'Hey...want to take cab? No surcharge for peak hours'

Ahyoo2002

I say,

1. COE quota system works. Stick to it. But tweak it by abolishing the category system. Disallow COE refund, and make it non transferable. This way, if you change car, you wont need to bid for COE but use back your existing one which last for 10 years... thereafter you need to bid for a new one. This way, gov will not lose out in case COE premium crash and fork out to refund, while new COE price will remain stable because not many people will bid for it since those who replace their cars already have COE. Only those 1st time buyer.... be it new or used. Also, this will discourage ppl to scrap their cars unnecessarily cause they will not get back much ... only PARF.

2. Adjust the no. of taxis on the road ... ban the errant cabbies and keep the good ones. While keep the fares competitive. Let tourist and those who can afford take cabs. Those who can't take public subsidized transport.

3. Delist Comfort Delgro from SGX. By being a PLC, they are have conflicting interest of having to keep cost low with subsidies to commuters while making share holders happy with profit pay them dividends. Temasek Holdings should take over the company and make it their pro bono to serve the nation.

4. Adjust and keep MRT, buses fares low/affordable, while improve service standard.

5. If 3 and 4 dont work, liberalise the bus sector like the way they liberalise taxis. Allow more privately owned bus companies to run and compete against TIBS and SBS to keep fares in check and improve service standard by introducing competition. Let the companies (SBS, SMRT, TIBS, etc...) bid for new routes to cover new town with PTC/LTA awarding wining bids.

6. Expand the MRT network (which will take time, like the new circle line) to cover the whole Singapore. Use the profit they get from ERPs and COEs (now that its stable) to fund this. I'm sure there are lots of profit from it.

7. Decentralize the CBD (which they are already doing it) to reduce clutter in the city. Create satellite township and build expressways (which might eventually turn into a ring road like those in Beijing and London surrounding the city) and MRT to link these townships.

Sounds ideal... but i guess its more difficult to implement. [;)]

u are joking rite.... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Edited by Zcold

voting days oso no use....

only like for show....

help and discount and watever they promise only happen only in the 1st yr or less.

after tat, the 3 yrs they will take double or more back from u ... to balnance their payroll.....

so even more hard times is coming.

Having lived too long in this great country...we know the only way is up.

You know those living in hdb parked in mscp complained about paying higher price than open car park? The result is always the same, raise the open car park price. Everybody lose except the gahmen.

One way to help taxi drivers is to increase mrt and bus fares jialat jialat. Then everybody dies.

Don't forget this on voting day.

This type of answer can only comes from our government. All their solution to fix their mess is to increase fare, tax, erp. Never heard any innovative solution from them before.

Jan 8, 2008

Cabby who advertised discounts flouted rules [sweatdrop]

What the fish man!

Giving discount DOES NOT amount to SOLICITING lah, please!

Go and catch the real touts and don't talk much!

I say,

1. COE quota system works. Stick to it. But tweak it by abolishing the category system. Disallow COE refund, and make it non transferable. This way, if you change car, you wont need to bid for COE but use back your existing one which last for 10 years... thereafter you need to bid for a new one. This way, gov will not lose out in case COE premium crash and fork out to refund, while new COE price will remain stable because not many people will bid for it since those who replace their cars already have COE. Only those 1st time buyer.... be it new or used. Also, this will discourage ppl to scrap their cars unnecessarily cause they will not get back much ... only PARF.

I agree.With this,cars no need to de-register.with fewer ppl de-register,fewer ppl can register.And that reduce no.of cab on the road,as the cab com have the cold cash to bid higher than private owner.

2. Adjust the no. of taxis on the road ... ban the errant cabbies and keep the good ones. While keep the fares competitive. Let tourist and those who can afford take cabs. Those who can't take public subsidized transport.

Personally,i feel that keeping the good one is a must.Instead of subsidizing the diesel,why not lower the rental?Since Gahment push for pay as you use.No matter how much one travel,discount $20 on rental could definitely help to relieve the cabbies woes.

3. Delist Comfort Delgro from SGX. By being a PLC, they are have conflicting interest of having to keep cost low with subsidies to commuters while making share holders happy with profit pay them dividends. Temasek Holdings should take over the company and make it their pro bono to serve the nation.

I believe Temasek Holding also have their own investor to please.So it does not make any different.Why not have a regulating party to issue the right to run a public transport,and more private bus coming in to run route instead of only SBS and TIBS.They plan the route that benefit them,ever plan the route than make life easier for commuters?

4. Adjust and keep MRT, buses fares low/affordable, while improve service standard.

The standard nowadays are not bad.But i personally think that running cost are not that huge.SMRT can claim that they move 2millions commuters per day.take $1.20 as benchmark,how much they earn?Cannot say they are not earning,can only say profit drop as the diesel price increase.

5. If 3 and 4 dont work, liberalise the bus sector like the way they liberalise taxis. Allow more privately owned bus companies to run and compete against TIBS and SBS to keep fares in check and improve service standard by introducing competition. Let the companies (SBS, SMRT, TIBS, etc...) bid for new routes to cover new town with PTC/LTA awarding wining bids.

6. Expand the MRT network (which will take time, like the new circle line) to cover the whole Singapore. Use the profit they get from ERPs and COEs (now that its stable) to fund this. I'm sure there are lots of profit from it.

No point making so many lines,after circle line,the construction should stop.all the construction are causing jams all over singapore.Because of the bend here and there,all the cars reduce speed until so exaggerating.

7. Decentralize the CBD (which they are already doing it) to reduce clutter in the city. Create satellite township and build expressways (which might eventually turn into a ring road like those in Beijing and London surrounding the city) and MRT to link these townships.

Decentralize the CDB is a good thing.At the very least,all the cars exit at different exit,and wouldn't jam up one exit and cause jams on expressway.This also helps when terrorist want to bomb CBD,at least our economy wouldn't drop until jia lat jia lat as we still have other area to support the economy.

This is solely my personal comments,if anyone think of flaming,pls refrain.

stupid taxi driver!

those who always take cab, and need to take taxi, even 300% more they will also pay...

those who dun wan to take taxi, u say 50% off they also dun wan to take!

so this taxi driver himself wanna earn less!!! siao! which other taxi earn more!

The cab fare is determined by the taxi company and some other smart ass. I don't think the taxi driver has a say.

By raising the fare too high, taxi drivers lose business bcoz nobody wants to take taxi now.

Still, they have to pay the daily rental, whether they got fare or not.

It's like a business, if you sell chicken rice at $3, another stall beside you lower his price to $1.50, he will grab all your business. Although he makes less per plate, he is still the winner by volume sales. But a chicken rice seller is not ordered what price to sell unlike taxi drivers.

voting days oso no use....

only like for show....

help and discount and watever they promise only happen only in the 1st yr or less.

after tat, the 3 yrs they will take double or more back from u ... to balnance their payroll.....

so even more hard times is coming.

Nonono..you dunno mehz? Its called more good years ahead! [scholar]

"Analysts" have shown that taxi drivers are now earning 10% MORE lehz..no such thing as a hard life la. Must believe these "analysts" ya? Hired by million dollar first world elite one ok? [smash][smash]

This teaches us 1 thing:

COMPLAIN MORE THEN WE WILL MAKE YOU PAY MORE!

Thats how the pay & pay ppl think so pls, complain less hor? [laugh]

Yah, that is how system works here.

Complaint no cab? I increase the fare till high high, so you are the one decide not to take.

Complaint CTE jam? I increase the number of ERP and the fares high high, now you have a choice to drive or leave it at home.

Why else you want to complaint?

I say,

[thumbsup] your ideas are [thumbsup]

however they are all conflicting the interests of our MIW. ideas like these which are good for the people but not beneficial to their pockets sure kena shoot into the dustbin