Vega Turbocharged January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 Today heard over the radio many accidents occurred during the heavy downpour. Was driving along SLE towards CTE around 4.30pm and traffic was still ok but suddenly, all vehicles came to a complete stop. inch my way forward and saw quite a few cars are involved. i think a pickup spin out of control and the cars behind couldnt stop on time. Bang... bang... bang...... Pls drive carefully and keep a safe distance esp during wet weather. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 Drive carefully not good enough. Make sure your brakes and tyres are good enough. It takes a longer distance to stop if heavy rain even if brakes and tyres are good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eavr4 Neutral Newbie January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 Actually whenever there is downpour, I oredi find the drivers are doing crawling speed...still accidents!?!? Well there are several factors... 1) I do find even though we pay a bomb for our cars, the average car population here belongs to SUB-STANDARDs by current industry standards.... 2) Tires ..... most/average owners here are so cost conscious tat most goes for cheapo tires... 3) Driving skills, I do find the skills of most drivers still sxxk, worst of all some even think their damn good! Its not uncommon to find drivers taking over a minute to park a car, some even hit the car beside (worst of all still tries to drive off). 4) Driving ethics, most common is KIASU + KIASI! Dun think need much explaination there... Must admit I oso tend to drive offensively else easy target to get bullied. Most enjoyable places to drive I find is New Zealand/Australia and ironically States (Texas/Massachusetts). EA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 You forgot to mention several "features" of idiotic drivers in Singapore. 1. Those who don't turn their headlights on. 2. Those who change lanes / cut into others' paths without signalling. 3. Those who make last minute decisions to exit from expressways/make turns at junctions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 Adding to ur list, those who jam brake becos forget to insert cashcard in IU when approaching a ERP gantry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 yah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 It's during light to moderate rains when drivers think they still have good control of their vehicles as they under-estimate the laws of physics. Good tyres and brakes are no use when not accompanied by sound judgment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seabass_sg Neutral Newbie January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 Agree !!! And also Pls on ur headlights pls . . . esp motorbikes. . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pryo Neutral Newbie January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 yeah, i was also caught in the heavy downpour on SLE towards Yishun. Super heavy rain. One problem that i always kena during such downpour is that i totallly cannot see anything on my side mirror. Has anyone any solution to that ?, i tried apply rain-x on the mirror but not much help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 Abit OT. But saw this cab only on fog light at night during very slight drizzle. Cabs also want to look nice nowadays. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged January 5, 2008 Author Share January 5, 2008 You forgot to mention several "features" of idiotic drivers in Singapore. 1. Those who don't turn their headlights on. 2. Those who change lanes / cut into others' paths without signalling. 3. Those who make last minute decisions to exit from expressways/make turns at junctions. I actually encountered all of the above today during the downpour. 1. A BMW was behind me but i couldnt see him until he over take me from the right lane. 2. A idiotic lancer driver just cut into me with just 1 1/2 car length while we are doing 80km/h along a wet TPE forcing me to e-brake. 3. A 14foot lorry doing a last min exit from the mid lane of SLE at 90km/h Just learn to let go and dont let them spoil your day lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terenc3 1st Gear January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 Today along my journey around singapore's highway (sle -> cte -> pie -> bke) I came across 3 accidents.. First its a chain with 5 cars along sle, then a minor knock at pie.. Lastly just now when cuming back, saw this big truck skidded and ended up on left side of road up the slope at sle.. Scary.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged January 5, 2008 Author Share January 5, 2008 you ever see cab with spoiler and twin Xos bo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 My ride has hydrophilic side mirrors and it is darn good man, super effective even in our type of rain. Here's one aftermarket solution based on same technology. Not sure if there's a local distributor. http://www.sigmaautomotive.com/actmir/actmir.php Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 Twin exhaust tips or really twin exhuast - one on each side of bumper? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holysniper Neutral Newbie January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 yeah, i was also caught in the heavy downpour on SLE towards Yishun. Super heavy rain.One problem that i always kena during such downpour is that i totallly cannot see anything on my side mirror. Has anyone any solution to that ?, i tried apply rain-x on the mirror but not much help. get heated mirrors? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 Hydrophilic side mirrors more effective in rains Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear January 5, 2008 Share January 5, 2008 a lot of idiot drive in singapoer use lousy tires and drive like shoemaker hahaha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...