Watwheels Supersonic January 14, 2008 Share January 14, 2008 A group of 27 girls in a Secondary 5 class in a mission school - which shall remain unnamed - were advised by their principal on the first day of school last week to seek transfers to the Institute of Technical Education (ITE), since they were unlikely to do well in the O levels this year. http://www.straitstimes.com/Free/Story/STI...02.html?vgnmr=1 After ITE still can go Polytechnic what. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear January 14, 2008 Share January 14, 2008 MOE should make the principal step down. She has failed her duty as an educator! She is in search of fame(100% pass). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear January 14, 2008 Share January 14, 2008 During my Sec 3 days, my teacher told me that I will end up in Sec 4 normal, coz I kept failing my maths. He make a statement in class that I am hopeless and have no future. I looked at him and gave him a smile. Final exams came, I top the school in sec 3 maths. On the 1st day of class in Sec 4, when he walked in, he dare not look into my eyes, so I called out to him and said, "Sir, the only reason why I failed in my CAs is to give you motivation to teach." He was fuming red! Thanks to my big brother, he finish teaching me sec 4 maths when I was still in sec 2. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear January 14, 2008 Share January 14, 2008 Reverse psychology in use perhaps? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viviobluerex Clutched January 14, 2008 Share January 14, 2008 A group of 27 girls in a Secondary 5 class in a mission school - which shall remain unnamed - were advised by their principal on the first day of school last week to seek transfers to the Institute of Technical Education (ITE), since they were unlikely to do well in the O levels this year. http://www.straitstimes.com/Free/Story/STI...02.html?vgnmr=1 Wah! What kind of Principal is this man?!?!?!?!?!?!? "Unlikely" does not mean these gals sure fail leh..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 14, 2008 Share January 14, 2008 when i was in sec 2, there was a new art teacher...i wanted to impress her by putting my best effort in sketching which was the lesson of the day after completing the job, my teacher said:" my nine year old daughter can do better than you" from then onwards, i refuse to hand up any homework when come mid term, teacher was asking us to report the average homework score for some scoring system everyone was reporting anything more than 75. when it reached my turn, i reported:"zero" i got a big scolding from my teacher but i was unfazed i told her:" since your nine year old daughter can do better than me, what for i bother? my maths and sciences can see me thru life. i do need your art" i got another big from the principal my art pull me way down even though my other subjects were doing better than others. I was refused entry into pure sciences classes and sholved into a an sub sicence class i wanted to change school but my dad refused my uncle conso me say: dont worry, don take maths and science, can take econs and accounting. but i have no idea what these are......(14 year old kid how to know????) i went to into a jc with one of the lowest entry grade and stuided accouting, econ and mgt went to ntu to study accounting then say bye bye to my ambition to be a scientist today, if i would attend an art class, i would opt to learn how to use the air brush to draw eddie submitting a portrait of eddie would be way way in my sec school because it is a mission school Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear January 14, 2008 Share January 14, 2008 ya la...but some might groom at different level what..my secondary sch..alot normal students who barely make it in N level,O level also did very well also... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear January 14, 2008 Share January 14, 2008 ya la...your make her zhui ta lan... sometimes i feel dont say thigns too early better..if not..the sia suay one is themselves..u and ur class prove her wrong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear January 14, 2008 Share January 14, 2008 This type of principal really 'Bey Gan' I think she should be the one whom need to apply for transfer .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Key_word07 Neutral Newbie January 14, 2008 Share January 14, 2008 I agree totally. The gap btw N level and O level is too big..you have to work very very hard inorder to pass the O for a normal N level students. For my class last time..total 18 ppl..only less than 5 of us managed to make it to poly...most of us FAIL English and Maths! I believe the principal mean well and just want them to take the faster route to their goal..i am sure she also dun wana dig her own grave mah! When i am in poly, those students come from ITE are usually the TOP Students in poly lei..cos they had a very strong foundation when they are studying in ITE. End up we always go to them for help.Going to ITE doesn't mean u are not good!My brother also go to ITE..he is the one of the top student in poly too..and now doing his degree in SIM. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ms_tan Neutral Newbie January 14, 2008 Share January 14, 2008 The principal is just advising the students not to waste 1 more year of their lives in secondary school. If they take O level with their present N level results, most likely they will fail. N level just need 3 subjects to pass while O level need 5 subjects. Usually, these students will strategize to pass 3 subjects for N level to go sec 5. But they never think far, once they reach sec 5, they will have a culture shock, becoz O level syllabus is more difficult then N level. And they now need to get B4 at least for 5 subjects to go poly. In the end, they wasted 1 year of their lives while their peers in ITE can take the ITE route to go poly faster. Why I say that, becoz my school, the teachers will advise those weaker students to do that too. It is meant well, all teachers will want to see their students to make the correct decision. I fully agree on what you've said cos I happened to be one of the student when I was in Sec 4.. I challenged to ITE after I've failed to obtain my private "O"... But I din considered further whether to pursue my study in ITE, so I quit... Now I regret.. Actually, I like ITE subjects as it covered office skills... Should have pursue my certificate in Administrator rather than to stop at that point... Now over-age liao... Think of taking up part-time courses since my boss had just encouraged me to do so... Wondering, is there any age limit to take up part-time study in ITE or Poly? I remembered when I was in ITE that year, teacher at a girl when she her age was near to 30, she was so so she quit... So bad... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear January 14, 2008 Share January 14, 2008 any idea which girl's sch is that? Heard from my sis-in-law that it's from her school. hint: "C*#J" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear January 14, 2008 Share January 14, 2008 Then ask these schools to omit the normal stream lor... Or get this principal to go to the elite school... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear January 14, 2008 Share January 14, 2008 guess ranking is much more important than education for her sch.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear January 14, 2008 Share January 14, 2008 During my Sec 3 days, my teacher told me that I will end up in Sec 4 normal, coz I kept failing my maths. He make a statement in class that I am hopeless and have no future. I looked at him and gave him a smile. Final exams came, I top the school in sec 3 maths. On the 1st day of class in Sec 4, when he walked in, he dare not look into my eyes, so I called out to him and said, "Sir, the only reason why I failed in my CAs is to give you motivation to teach." He was fuming red! Thanks to my big brother, he finish teaching me sec 4 maths when I was still in sec 2. so u become his ANG PAI student? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sickscientist Clutched January 14, 2008 Share January 14, 2008 My guess is you are from ITE Clementi... Full of ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beta64 Neutral Newbie January 14, 2008 Share January 14, 2008 These xiao mei mei should be considered lucky in the sense that their situation were magnified, people are now paying more attention to students that fell (or almost fallen) through the cracks in the sinkapore world crass education system. One advice for them is to be strong, try your best to accomplish something for those who wrote you off. Make them see through their own shortcomings that one person's abilities may not be solely measured by his/her academic success. I can see we have quite a number in MCF who fought through the system and accomplish something for him or herself. That is one wonderful aspect of the human spirit who can accomplish something in the face of adversity. I was lucky to be old enough during my time there is no such crap like EM3, N level or what. In primary school the aim of going to school is football and hatam bola. I had such horrible P5 results that my teacher told me in front of the class that I will never achieve anything in my life and let me stand on a chair to exhibit my face for the class to see. Of course later in life I prove her wrong and I am enjoying my life in another part of the world far away from singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged January 14, 2008 Share January 14, 2008 There were lots of candidates with straight "A"s who applied to work for me as my internal auditor...I chose the one who went thru the ITE route He never let me down ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...