Got Harassed @ Caltex station in JB

Redfoxx

I was pumping petrol in Caltex station near the checkpoint in jb and while pumping, there was this man walking sneakily in the station. He was holding a "Rolex" watch and he asked me if he wanna buy that watch in bahasa indonesia.Though i don't understand a word of it, but i know he is from Indoesia, from his accent.

I shook my head, but he kept bugging me till i finished pumping petrol, paid the petrol $$$ and i got into my car. He was so persistent till he even popped his head into my car when i was about to close the door, talking away....he then saw the change i had in my hand and he pointed at it and showed the eating gesture, meaning he want that $$$ in my hand to buy food to eat.

To prevent further trouble, i gave him 2 ringgit but he refused!!!he wanted the 7ringgit i was holding in my hand!!!I gave all to him and drove off!!!what a piss off!!! [rifle]

To all bro and sis who support jb petrol stations, please be careful.Now there may be only one snooping aound caltex.Soon, more of these pple will appear cos its easy $$$ mah.They know we will give them $$$ to avoid trouble.

I wonder if any of you have encountered such incidents, or is it that i am suay that day?

YES YES , this happened to me a year AGO! ....he placed the watch on my lap lei....

but i keep tellimg him i dont want, than i placed the watch on the floor and close n lock my door.he was furious but i just drove off.

caltex petrol stn near the customs.

WTF were you thinking when you allowed him to pop his head into your car.

You had just put yourself into a dangerous proposition...

PLS... if you duno what safety precautions to take then don't go JB.

For your own good and for us too.... No wonder they say SGporeans are easy pickings.

FYI, i encountered one. told him firmly NO and ask him to move off....

Only affects people like you. I encountered the same thing before, but I didnt find it bothersome, quite entertaining actually. Coz when he ask me for my few dollars change, I said ok... RM6 for your watch. He refused. So told him forget it lor, and pointed to the garbage bin and show him the eating gesture. He stick his head thru my window, I wind it up hoping to kiap his head. Then he kpkb, I got out of the car, ask if he wanna fight and shove him to the floor. He say sorry and ran off. [laugh]

i know the problem will balloon, but i was the only person in the car.

his head was already in my car, so:-

[sly] Slam the door shut? Not possible.

[sly] Push him away? I would be asking for a fight.He may have weapon with him.

[sly] Call polis?hahaha, forget it...

[sly] Complain to pump attendant? They were busy counting $$$ at that time.

[sly] ...no more solutions.

What to do?I cant tink of any ways to counter him, so gave him the $$$ and drove off. [dead]

Its very common at tat station. Usually i would say NO ...NO...NO...then he would not bother me any more.

What did you do to him... Wink at him ? [laugh][;)]

Typically, I would have looked at him to find out what they were saying.

After realising that they are trying to hawk something, I will just look away and totally ignore them. Don't even acknowledge them. No eye contact, don't say a thing, no signals.... no nothing basically.

They WILL leave you alone, guaranteed.

Just look confident, look him straight in the eye and say "No" firmly.

When I have my wife and kids in the car, I keep the car doors locked when pumping petrol. Finish pumping and paying, wife will lean over and un-lock driver's door so that I can get in. So, no chance of anyone trying to be funny and opening my car doors.

I have never had problems in JB and I used to go in once a month to do shopping etc. Most of the time I go alone and don't bring my family.