because her car is not inspected yet. i think it is before registering for car number plate. once inspection is done,can register and number will be out. Edited January 16, 2008 by Turbonetics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simply_lex Neutral Newbie January 16, 2008 Author Share January 16, 2008 her PI has started installing her freebies. and yes, is before registering the plate number. of course, we are not doubting the PI. We are just wondering how long does it take for LTA to send the inspection letter to the PI...before registering for plate number. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simply_lex Neutral Newbie January 16, 2008 Author Share January 16, 2008 yes, how long does it take LTA to send the PI inspection letter? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 16, 2008 Share January 16, 2008 how long does LTA takes to issue the letter for new car inspection before registering car number? I have a friend who was in the midst of getting her new car next week, but SE told her their admin was hold back because her car is not inspected yet. It's known as Homologation, as most likely her car is the 1st one to be sold here. Once it's done, subsequence units of the same made and model will not have to do it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear January 16, 2008 Share January 16, 2008 within 1 week is my guess judging from my car procedure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simply_lex Neutral Newbie January 16, 2008 Author Share January 16, 2008 but it's a Stream wor. so many on the roads liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simply_lex Neutral Newbie January 16, 2008 Author Share January 16, 2008 if really 1 week then she will face some work problem. anyway, maybe get her to contact LTA to "jeep" LTA to fasten the process. last resort liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 16, 2008 Share January 16, 2008 if that's the case, SE maybe trying to pull a fast one to delay delivery due to some other "problems" that they are facing. Registering a car, as long as it's already gone thru' homologation is just by summiting the car chasis detail to the LTA and get the next available number plate number. This can be done very fast lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear January 17, 2008 Share January 17, 2008 for PI all cars must go for inspection if iam not wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simply_lex Neutral Newbie January 17, 2008 Author Share January 17, 2008 (edited) you are right bro. they segregate by batches, depends on the batch of cars that the PI send for LTA approval. Even common makes and models also has to undergo this inspection. They called it TYPE APPROVAL. However, they will NOT inspect all models, they simply take 1 of the car for inspection provided they are under the same cat. and specifications. so thus, the subsequent next batch, even same cat and specifications, STILL has to undergo such inspection upon registering of the car. So for my friend's case, her PI did not send the car in advance when new batch touch SG shore. Nevertheless, all freebies have already installed on the car. Now, she is just waiting for LTA to issue the inspection letter before registering the car and wiating for rebates and car cost payment from the bank and she is ready to collect the car. Hopefully next week. Fingers crossed. Edited January 17, 2008 by Simply_lex Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear January 17, 2008 Share January 17, 2008 Are you sure each and every one of PI cars must go thru homologation process ? Homologation by LTA is not free you know.... if everyone must go thru, how can PI survive with lower pricing than AD yet higher cost (higher OMV and if homologation to be done on every car they sold). Also, if we have 38000-40000 cars registered last year, with 20% of them being PI, which means about 8000 cars; and if each and everyone of them has to go thru homologation, it means LTA have to homologate on average 32 cars a day (excluding sat+sun). I wonder if LTA have the man power to deal with this volume. Not counting there are still AD's new cars to homologate. So, unless this Stream being booked is on special indent basis with high specs not found on previous ones registered, chances are the PI who sold the car to this poor lady pull a fast one on her. By the way, homologation process takes from 1 week to as much as 1 month depending on the timely submission of documents/spec sheets by the dealer and whether there is anything missing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...