Got Harassed @ Caltex station in JB

Redfoxx

Personally i would pump in broad day light.

Secondly, have exact change to pay. Dont take out $ from wallet. I would est the amount and put in my pocket. If got loose change then would be a few Ringgit.

Third, when pump car alone, doors and windows must be closed at all times. If got family wind down the window a bit for air and doors still must be closed.

Last, after paying, FO.

Use gun game over lah. Use hammer on my car windows then he will surely get whacked by me. Anyway, I am not an attractive target - used to drive a Hyundai, and go into JB in t-shirt and bemudas, plus cheap digital watch. Nothing flashy - why would anyone want to target me?

maybe you can share with us what safety precaution you took.

1) never allow anyone near my car when i am entering.

2) lock doors and dun wind down window even when driving.

3) even when driving, keep a look out for suspicious motorbikes

4) there is a wheel lock in my car and the it not to lock the steering wheel [sly]

5) park at lighted carpark. For eg: citysquare or the hotel beside holiday inn. though more expensive but much safer.

6) if eating at those shophouses, my car is always in full view, if not i will wait for a carpark lot that is available to enable me to see my car

7) if i have passenger in my car, i will ask her lock all doors after i alight.

etc,etc [:)]

I was pumping petrol in Caltex station near the checkpoint in jb and while pumping, there was this man walking sneakily in the station. He was holding a "Rolex" watch and he asked me if he wanna buy that watch in bahasa indonesia.Though i don't understand a word of it, but i know he is from Indoesia, from his accent.

I shook my head, but he kept bugging me till i finished pumping petrol, paid the petrol $$$ and i got into my car. He was so persistent till he even popped his head into my car when i was about to close the door, talking away....he then saw the change i had in my hand and he pointed at it and showed the eating gesture, meaning he want that $$$ in my hand to buy food to eat.

To prevent further trouble, i gave him 2 ringgit but he refused!!!he wanted the 7ringgit i was holding in my hand!!!I gave all to him and drove off!!!what a piss off!!! [rifle]

To all bro and sis who support jb petrol stations, please be careful.Now there may be only one snooping aound caltex.Soon, more of these pple will appear cos its easy $$$ mah.They know we will give them $$$ to avoid trouble.

I wonder if any of you have encountered such incidents, or is it that i am suay that day?

I encountered exactly the same incident as you sometime last year. The "Mr Rolex". I just ignored the bugger and pretended I couldnt understand him. Got it my car and drove off with him still outside the car yacking and pointing to the "rolex". I got no time to entertain such nonsense...

I was pumping petrol in Caltex station near the checkpoint in jb and while pumping, there was this man walking sneakily in the station. He was holding a "Rolex" watch and he asked me if he wanna buy that watch in bahasa indonesia.Though i don't understand a word of it, but i know he is from Indoesia, from his accent.

I shook my head, but he kept bugging me till i finished pumping petrol, paid the petrol $$$ and i got into my car. He was so persistent till he even popped his head into my car when i was about to close the door, talking away....he then saw the change i had in my hand and he pointed at it and showed the eating gesture, meaning he want that $$$ in my hand to buy food to eat.

To prevent further trouble, i gave him 2 ringgit but he refused!!!he wanted the 7ringgit i was holding in my hand!!!I gave all to him and drove off!!!what a piss off!!! [rifle]

To all bro and sis who support jb petrol stations, please be careful.Now there may be only one snooping aound caltex.Soon, more of these pple will appear cos its easy $$$ mah.They know we will give them $$$ to avoid trouble.

I wonder if any of you have encountered such incidents, or is it that i am suay that day?

I just ignored him, didn't bother to "entertain" him. He did this to Malaysian cars too not just Singaporean cars. Not only in JB, in other developing nations, you also get to see them.

Regards,

Edited by Kelpie

Giving him money is not solving the problem.

It will only make him visit Caltex in search of what he needs more often.

I encounter once before and i believe it is the same guy.

He squat between my door and prevent me from closing the door.

In the end, i got out of the car, lock the car and told him i didnt want while starting to walk towards the pump attendant.

In the end, he went off when i was about to reach the attendant.

Really idiotic.

He tell me real Rolex, offer me 2k ringgit then when i reject.

He counter offer 1k ringgit and repeat the whole cycle until 200 ringgit.

Just look confident, look him straight in the eye and say "No" firmly.

When I have my wife and kids in the car, I keep the car doors locked when pumping petrol. Finish pumping and paying, wife will lean over and un-lock driver's door so that I can get in. So, no chance of anyone trying to be funny and opening my car doors.

I have never had problems in JB and I used to go in once a month to do shopping etc. Most of the time I go alone and don't bring my family.

That is exactly what i do at the petrol kiosk. [thumbsup]

It's people like you that aggravate the situation. Can expect expect more pest around petrol stations. You saved petrol money to give to them [laugh] .

You should just completely ignore him like he is non-existent.

Unbelievable, I have never encounter such situation in My in so many years, but I had once been approached at a petrol station near woodland [hur]

Edited by Dumb

Thats a very mean thing to do.

Only affects people like you. I encountered the same thing before, but I didnt find it bothersome, quite entertaining actually. Coz when he ask me for my few dollars change, I said ok... RM6 for your watch. He refused. So told him forget it lor, and pointed to the garbage bin and show him the eating gesture. He stick his head thru my window, I wind it up hoping to kiap his head. Then he kpkb, I got out of the car, ask if he wanna fight and shove him to the floor. He say sorry and ran off. [laugh]

Can say i kiasi or kia ma huan, i might as well pay more to pump here den go there. Pump oil also need to take extra pre cautious, on alert at all times, kena harass and bugging till such extend, etc.

This is what i call 贫贱. When one is poor to such extend, pride is already gone. U ask him go eat rubbish form the chute, scold him bad words, wanna whack him he dun care, juz as long as he got money to survive for the day he very happy liao.

Its very common at tat station. Usually i would say NO ...NO...NO...then he would not bother me any more.

What did you do to him... Wink at him ? [laugh][;)]

Yah, me too. Just said NO NO NO NO and just ignore him.

I have encountered this many times at the Caltex, but never once did any one of them insisted that I buy, or went as far as the above incident..... Bro, to put it plain vanilla, or layman term...what you did spoil market. Moving ahead, these jokers will be more persistent in approaching Singaporeans for easy hand out..... next time, chill, and move on.....