Vtim 3rd Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 Same here Made in China one currently is out of my shopping list too I may try BFgoodrich next time ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 lagi noisier Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged January 15, 2008 Author Share January 15, 2008 I'm driving a Suzuki GV Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged January 15, 2008 Author Share January 15, 2008 Thanks for all the inputs Bros Which taya shop to go leh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 (edited) Can try Soh Bros but take note that he doesn't carry all makes. Gonna call & check with him Though price may not be the best but the queue is not as long as some others plus service is quite alright His tyre are quite fresh in stock ... Edited January 15, 2008 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged January 15, 2008 Author Share January 15, 2008 (edited) Actually my stock tyres are 8 months old only. But I have on a few ocassions (rainy days) experienced the entire car slide down the slope of MSCPs even when full brakes were applied. I know the real culprit may be oil or soapy water (from car wash) on the floor and may not necessarily be the tyres but for feel safe sake, I decide to change them for better grip ones. I rather tahun the noise than go aquaplaning or worse...kill someone / whack into another car, in a MSCP bcos the car goes sliding down out of control Nobody will believe that I was going real slow if you know what I mean as the common conclusion when such accident happens is that the stupid driver must be speeding in a MSCP. Edited January 15, 2008 by Chickenfarm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged January 15, 2008 Author Share January 15, 2008 BFgoodrich are those with white wordings on the side wan rite? I may be wrong but I think not many taya shop keep stock of these...got to or-lah first and wait for shipment to come Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged January 15, 2008 Author Share January 15, 2008 Am really grateful for all your enlightenment bcos I is uber newbie when it comes to taya & car matters Please don't misconstrue this as a hao lian msg but I am willing to pay...just point me to a good set of taya where safety and quality is concerned Anyway, does it matter where is the country of manufacture? Thailand or Taiwan means inferior quality? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 The issues regarding Made in China tyres. Many says its lousy, why? What is the real issue that make the MIC tyres as 'not-recommended'. I am thinking that the thread design is same, so cannot be thread design affecting the grip/noice level. The redial belt carcass should also be the same no matter which factory its made in? So the remaining unknown is the Tyre Rubber Compound mixture!! Could the main reason be the compound that is mixed to suit the 40deg to -20deg temperature in China use? A wide range,60degs, of temperatures differences, so the rubber compound is not optimised for grips, but rather for longevity? Whereas the Made in Indinesia/Malaysia tyres compound only have to cater for average 20 to 40deg temperature? A temp range of only 20deg, so it can have grippier compound for the tyres? Any expert on chemicals and rubber for tyres? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 (edited) For tyres, many still have the concept like buying cars i.e Made In Germany for F1s, Made In Japan for Yoko, Dunlop, Falken ... etc Edited January 15, 2008 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 So the remaining unknown is the Tyre Rubber Compound mixture!! Could the main reason be the compound that is mixed to suit the 40deg to -20deg temperature in China use? A wide range,60degs, of temperatures differences, so the rubber compound is not optimised for grips, but rather for longevity? Whereas the Made in Indinesia/Malaysia tyres compound only have to cater for average 20 to 40deg temperature? A temp range of only 20deg, so it can have grippier compound for the tyres? Maybe so ... but i can't comment cos not an expert in this field Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged January 15, 2008 Author Share January 15, 2008 OIC... Better to find out now than to kena by the taya shop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 In this forum, you'll get lots of postive, negative feedbacks as well as Kai Xiao for tyres Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 lagi noisier oh I see but if the price is resonable, I don't really mind Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 I'm driving a Suzuki GV oh, if you do not really go off road, maybe you would like to lower the profile a bit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 BFgoodrich are those with white wordings on the side wan rite? I may be wrong but I think not many taya shop keep stock of these...got to or-lah first and wait for shipment to come no lah, not that type, those are for off road. I'm looking at BFGoodrich g-force sport Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 (edited) if u can, try to avoid Eagle F1. Dont know why people say its good. for its price, there are better n quieter tyres. look at the threads on that tyre, all 'senggek' one, not a single straight line thread, how to be good at the straight. Its only a good wet tyre. 1. This tyre has won awards internationally consistently and they are often the top few contenders for tyre review in the past. I decided to try it in mid 07 and I would say, its wet handling is relatively good but its dry grip is not bad either compared with the tyres I've used before. The tyre noise level is quite high to me. 2. I'm looking at changing tyre real soon, still hunting around for a 205/50R17, So lets say for $150 for 17" MIT F1, which do you think is comparable both in price and performance? If can't find nice one, probably have to stick back to F1. Thank you. Regards, I know its well reported in reviews, but thats where I was also sucked in previously . Frankly I used it for 20k km and got rid of it. It is only good when new, say first 3 to 4 k km. I think those int'l awards kelong one. Just look, which tyres are used in formula one? Michelin and bridestone. Which used in WTCC? Yokohama. How many premium car marques use goodyear as their OEM tyres? Edited January 15, 2008 by Ahbengdriver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged January 15, 2008 Author Share January 15, 2008 Wah nice tyres No lah bro...I don't go off-road (unless u consider going to Lim Chu Kang farms as offroading ). But dropping the profile means I must change my rims rite? (sorry ar...I is newbie). So far I've been getting mostly recommendations for good tyres...I suppose I can just call up Soh Bros. (or any other shop) and ask them to indent my choice of tyres for me? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...