Singapore's GIC invests US$6.88b in Citigroup

Garlic

Source: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../322733/1/.html

Posted: 15 January 2008 1951 hrs

SINGAPORE: The Government of Singapore Investment Corporation (GIC) may soon have a bigger stake in US-based Citigroup.

GIC will pump in US$6.88 billion (S$9.8 billion) into Citigroup, which is one of the world's largest banks.

This is part of Citigroup's bid to raise US$12.5 billion of capital.

GIC's investment is being done through a financial instrument called convertible preferred securities.

This will effectively give GIC some degree of protection if Citigroup's stock price should fall.

But such a prudent investment with lower risk will also mean that GIC will see relatively lower returns.

Lose how? Treat it as a lesson learnt? Don't leh... The money can be put to better use rather than just to invest in these banks... Give it to the people lah... Cannot understand hwy do they want to help the ang mohs more than their own people...

KNN these GICs really think that the money they use is theirs ah?

Suka suka few billion here few billion there... furious.giffurious.giffurious.gif

Now you know why they gonna lock your first 20K huh?

ang mo Tua Kee gua... [mad]

I don't remember they had done anything that is beneficial to Singaporeans except taxed us thru' 7%, property, ERP, etc... [jawdrop]

Lose how? Treat it as a lesson learnt? Don't leh... The money can be put to better use rather than just to invest in these banks... Give it to the people lah... Cannot understand hwy do they want to help the ang mohs more than their own people...

its still better than investing in chi-na and other asia countries. look at the china-eastern air and the indon telcoms... all do business like ah beng... today moola comes in, friends with u. next day, another fella comes with more moola then no more friend with u. wtf..

I cant agree with you on this leh..... we are helping ourselves not ang moh

Chek ark ah... They better not sio tio their chiu with this investment... Even if they earn big time they also keep for themselves and give us minimum... There's nothing concrete about business in this time... Even Barings can go bankrupt so why not citigroup?

I think this will prove to be a good strategy in the long run.

GIC is buying a big stake in UBS, Merill Lynch & now CITI at a bargain price.