Megalord Neutral Newbie January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 Quote anyway lighter car doesnt mean can reach higher speed faster.A heavier car with similar torque, gear ratio etch with a much lighter car at high speed, say 160km/h, it should take less effort for the heavier car to accelerate. remember Newton's Law, an object in motion tends to be in motion. A heavier car has more momentum and force, easier to cut thru air resistance and wind at speed, take longer time to stop. A heavier car would probably slow down slower than a light weight car given the same drag coefficient and other constants, since the inertia is higher. However, in the similar manner, the heavier car will suffer a lower acceleration due to high inertia, given the same torque and power at wheel. Slower to stop doesn't neccessarily mean faster pickup. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched January 15, 2008 Author Share January 15, 2008 Quote 260km/hr on a Vios is I doubt it could reach this speed even after lots of serious mods i.e Lup Turbo, Upgrade engine ... etc Wow, didnt expect a talk cork session would generate such an overwhelming response from MCFers. I called up my friend to clarify the matter with him this morning. So here is the actual story ... He was at top gear, and was doing something like 130km/h. Then suddenly a Vios pushed forward from behind and started to tailgate him. Felt irritated and challenge, he accelerated ... However, the Vios still managed to tailgate him. According to my friend, at one point, his speed was 200km/h. From the way he described, the Vios still could go further ... So the 260km/h was really talk cork. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 Wat the fish !!! want to tie up yr fren and him liao waste my time doing so much calculation should hv better spent watching Jin Feng and Fei Fei Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weihui Clutched January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 Quote wah...just a coffeshop tcss...no need go to such extend right? Still do calculations. Y not consider the physics of things? Jus joking but moral of story is dun waste so much time on such topic. In the name of truth and science. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched January 15, 2008 Author Share January 15, 2008 You SM psycho Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weihui Clutched January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 408whp and kerb weight less than 1 ton. That would be faster than a Ferrari 430 Scuderia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kashy Neutral Newbie January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 Quote Wah, 260! Topgear tested that if u go above 270kph (170mph), the speed camera cannot capture your car. But then topgear tested it with a supercar. So that must be a "supercar edition" vios running at 260. i also tested that if you go above 270kph, the ERP gantry cannot capture your car IU ERP gantry only activate during peak hours, even if your car is capable of 270kph , also no point. You can't reach that spead at that kind of traffic conditions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theatreofdreams Clutched January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 (edited) Quote 260km/hr on a Vios is I doubt it could reach this speed even after lots of serious mods i.e Lup Turbo, Upgrade engine ... etc Wow, didnt expect a talk cork session would generate such an overwhelming response from MCFers. I called up my friend to clarify the matter with him this morning. So here is the actual story ... He was at top gear, and was doing something like 130km/h. Then suddenly a Vios pushed forward from behind and started to tailgate him. Felt irritated and challenge, he accelerated ... However, the Vios still managed to tailgate him. According to my friend, at one point, his speed was 200km/h. From the way he described, the Vios still could go further ... So the 260km/h was really talk cork. Lol. Winner is neither the WRX nor Vios driver, but the threadstarter. Hahahahaha. Edited January 15, 2008 by Theatreofdreams Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched January 15, 2008 Author Share January 15, 2008 The winner is not the TC, but the respective petrol company the Rex and Vios patronised, for burning more fuel at such high speed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zippaboy 4th Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 seriously when i was going 236km/hr on NSH, my friends was still zooming pass me on their hayabusa and ZX14R. i believe they were going min 280-290km/hr at that point. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mnphosis 1st Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 kenny nabeh, the loser is me! make me waste $70 go rent a vios and try on the NSHW. Max only 170km/h and I got stopped by the polis. $50 more for kopi money. nb. i must be the greatest loser. lucky never rent wrx or else lose even more in rental. ur friend like to sabo ppl. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched January 15, 2008 Author Share January 15, 2008 coffee on me bro !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 vios can eat wrx.... when they are racing in reverse gear Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnson 1st Gear January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 (edited) the tiger airways is also zooming overhead the hayabusas and zx-14R and reaching KL before them minimum 700~800km/hr. why bring bike into the picture? different category. Edited January 15, 2008 by Johnson Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trickster Neutral Newbie January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 Well bro, i used to drive a Vios... Heavily modded. But without TC. 10+K.. I tried in SG 201km/hr. Took me quite sometime to reached. I can go further, but theres a car in front of me so i slow down. Thats the maddiest thing i have done on my last ride. In terms of power to weight ratio, i believe that Vios -- with heavily mod and TC. Can tiak a Wrx anytime depending on Wrx mod. I was being offer to swap a Toyota Levin engine with a base 160-170 HPs. Plus TC,low com piston and conrod...etc, i believe it is a killer already. And with light weighted abt 890kg+ -... Just imagine that! Heard 1 Vios bro did that in SG... how true is it... i dun know??? . But 260km/hr.... i dun believe it. If you say 1000cc bike.. yes.... anytime cos i tried 280km/hr++ last time in NSHW. Took me awhile but few times faster than a car to reach it... imagine the distant from the speed camera at Braddle to AMK Ave 5 exit... How long is the distant nia????? Impossible!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 Quote Just for talking cork purpose. My friend having coffee talk with me this morning. My friend was driving WRX, 2003 model, and had changed to bigger turbo. He was travelling at SLE in wee hours and was doing something like 140km/h. When he wanted to overtake a Vios, the Vios refused to let him passed, and ran parallel. Felt challenge, he accelerated all the went to 260km/h. Still Vios was beside him. Before the "truth" was out, sadly that was the end of the road and my friend needed to exit from the expressway. Kudos to Vios ! Wonder what mods the Vios has ? sorry to pichar yr fren's lobang 1. 260kmh ? a bit too right ? by that time ... already trail braking to exit SLE into BKE liao... where got time to talk about overtaking ? with that said i believe Vios can give Rex a good run for money altho i cannot believe Rex lost overall why ? 1. you said Rex got bigger turbo ? = turbo lag by the time yr snail kick in ... Vios dont know run until where liao its like waiting for Vtec to kick in ... wait until tua lam pah 2. maybe Vios got snail ... a lot of them hv snail ... running on stealth mode chk out the vios forum for necessary poisons 3. the rest is either driver balls, skill, reaction time or shifting speed liao with turbo charger, it is possible to reach 240km/L, 240... i dunno...stock vios without anything upgraded can reach 180km/hr EASILY... to reach 200km/hr, stock vios need a very road and longer time.... Vios is extremely light (stock M/T vios less than 1 ton), it doesnt need to be same HP to win a WRX, around 80% of WRX HP/torque can eat WRX liao.... but hor, to reach 80% of the stock WRX power, almost everything have to be moded.... from turbo, to piston, rods, cam & etc....... such mod can cost a bomb and is more than enough to buy a STI WRX, so, wats the point? anyway.im driving a vios currently. anyway lighter car doesnt mean can reach higher speed faster. A heavier car with similar torque, gear ratio etch with a much lighter car at high speed, say 160km/h, it should take less effort for the heavier car to accelerate. remember Newton's Law, an object in motion tends to be in motion. A heavier car has more momentum and force, easier to cut thru air resistance and wind at speed, take longer time to stop. really??? i agree to the part that heavier car has more momentum... but if u r talking about accelerate, lighter car should have more advantage..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gtti Neutral Newbie January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 bike can bring...why not...talk c0rk only ma... i even more believe the Vios had implanted the RS-68 engines...for such high Torque... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ad23 Neutral Newbie January 15, 2008 Share January 15, 2008 Hmm bro .. it's already in the vogs forum liao. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...