RE: Better Siam this Driving Instructor

Mean76

Oh well ...

For the sake of the all future drivers : better siam this instructor far, far away.[/color]

15/01/08 - 1815hrs (wet weather after a rain shower)

- Happened at the junction of jalan kayu and yio chu kang road towards amk ave 5.

- Was cruising at a healthy speed of downslope towards the Junction on a wet road condition around 60kmh.

- some 100m before can see clearly a Harrier turning towards Jalan kayu so I started to slow down a bit, no problem since there's a bit of downslope to watch out.

- when at the junction, slowed down to 50kmh, traffic light in my favour so I go straight. Cars turning also on stationary, no problem too.

-Then saw a car (gold colour sunny) just reaching the end of the junction (see attached) and guess what? Can see clearly someone urging the driver to turn. The driver blur, blur turn without seeing me approaching. I have to jam brake even at 50kmh??

Only then I've realised that it's a L-plate driver (I don't blame him seriously).

BUT I want those who's friends or relatives still learning to SIAM far, far away from this instructor. Remember this plate number : SGK 4757H

I tried to stop the car for an explaination but the instructor asked the driver to carry on. Nevermind, I quickly dotted down the car number when I reached my parent's home.

I cannot accept such instructors to guide the students and driving blindly without knowing the dangers of incoming cars, especially when they are coming from minor road to main road. I will understand students will be students but the instructor?? [thumbsdown]

If this is the standard, better let the whole world know. I am lucky that the Harrier kinda slow me to a comfortable speed for I believe I cannot react fast on the second part if I stick to my initial speed. Those who drives there knows what I'm talking regarding the downslope at the junction so don't start flaming without reading.

post-1-1200459862_thumb.jpg

Edited by Mean76

a lot of the instructors pratice " real live " teaching s ;a .. frankly some of the things in basic theory not rreally practical in live traffic situations . however i think to teach at the expense of safety to other road users , he deserves to be [smash]

I don't think he meant to teach.

He just ask the driver to go without asking him to check his blindspot.

I think the driver also kena presurrized by the instructor's urging (his hands keep pointing 'turn','turn') and so he turn.

I believe most of us driving can see what is teaching and what is not.

This type of teaching sucks. [thumbsdown]

To be honest,

The 'pattern' drivers I am expecting are from those who's turning to Jalan kayu.

I am surprised that the car turned without looking, certainly not from a L plate car because usually they will be super KS. It's the atittude of the instructor that makes the whole thing unpleasent.

And I expect more at night, not during evening time.

from the L-plate point of view, they probably didn't see you coming. as you're from higher ground, there's a horizon (blind spot) for the L-plate car turning out to be extra cautious. their view could also be hindered by the harrier turning into jalan kayu. in addition, the learner most likely to be concentrating on changing gear, turning his head, check for pedestrian, listening to instructors words - (complex multitasking at a learning stage)...

considering all these factors, just give and take lah. on your side, you should pre-empt the scenario and give "space" or "allowance" error to drive on the safest side of the road - in this case lane 1.

actually i noe wat the instructor was thinking already.. before that he see u far far tell student go, go and go turn, but the driver 'kalang kabo'.. in the end step brake den when reach the turn, realised can move den move den got problem come out.. [shocked]

how i noe? cos i been in this type pf situation be4 and my instructor jitao jambrake.. if not accident liao.. den my instructor ask me drive further up to a bustop den he kan me dipdip.. [lipsrsealed] it's after tat i realised the impt of estimating the cars' speed and distance correctly.. [thumbsup]

Edited by Holysniper

We just need to exercise more caution & patience when we see learners on the road, imagine the tailgate along a single lane road with one learner driver slowly (if not very slow) with traffic holding up behind them. smile.gif

What actually happened inside the car, we don't know. The instructor might not have been urging the student to turn as you assumed.

He might have been gesturing, but what was he referring to or talking about we don't know. So I don't think it's right to make any assumptions or accusations at this point. Especially when it concerns someone's livelihood. I doubt the instructor will want to risk an accident happening in his own car too.

Your safest side of the road - lane 1.

Just to re-affirm, on the extreme left or the right?

Anyway like I've said, I don't blame the L plater. I can see clearly the instructor pushing him to turn when he hardly is stopping at the junction. Where is the safety?

I thought this is crazy, no way the L-plater can handle this, further more it's a wet road, not as if he can pick up speed fast enough nor I can slow down fast for him.

I'm slowing down for him, if not I will blast my horn all the way till that fellow freeze. And if that is not giving in, then I don't know what is.

I assume you are referring to private driving instructor...nothing new...they are like taxi drivers of the infamous yellow top type! [sly][laugh]