Bencts 2nd Gear January 6, 2008 Author Share January 6, 2008 Ever heard of "customer who make the most noise get the most attention"? UOB should be thankful for my feedback so that they can improve service. Something happens to GIRO fairly often doesn't mean that we have to live with it. They should review their internal procedures, find the gaps and implement measures to ensure that such incident will never happen again. That is the whole purpose of raising awareness for such issue. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 6, 2008 Share January 6, 2008 GIRO is actually make it easier for MIW/ lenders to collect fr u not to help u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bencts 2nd Gear January 6, 2008 Author Share January 6, 2008 I hope one day some bank will deduct 100% of your $$, claim it was some technical errors and would take up to a month to give you back the $$. And you have child school fee, car/house installment etc. to pay the next day. perfect example of how customers like u like to keep slient over over a few cents of interest (and let the bank get away with it). This goes beyond a civil claim. It should be looked into by the relevant authority. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 6, 2008 Share January 6, 2008 Eh... just FYI people working in banks are humans too and humans do make errors. Oh and this is the reason why i never have GIRO for anything..... So if you want convienence then expect some errors. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 6, 2008 Share January 6, 2008 And also why.. 1) dun put all your money in 1 bank. 2) pay up everything w/o instalments. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weihui Clutched January 6, 2008 Share January 6, 2008 That's why I never use GIRO. Be it any bank. Unless it's compulsory. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 6, 2008 Share January 6, 2008 (edited) A personal apology from Mr. Wee would be great . This is called consumer rights. I know the interest is very little. The problem is not having access to the principle sum and if I need it urgently where am I going to find the $$? As a bro here have said bank is not suppose to made such mistake, let alone let it happened twice? I don't know if you can remember last year many UOB customers withdraw $$ from ATM and to discover the $$ was deducted twice. Similarity speak volume about the way they handle client money. Bank deal with our money and by arranging for GIRO payment I place my trust with UOB that everything will be in order when handling my fund. Now I no longer trust them to handle my money. yawnz go keep it under your pillow then so that u can spend every day counting it one ten dollar note at a time Enuff said. Edited January 6, 2008 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_tee 2nd Gear January 6, 2008 Share January 6, 2008 (edited) contary to wad u think, i have high expectations from bank. a bank making mistakes is not the same as a the kopi-soh in the coffee shop giving u the wrong change. mistakes do happen, but they shld pick it up b4 me n rectify it without me knowing. if i am TS, the double deduction is abit worrying but can close one eye but the "i-duno-when-you-can-get-your-refund" thing is unacceptable. and i dun think during their training they are taught to give this kind of answer, if they cant answer they shld escalate to higher management, or if they promise to call back, at least they do FYI banks have very strict rules for their own staffs as well, any difference you may be expected to top up from ur own salary, big amt, can say bye bye after pay back Edited January 6, 2008 by Ah_tee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 6, 2008 Share January 6, 2008 Eh... i never said it was not serious.... i just felt all humans make errors... as for training? till now i dun feel they have training. maybe a 3 day briefing? but got use meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meecar Clutched January 6, 2008 Share January 6, 2008 Was checking my savings account today morning via Internet Banking and realised there was a double deduction for the same amount with the same transaction reference. My acct was a few hundreds $$ short. I immediately called UOB and asked them what is wrong. They acknowledge there was a technical glitch and they are aware of it. They give me 2 options - one is to use the amount to offset next month bill. Next is to refund by sending me a check. I demanded for a refund but the lady said there will be a delay and she can't advice when will that happen. I was quite pissed with the answer but I hang up as I need to go. Then I called their call centre twice demanding for compensation for the lost of use of my money. 1st call was made around 12pm. I left a voice mail requesting someone to call me back but no one did. Then I called again around 7:50pm and was put on message queue for 30 mins. After 30 mins the call just ended abruptly with a message asking me to email them. I never get to speak to anyone. Wasted my 30 mins. Talk about customer service. I'm very very disappointed with UOB . I have just terminated all my GIRO arrangement with them. I will be terminating my card accounts as soon as I get through their hotline. I have also alerted Mediacorp about this incident. Bro here do keep a watchout if you have UOB card with GIRO deduction. YOU SHOULD TRY AND GET INTEREST PAID ON YOUR MONEY THEY HELD FOR THE PERIOD if you took money from them even 1 hour they will charge you interest so if you are pissed go for it write to the paper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged January 6, 2008 Share January 6, 2008 (edited) I hope one day some bank will deduct 100% of your $$, claim it was some technical errors and would take up to a month to give you back the $$. And you have child school fee, car/house installment etc. to pay the next day. perfect example of how customers like u like to keep slient over over a few cents of interest (and let the bank get away with it). This goes beyond a civil claim. It should be looked into by the relevant authority. wah...they deduct a few miserable hundred from u account and u wish for 100% deduction from my account? tsk tsk...what goes ard comes ard. if the world is so perfect...why need to have buffer/ contingency plan/ backup plan? don't u keep extra since banks are liable to make a mistake? it's like driving w/o checking ur rear view mirror since got insurance cover. if it goes beyond a civil claim and as u say, "the relevant authority shd look into it"... have u informed the "relevant authority" of the "severity" of your need to be compensated for the interest forgone since posting this thread here? or u making a mountain out of a molehill like some ugly sinkaporean? isn't it clear to you the bank cannot be bothered with ur business so take it elsewhere. Edited January 6, 2008 by Sabian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged January 6, 2008 Share January 6, 2008 Last time I deposit cheque amount is 1xx.xx but they deposit 1.xx for me instead. It's local big bank with "B" in name. Aye brother, nice joke leh, all bank sure got "B" mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limpoop Neutral Newbie January 7, 2008 Share January 7, 2008 Me too, unless cannot avoid like school fees and income/property tax. I rather use IB to pay bills. Also one can set upper limits for GIRO so they can only deduct certain amounts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoop Neutral Newbie January 7, 2008 Share January 7, 2008 you might want to inform MAS to the watchdog for finanical insitutions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weihui Clutched January 7, 2008 Share January 7, 2008 Even income tax I pay via IB... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...