Australia: Tasmania - Road Trip to Tasmania

Lifemoveon

Bro, caravan considered ok liao lo.. I took a campervan.. lagi small.. but still survived la.. if one is a speed demon then this idea must be scrapped. Cos every other cars will be overtaking you.. will feel buay song 1.

I am not a speed demon but for big countries, distance are great and mostly straight line, if I can get there in 6 hours (hopefully within speed limits), I really don't want to get there in 8. I prefer to stop over, la kopi and talk to people.

But i heard it is a good experience, so I might do it for a trip that is less than 3-4 days, just to howlian been there done that. Hahaha...

NSHW aside. i dont drive fast while on holidays.

i am suppose to relac and enjoy my time with my family.

hope to update any new outcomes.

I am going Tasmania in late November. Total 4A4C. Thinking of renting either the iMax or Carnival. I prefer Carnival more as definitely more class but abit worried about the lugguage carrying aspect.

Anyone with recent experience to share? Very much appreciated.

Hi, bring back this thread back...

My first family of 4 trip after covid, planning a 8-days self-drive in March, wanna rent a SUV to drive..

Any recommend routes and places?

44 minutes ago, denser said:

My first family of 4 trip after covid, planning a 8-days self-drive in March, wanna rent a SUV to drive..

Depend on your arrival airport. North or South.

Tourists mostly land in Hobart I reckon.

Edited by Kopites

1 hour ago, denser said:

It's a relatively small island. Point to point only 2-3 hrs. 

Stanley can skip. Birds don't lay egg place.

There is an interesting farm stay near Hamilton (Curringa farm). 

Walk and overnight at Craddle Mountain Lodge as well. Horse riding nearby. 

Drive up Mt Wellington. 

Lavender farm. 

Tree top walk (quite a drive away from nearest town). 

And do try the nice Italian restaurant Da Angelo in Hobart. Book in advance.  Visit (Sunday?) 三粒芒果 Market in Hobart. 

Edited by Volvobrick

Yup, started Launceston and departed Hobart, driving East Coast with a huge Shogun from Avis.

Bay of Fires, Bicheno to watch the penguins come ashore at night, lavender farm, farm stay, Richmond, Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary (for roos, wombats and devils), vineyards, waterfalls, Hobart market.

Do a search for coupons/codes for car rentals. I got a free double upgrade to the Shogun just for entering a code found online.

If you're into hiking/bush-walking and in Hobart, can consider the Cape Hauy walk - grade 3 route and distant is about 10km return. A few scenic spots along the way and imo, the end point is breathtaking - photos can never do justice to what you experience and see in person.

On 1/16/2023 at 12:16 PM, denser said:

B0DC2471-3159-4AFA-B550-72A67F12E2D4_1_105_c.jpeg

Hi All,

On the NZ Road trip thread I had post requests for advice there.  Since I also consider Tasmania, will need advice here before I make final decisions. 

Problem for me to NZ is my daughter cannot confirm her available schedule till 2nd half of the year,  so Tasmania might be my backup option.

All advice welcome.

I plan of arrive into Hobart and fly out from Launceston. 

My plan will be as below:

Brisbane  --> Hobart --> Launceston --> Sydney  --> Brisbane.  Total about 9 days in Tasmania,  4 days in Sydney. 

Edited by Tohto

On 2/22/2024 at 11:45 PM, Tohto said:

Hi All,

On the NZ Road trip thread I had post requests for advice there.  Since I also consider Tasmania, will need advice here before I make final decisions. 

Problem for me to NZ is my daughter cannot confirm her available schedule till 2nd half of the year,  so Tasmania might be my backup option.

All advice welcome.

I plan of arrive into Hobart and fly out from Launceston. 

My plan will be as below:

Brisbane  --> Hobart --> Launceston --> Sydney  --> Brisbane.  Total about 9 days in Tasmania,  4 days in Sydney. 

Oh... so you mean you can't book your air tickets is it? Otherwise accommodation can book those that can reschedule or free cancellation type?

On 2/24/2024 at 4:47 PM, teomingern said:

Oh... so you mean you can't book your air tickets is it? Otherwise accommodation can book those that can reschedule or free cancellation type?

Yes. Difficult to book flight without confirmation. 

Currently only flight between Singapore and Brisbane is booked.

On 2/24/2024 at 5:08 PM, Tohto said:

Yes. Difficult to book flight without confirmation. 

Currently only flight between Singapore and Brisbane is booked.

Unless you book those flight tickets which allow you to change dates with a small fee... might be worth it considering the surge in costs nearer the dates...

On 2/24/2024 at 5:44 PM, teomingern said:

Unless you book those flight tickets which allow you to change dates with a small fee... might be worth it considering the surge in costs nearer the dates...

Flexible flight is a lot more expensive.