Bencts 2nd Gear January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 (edited) Was checking my savings account today morning via Internet Banking and realised there was a double deduction for the same amount with the same transaction reference. My acct was a few hundreds $$ short. I immediately called UOB and asked them what is wrong. They acknowledge there was a technical glitch and they are aware of it. They give me 2 options - one is to use the amount to offset next month bill. Next is to refund by sending me a check. I demanded for a refund but the lady said there will be a delay and she can't advice when will that happen. I was quite pissed with the answer but I hang up as I need to go. Then I called their call centre twice demanding for compensation for the lost of use of my money. 1st call was made around 12pm. I left a voice mail requesting someone to call me back but no one did. Then I called again around 7:50pm and was put on message queue for 30 mins. After 30 mins the call just ended abruptly with a message asking me to email them. I never get to speak to anyone. Wasted my 30 mins. Talk about customer service. I'm very very disappointed with UOB . I have just terminated all my GIRO arrangement with them. I will be terminating my card accounts as soon as I get through their hotline. I have also alerted Mediacorp about this incident. Bro here do keep a watchout if you have UOB card with GIRO deduction. Edited January 5, 2008 by Bencts ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bolero Neutral Newbie January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 No big deal. Happaned to me with OCBC many years back. 90% of my savings were wipeout but was corrected when I check again next day. uob call centre always very busy at night, difficult to get through. Take it easy, banks won't rob you. Their reputations worth more than peanuts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 not too serious lah, u wont lose yr $$$ ... can just email them ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 y u disappointed but not willing to cancel this card? not even to push u over the cliff? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_liang Clutched January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 I'm impressed that u even got thru their stupid line. Patience is definitely not my virtue, hang up after 5 mins most. Their email response is OK. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foxfire Neutral Newbie January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 I had the same problem very recently with another bank. I just happened to check and chance upon the double deduction, also GIRO settlement for credit card. Don't think this is isolated. Mine was a few Ks as I was paying for insurance premiums. Was disappointed that an apology was not even offered. Just attributed it to technicalities. SC. They should have the courtesy to contact me on this if they can ALWAYS contact me for balance transfers and what nots. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 much ado abt nothing... they already give u 2 options. u urself wanna waste ur time and jam up hotline when u already have a solution. if u want them to refund, they gotta get approval from superior and then get ops to credit ur account so need time mah... this is the same system that keeps your money safe. u think the call ctr agent's father's bank...can ownself suka suka issue refund meh? how much interest u want for that few hundred bucks? other banks i bank with also kock up every now and then but not as if life and death. perfect example of how customers like u like to tiu over a few cents interest. if u think so serious, then file a legal claim lor... so stop hogging the hotline cos i calling in to complain also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Niteblu Neutral Newbie January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 I called their call centre twice demanding for compensation for the lost of use of my money. I know UOB may have screwed up, and it's def shame on them. but seriously. what kind of compensation would you expect. for the "lost of use" of your hundreds of dollars? Say it's $500. and it takes them 1 month to pay you back the missing dollars. 2% annual interest forgone x $500 x 1/12 months = $10 / 12 = $0.90. Of course they should still apologise big time, and extend some kind of minor comp. or something. You're kicking up such a huge fuss, over what... $1? What do you want. a kiss from Wee Chor Yaw? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 Wee Chor Yaw probably ask him to kiss his kar chng instead Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uncleo 1st Gear January 6, 2008 Share January 6, 2008 Last time I deposit cheque amount is 1xx.xx but they deposit 1.xx for me instead. It's local big bank with "B" in name. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigtoothpick 3rd Gear January 6, 2008 Share January 6, 2008 I applaud your actions. This is the most basic functions of a bank and they can screw it up. This is Singapore, not some third-world country. The fact that it may not be an "uncommon" occurrence makes it worse. I will not condone them, regardless of amount. Else, it will be like saying vandalising an old truck is a lighter offence than vandalising a brand new luxury car. Vandilising is vandalising, and a bank screw-up is a bank screw-up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 6, 2008 Share January 6, 2008 (edited) UOB, DBS, OCBC, POSB Edited January 6, 2008 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged January 6, 2008 Share January 6, 2008 bro, thnk ur comment is a bit too radical... u see, bank is expected NOT TO MAKE SUCH MISTAKE....ITS a BANK? my friend, if they could make such mistake once, it means that there is smthing wrong in their current SOP??!!! wat if the customer didnt check?? its no longer the matter of $1 that u mentioned!, its a few hundred bucks??!! Anyway, I've gave up UOB credit card service long time ago due to their lousy call centre. Call a few times and was put on the Q for 1/2 hour then automatically put to voice mail. Was promised return the call but after 2 weeks, never received any call at all. Tried to call them again but worst, after putting on the Q for 1/2 an hour, i was transfered to the voicemail again but this time round, the voice mail is FULL!!!???? WTF?? I never give up and keep calling them using auto redial funtion on my HP. in the end, got thru but the officer told me that they need to investigate my case and call back within 48 hrs. Shouldnt trust them... in the end, no sound no picture for another 2 weeks. I have no choice but to continue making call to them and its not easy to get hold of those call centre people.... In the end, I gave up. canceled my credit card ASAP... I really cannot imagine what would happen if smthing urgent happen like lost of credit card where i need to terminate the card. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 6, 2008 Share January 6, 2008 I agree that UOB call center is pretty frustrating Not happy bring your business somewhere lor. Not pertaining to you, but the TS is really making a lot of noise for nothing. Duuh, it happens to GIRO payments fairly often. That's why i never GIRO anything unless absolutely necessary. It may be more convenient but its still your perogative to check, duuuuh. Its still your money, the bank is only keeping it ... ... ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 6, 2008 Share January 6, 2008 gave up cc... guud for u... recession ard the corner. save more, spend less. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bencts 2nd Gear January 6, 2008 Author Share January 6, 2008 A personal apology from Mr. Wee would be great . This is called consumer rights. I know the interest is very little. The problem is not having access to the principle sum and if I need it urgently where am I going to find the $$? As a bro here have said bank is not suppose to made such mistake, let alone let it happened twice? I don't know if you can remember last year many UOB customers withdraw $$ from ATM and to discover the $$ was deducted twice. Similarity speak volume about the way they handle client money. Bank deal with our money and by arranging for GIRO payment I place my trust with UOB that everything will be in order when handling my fund. Now I no longer trust them to handle my money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bencts 2nd Gear January 6, 2008 Author Share January 6, 2008 y u disappointed but not willing to cancel this card? not even to push u over the cliff? Yes as soon as I get through their damn hotline! Left voicemail and have not get a call back yet till now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 6, 2008 Share January 6, 2008 no nid wait one... next bill just cut card in 1/2 and mail back. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...