Chickenfarm Turbocharged January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 (edited) Hi all, I'll be ditching my SUV's Bridgestone stock tyres soon and am thinking of changing to performance tyres for better grip wet and dry. My tyre specs. is 225/70/16. No intention or interest whatsoever of changing the rims or tyre size so will be looking at this specs. alone. Requirement is simple...good grips wet and dry and nevermind if it sounds like an orchestra when on the move. Budget is not a concern but safety and quality is Any particular shop and brand to recommend? PS. Plse don't suggest those not in stock ones (how good oso no use cos not in stock). Thanks and regards Edited January 15, 2008 by Chickenfarm ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 Dunlop Sports Maxx is consider an all rounder Both wet grip & dry grip is consider for me though i didn't actually drive like a F1 driver Now on Yoko S Drive .... Still under scrubbing stage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged January 15, 2008 Author Share January 15, 2008 (edited) Thanks for prompt response bro Where can I get these? Edited January 15, 2008 by Chickenfarm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 My pleasure Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 Maybe you can try Toyo TIR, I'm using it on my Trajet, not bad but your profile very high ley are you driving the Toyota Fortuner ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 Was planning to settle for Toyo T1R but who knows that my tyres and rims give way last fri jus outside Jalan Buroh LL, in the end drive into YHI to get my rims & tyres changed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Katou Neutral Newbie January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 Seriously, for me I'll ask myself if i wan dry or wet tyre and start hunting. Cos i dun believe in all rounder type. No offend bro. =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 Toyo T1R will be noisy, damn loud when driving up and down the MSCP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 No worries Bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 I like the threads of it Chio Eagle F1's thread also looks agressive but seems like now all is Made In China ones unless heard can specially indent from Germany but price is Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 yap, the thread do looks good. I'm staying off the Made In China for the moment, dare not to put it on my 2+tonner cause I drive quite fast on N/S HW with whole family Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 (edited) Same here Made in China one currently is out of my shopping list too Edited January 15, 2008 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 But Thai Made F1 is still around when I last checked recently. Made in Germany one not alot different in price, just a few $10 of difference when I last bought them back in mid 07. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 (edited) Recently, my friend change his 17" F1 (Made In China) at 120 (3rd quarter 2007) while 17" F1 (Made In Thailand) at 140-150 (Last check by my friend on early 2007) but 17" F1 (Made In Germany) 200 +++ (This one heard from Mazda Club Bros but need special indent). Edited January 15, 2008 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 Recently, my friend change his 17" F1 (Made In China) at 120 (3rd quarter 2007) while 17" F1 (Made In Thailand) at 140-150 (Last check by my friend on early 2007) but 17" F1 (Made In Germany) 200 +++ (This one heard from Mazda Club Bros but need special indent). I only managed to get 2 pcs of MIG at the time when they were running out of stock back in mid 07 and I've to get settle for another 2 x MIT. I don't remember paying 200 or even 180 for a MIG. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 Bro, you have got a good catch then The Made In Germany ones like what i have said is heard from Mazda Club people Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 if u can, try to avoid Eagle F1. Dont know why people say its good. for its price, there are better n quieter tyres. look at the threads on that tyre, all 'senggek' one, not a single straight line thread, how to be good at the straight. Its only a good wet tyre. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 if u can, try to avoid Eagle F1. Dont know why people say its good. for its price, there are better n quieter tyres. look at the threads on that tyre, all 'senggek' one, not a single straight line thread, how to be good at the straight. Its only a good wet tyre. 1. This tyre has won awards internationally consistently and they are often the top few contenders for tyre review in the past. I decided to try it in mid 07 and I would say, its wet handling is relatively good but its dry grip is not bad either compared with the tyres I've used before. The tyre noise level is quite high to me. 2. I'm looking at changing tyre real soon, still hunting around for a 205/50R17, So lets say for $150 for 17" MIT F1, which do you think is comparable both in price and performance? If can't find nice one, probably have to stick back to F1. Thank you. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...